We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Leonardo Hotel Berlin
Nearby Hotels
$206
$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
$115
$103
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$60
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$160
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$86
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$113
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$468
$359
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$97
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$136
$132
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,579)
Filter reviews
1,580 results
Traveler rating
570
742
196
48
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
570
742
196
48
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeutsche operaround the cornernice hotelu bahn stationtegel airportcharlottenburg palacefree wifihotel is locatedcleaned every dayreception staffrooms are cleanpublic transportday ticketreception areabreakfast was excellentstayed for nightscity break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
417 - 422 of 1,580 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Leonardo Hotel Berlin is an ideal hotel for a city get away. The metro stop is practically at the door of the hotel, which makes getting around the city very easy. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and filling. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRL1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed as a couple in February 2014. Booked as a package with flights from London Luton (EasyJet). Room only, stayed for 3 nights.

This was our first trip to Berlin and overall the Leonardo Hotel was excellent value for money, in a good location with excellent transport links.

Room
The room was a double facing out onto Wilmersdorfer Strasse. The room was large and very clean, with décor much better than you would find in similar priced hotels in London/Paris. The bed was comfortable and extra pillows etc were available from reception. There was a flat screen tv with numerous German channels (plus BBC World News), free tea and coffee making facilities (refreshed daily but no milk- shop downstairs), air conditioning, blackout curtains and plenty of storage. There was also a free safe in the wardrobe. We didn't experience any noise from the street below.
The bathroom was really clean and there was a large shower (wet room style) and hairdryer included. All of the décor was relatively new and to a good standard- relatively modern but I am sure there are pictures of bits of wallpaper with scuffs on somewhere on here.
Our only complaint was the shower gel/shampoo, which was free but was absolutely disgusting. It smelt like someone had gone in a bottle and shaken it up with a Terry's chocolate orange....

Facilties
We didn't really use any of the hotel facilities, apart from the shoe polisher outside our room! There was a restaurant, where breakfast was served, but we didn't use this as there are so many cafe's nearby, 12EU seemed steep to add the breakfast when we could eat for less than half that (for both of us) just down the road. There was a bar downstairs plus a 'business centre', consisting of a couple of computers and a printer. There was no free wifi (11EU a day) which in 2014 seems crazy but apparently if you stay regularly you can join the Leonardo Club, which would give you free access. The staff were really friendly whenever we had and questions and check in and check out were really fast and straightforward.

Location and Berlin
The hotel is located 100m from Bismarckstrasse Underground, which connects to two of the underground lines. This makes it easy to get to from most places in town. The underground does seem to take longer to get from A to B than other large cities, however we are not sure whether this has something to do with the division of Berlin until recently. The tube costs approximately 6EU per day and the hotel has good access to Potsdamer Platz, Zoologischer Garden and Stadtmitte, meaning all of the tourist attractions were within easy reach.
Charlottenberg is a short walk away and there is a busy shopping area on Wilmersdorfer Strasse. We visited many of the attractions in town such as the Reichstag, TV Tower, Topography of Terror, Checkpoint Charlie, Brandenburg Tor etc. Almost everything is free, which makes Berlin great value compared to going to somewhere like London. Street food and cafes are also incredibly good value. We also took a 40 minute S Bahn train ride to Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp (train to Oranienberg then 15 minute walk) which is highly recommended and you could spend all day there. This is also free although donations are welcome. Schonefeld Airport was a reasonable distance from Berlin but the Airport Express from Hauptbahnhof appears to be the quickest means of transport.

Overall, we would recommend the Leonardo Hotel for a clean and tidy base for a city break to Berlin. It offers great value for couples and the location is ideal.

Room Tip: Take your own shower gel and shampoo!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lyndonandholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was one of the few hotels that actually knew what air conditioning was-- for these spoiled Americans. It was hot out and it was nice to be able to cool down to 70 degrees or lower, if we wanted. The location was close to the subway and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My daughter and I spent 2 nights at the Leonardo for a short city break. It was a basic hotel, but clean and very comfortable. The location was perfect, being only a few metres from the Metro but just off the main street, meaning it was quiet at night. This is a priority for us when having a city break. My only negative comment was that when we asked the reception staff for advice on which were the most important Christmas Markets to see, the only thing she could tell us was that they were all different! We bought a travel card for 3 days from the airport, which covered our transfer from the airport to the hotel and return, plus all out travel while we explored the city. I can thoroughly recommend both the hotel and Berlin for a city break, particularly to see the lovely Christmas markets.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank layerliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

A modern, well priced hotel, situated near to the Deutsche Opera, who can show more expensive and higher rated hotels, what service is all about. From the reception staff, to the breakfast room, and house keeping, everyone in this hotel goes the extra distance to make their guests have an enjoyable stay.
Great breakfast, well appointed modern, clean, and comfortable rooms, Leonardo Hotel is perfectly located for guests attending the opera, and is two stops on the Ubahn from the Kurfurstendamm shopping street.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms face a large square and car park, on the interior of the hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPVLondonGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews