We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Berlin
Ranked #101 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here for a week and would definitely recommend it for the price. Our room was on the top floor (room 608) looking out onto the road, so if the window was open there was a bit of street noise, but nothing intrusive and it was very quiet with the window closed. Our room was spotlessly clean, modern and comfortable and was cleaned well every day by the room attendants. I know some reviewers have complained about the location of the shower and loo, but they were fine in our room, very well located on one side giving us plenty of space, plus a lovely washbasin area with hairdryer (see photos).

For a week's stay, this hotel gave us everything we needed and we were very comfortable there. Staff were friendly and helpful to us and the Bismarkstrasse U-Bahn was just round the corner, which was very convenient. We bought a 7 day ABC travel ticket each which covered all types of public transport and we found it great value and convenient compared to having to buy day tickets and enabled us to travel far and wide, wherever we wished. So if you're in Berlin for a week, I do recommend getting a 7 day ticket.

We loved Charlottenburg as an area, that bit quieter than Mitte and prices for food etc are cheaper. There's loads of places to eat near to the hotel, depending on your budget and taste. We had a modest budget. I was particularly fond of "Falafel" which made absolutely delicious shawarma kebabs for only 3 euros (more of a take-away place, but there is a small seating area inside) and my partner loved the "Pizza Napoli" place, which made fresh pizzas for 3 euros and does lovely pasta and salads too. Its not a fancy place, but the food is fresh, great quality and super cheap and we always got good service. "Bat Viet" across the road was again not a posh place, but I had a lovely meal there.

"Penny" is the supermarket a couple of doors down from the hotel on Wilmersdorfer Str. and was convenient to buy coffee and sugar (we like coffee!), snacks and cheap cigarettes. You can also get those tiny individual UHT pots of "kaffeesachse" milk you get in hotels and cafes, for only 0.45 euros a pack, which was great for our room.

If you like old style no fuss pubs, there is one which is frequented by the locals nearby on Thrasholtstrasse, called "Der Fliegender Hollander". Very friendly and cheap beer. I totally loved it as it took me right back to my younger days when smoking was allowed in English pubs. If you hate smoke, you won't like it, as practically everyone smokes in there, LOL! We spent a couple of super evenings there enjoying the drink, the beer and chatting to the locals in English and what meagre German I know!

All in all, this is a great little hotel, convenient for travelling around, nice neighbourhood and good for those of us on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazzasmazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    666
    177
    45
    18
See reviews for
195
644
74
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night. The problem that we had just upon our arrival - no parking at all!!! The hotel site promised parking zone, but the parking was full and outside there are no much parking places.
The room that we got was clean, very quiet AC. However, the toilet and the shower were separated into two different compartments, each of them located at different room corners. The shower is just opposite to the bed possessing 90% transparent door and the toilet is too small!
The breakfast was OK!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan_rishon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very decent rooms, small, but clean and comfortable. With minimum extras, you could not expect more for a 60 Euro rate per night... The bathroom is integrated in the room, leaving no privacy or separate lighting for the shower (the toilet is separated).

Close to western Berlin city center was ideal location for visiting the western part. Very close to Ubahn (Metro) , 15 minutes away from airport. Schloss Charlottenburg is only a ten-minute walk, and well worth a visit (audio-guide included in entrance price
Nice, decent buffet.
You will not expect fitness center or pool, but is a good hotel for business and city tours.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

It wasn't my first time in Berlin, so after visiting almost mitte and east part, I decided to visit the west, and looked for a hotel modern, and most of all NEAR to the UBAHN, which is the most important thing to look at, in a city like Berlin. I would not recommend for a first visit to take a hotel in this side of the city. If you choose to stay in this part, and you choose this hotel you have to keep in mind that maybe you have to change at the zoo station and especially in the evening, could be unpleasant. A plus is that Leonardo Hotel has the Bismark str. ubahn station just round the corner so you have two options to move: U2 or U7, if you land in Schonefeld airport you could take the X7 or another bus to Rudow station and then take the U7 and arrive directly in the Bismark st.
Once we have arrived, we did the check in.. It was 12.30, they usually give access to the room at 15.00, but they offer us a room with two twin beds, but we were not so anxious to have the room so we left the baggages in the deposit, and came back later. They assigned us the room I've requested at the time of booking- double bed/no smoking/elevated floor. No caution was asked, probably because there was no minibar in the room. The hotel lobby, the external, the room .. all modern, clean. Our room (614) was on the highest floor, street view, and big; not very well organised for longer stay than a weekend(small wardrobe, no place to leave the baggages). The bathroom: it is structured for people with disabilities, the shower space is very big... you have the space for four people, there is a shower curtain, no box. There are no shelves to put one own bath products... and there was a problem the 2nd night.. almost midnight, we came back from sushi dinner(see my other review for Sachiko sushi) and the button on the device attached to the handle that helps a person with a disability to get up from the toilet was not working anymore.. there was panic! I went to the reception, the receptionist went up but he couldn't be able to do anything, but kindly offered to change room, but we were tired and we would have been leaving Berlin the next morning, so we refused. Maybe it would be appreciated the offer of a free breakfast.. Ah, I don't know how the buffet is, but if you have booked only the room don't worry: there is MM, a bakery, just in front of the street where you could have excellent breakfast for 5€ for 2people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeceVenezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We chose this place for its 'value'. The accommodation was average.

The problem arose after check-in, we put our things in our rooms and noticed they smelled very strongly of cigarette smoke. When we asked the shift manager about the smell, she stated that our request for a non-smoking room was a 'wish' that they couldn't fulfill due to being fully booked.

If we had the time, we would have stayed somewhere else, but this was a stopover on a longer trip so it was not feasible.

Her attitude was horrible, she definitely doesn't belong in customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel (entrance in Spielhagenstr.) is ideally suited for those intending to go to the Deutsche Opera, which is literally just around the corner; but it is also a direct bus-ride (no. 109) of only 15 minutes from Tegel airport and, with the U-Bahn station only minutes away, it makes a convenient base for visiting Berlin. And if you are left with only a spare half-day here, Schloss Charlottenburg is only a ten-minute walk, and well worth a visit (audio-guide included in entrance price); from which try the nearby typically German ‘gastropub’, Brauhaus Lemke, on the corner at 1 Luisenplatz. Hotel reception staff were friendly and helpful; breakfast is good; and our top (6th) floor room clean and extremely quiet. Our only reservation concerns the room’s open-plan layout – meaning that the bathroom is integrated, leaving no privacy or separate lighting (though the WC is mercifully separate). Our highly recommended restaurant is Italian and only 5 minutes’ walk: Papageno, at 13 Richard Wagner Strasse, just behind the Opera House.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Listergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

its a gr8 hotel. close to berin messe. convenient location. good rooms. planning to stay during the next fair also.wifi is charge able which hotel need to make complimentary. close to U bahn station.

Beds are comfortable

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBlogger79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Schoneberg
Ibis Budget Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
LINDEMANN'S
LINDEMANN'S
#52 of 634 in Berlin
629 reviews
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#119 of 634 in Berlin
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Berlin

Property: Leonardo Hotel Berlin
Address: Wilmersdorfer Str. 32, 10585 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leonardo Hotel Berlin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Leonardo Hotel Berlin is centrally located close to the famous shopping mile "Kurfurstendamm" and the fairground "Messe Berlin". Both, business travellers and city explorers alike will enjoy the modern design and comfort of this hotel. For business events, seminars and conferences, the hotel offers a modern conference room, which can seat up to 30 people, and creates the ideal ambiance for your successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing