We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most ridiculous service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Das Speisezimmer - CLOSED

Das Speisezimmer
Price range: $9 - $55
Cuisines: German, Mediterranean, European, French, American, Austrian, International, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mitte
milano
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The most ridiculous service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Attracted by a good review we went there . Nice settings, but pretty slow service. After we have ordered we waited 20 minutes to found out that the waiter has taken the wrong order ( fish rather than courgettes cake). Rather than apologizing he went on saying the was right and repeated the order (which was not true). quietly I started waiting for the original order , but after twenty minutes I started to feel something was wrong. It took me 5 minutes to get the waiter and he confirmed that there was no order, because I have refused the fish. Again , rather than apologizing he jus said we were lost in translation. I decided to leave because it was late and I was quite annoyed. Never again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    35
    17
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Based on the reviews, we went there with high expectations. And were disappointed in every way: Service was slow and disinterested, outside seating was uncomfortable, food was mediocre at best.: About 2 hours after dinner, one of us four came down with severe symptoms of food poisoning. This lasted through the whole night. Naturally, we cannot be sure that it came from what we had at the Speisezimmer, but it is somewhat likely,

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank goodisgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is my second time eating at Sarah Wiener in the museum Hamburger Bahnhof and I can honestly say that I WILL be coming back a third time.

I am never usually the one to write comments on this site however having read all of the negative reviews I wanted to add something POSITIVE. Yes the prices are a little high however this is justified by the delicious food and large selection of wines. I recommend this restaurant very highly and will be coming back again very soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The restaurant is in a lovely courtyard off the main road and the restaurant is also lovely but the food was very disappointing. There were 6 in our party and not one of us had anything positive to say about the food. The staff were excellent and very attentive. A very expensive evening for amazingly bad food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilly1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eindhoven
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good service, but diseappointing food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were advised to eat at Sarah Wiener, apparently a well know Bio cook in Germany
The service was great, the waiter was passionate about serving the right wine with the courses, unfornately, the food level was not that high, there was a mix of great pieces of meat with far too salty asparagus, the desserts were also not very good : the dark choc creme brulee was ok , but the pistachio ice cream was watery / tasteless, while the cake roll was too dry. Basically a mix of good and poor performances, so too expensive for what it charges.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laurentle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Das Speisezimmer also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing