We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vegetarian fine-dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Mano Verde - CLOSED

La Mano Verde
Price range: $31 - $123
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Vegetarian fine-dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We ate here three times on our trip to Berlin and 2/3 times the food was very good. You can expect slightly higher prices and slightly smaller portion sizes than average Berlin (,but probably will not leave hungry, broke or unsatisfied.) À la carte is excellent while the lunch menu has some variations in the quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misantr00ppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    43
    19
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The place looks very nice, the interior decor is beautiful.
Instead of a paper menu, you get an iPad. That´s cool.
Too bad you have to browse on it in search of the menu app, instead of having it pre opened.
No explanation given by the waitress on how to use it. What if customers are not well versed in the technology?
Service was rather slow despite the place was almost empty.
Food quality was good indeed, but portions are incredibly small and the price so high that you would expect a comparable level of service.
Funny how the menu is on ultra modern iPads and the bill is calculated on the table by the waitress using a pencil and a piece of paper as in a cheap burger place.
I am sure there are better options for vegan food in Berlin and not so overpriced.
Avoid if you care about value for money

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rikirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent meal for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Four of us, 1 vegan, 1 raw food dude and 2 meat eaters ate there a few days ago and everyone was very very pleased. Menus on ipad were quirky fun (no you can't take the menus home, we asked). The food was delicious and plentiful. And the chocolate fudge cake was crazy delicious - you would never have known it was not made with dairy. Stunning. It is so good to see fine restaurants showcasing vegan food - it helps to break the myth that veganism is about beans and sprouts and can be as delicious if not more so than traditional fare. Setting was lovely. Outside yet in an inner courtyard away from traffic noise and dirt. A winner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Londontravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Shiitake went wrong, but overall good experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Dinner began with a 10 mins wait before anybody came. We got our wine, which calmed us down temporarily, but when our shiitake consommé came, the only thing full of shiitake was the waiter, who told us the chef insisted the little mushrooms were shiitake. Not a chance. Amazingly, they had no shiitake mushrooms to show us as proof. We sent the soup back. That shiitake just doesn't fly with me.

The rest of the meal was quite good, and our server did seem genuinely apologetic. And the choco fudge desert was the best we've had, vegan or not. But the service was very slow for a place in this price range, and we really could have done without the Bull Shiitake.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrbobke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Style over substance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This restaurant was right outside the hotel and we were tired and hungry and thought we would give it a try. We aren't big meat eaters so a vegan meal would be pretty ideal for us but I have to say I was disappointed.

We left feeling a little more unsatisfied then when we went in although the food was good, I agree with other reviewers it was a little uninspired and very expensive. I certainly wouldn't be in a hurry to return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mano Verde also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing