We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Just average” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zum Patzenhofer

Zum Patzenhofer
Ranked #266 of 8,178 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Pork schnitzel was ok. Average experience overall. Traditional pub decor but the staff weren't very friendly. They didn't seem to want to serve the customers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishInUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    70
    8
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nakskov, Denmark
Level Contributor
440 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Very German - at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have eaten at Zum Patzenhofer several times and always been very satisfied. A superb place for a quick meal in nice surroundings. On the blackboard you always find good daily offers of typical German dishes.
This time I tried to persuade a number of friends (all new to Berlin) to join me. One was a declared vegetarian. One would only eat fish. A third friend insisted on lots of vegetables. I then doubted if Zum Patzenhofer would be the right place. Luckily we went anyway and gave it a try - and I discovered that the menu had far more things to offer than I thought. So in the end everybody had an excellent meal and a very good time, partly entertained by the always friendly and witty waiter. Only my veggie-friend was a bit disappointed that she only had two different types of vegetable.
Specialty of that week was fresh white aspargus. Always a treat and here prepared immaculately.
Everything else was well prepared too, and the prices are surprisingly low considering the location, the ambience and the quality. You are 50 metres off Ku-Damm, and that is maybe why relatively few tourists find their way to here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Finn Spurre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food, quick service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Went here with my little girl and we split a kiba (cherry banana juice) and the Koenigberger Klopse (meatballs in caper sauce) with mashed potatoes and beet salad. The food was very good, a big portion, and they even added more garnish to my leftovers. Friendly quick service, though we did eat a later lunch. The waiter even gave my kid an Easter egg as a present for dessert. Would go back again. Nice pub style food.

Helpful?
2 Thank drk2004
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traditional pub, traditional food, a few yards from the Ku'damm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Decided to try this place having eaten at the Krombach further down the road on a previous visit to Berlin, and were glad that we did. In fact on a 5 night visit we ate here twice, so it must have been good. The first time I had a beef stew with dumpling and red cabbage, whilst the wife had a huge tuna salad. The second visit I had a schnitzel topped with onions and cheese, served with bratkartoffeln - delicious fried potatoes with lardons. Wife wasn't over hungry so opted for just a starter of fried brie, this turned out to be almost the size of my main! The menu was quite diverse and reasonably priced, as were the drinks. On both occasions, including 2 rounds of drinks, the bill was just around €30. Excellent value for a traditional German pub/restaurant just of the bustling Ku'damm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnSquiggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
Level Contributor
192 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Typical German Pub - but with good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

In the prestigious Kurfürstendamm neighborhood (just few steps in a side-street) we were recommended to dine in this place.
It was excellent.
Nice atmosphere, nice drinks (a very good and "friendly" plum brandy, and good selection of beer), very good food.
One of the previous review is titled "very friendly" - well, I think it was an other shift of waiters.
Or this is considered to be friendly - for German waiters...
(It was nothing wrong, but I would not come to the "friendly title", when I want to share my impression..
All together: I definitely want to be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank handhungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Patzenhofer also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Zum Patzenhofer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing