We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need too much time” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vapiano

Vapiano
Ranked #483 of 8,231 Restaurants in Berlin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Need too much time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

The restaurant is not suitable for who wants to have dinner in a limited time! Making every ordered meal takes a lot of time; more than half an hour in line, and more than 20 minutes for making the food! So it is good for leisure time. I should mention that food quality is good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nazila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    250
    131
    63
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“If you like Italian, then you probably won't like this!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

After a day walking all over Berlin, we were too knackered to look beyond this place at the corner of the street from our hotel.

I don't mind the communal seating arrangement but let's get this in the open, its not the best Italian you'll ever have and frankly, they could just as easily change the place and serve, Chinese, Thai, Indian with the concept they have.

However, its quite cheap, reasonably cheerful and will fill a hole.

We shared a pizza which was a bit bland and this was a shame because the crusty base was crying out for toppings that actually tasted of something. The accompanying salad was drenched in a gloopy and awful sauce that would have been better left to you the customer to sort out then a heavy handed frauline.

The panna cotta desert was nice enough but frankly speaking, if an Italian restaurant can't nail that then you'd suggest they pack it in. With a beer, wine and two coffees the bill came to around e27, so reasonably cheap.

However, its not for me and I'd only go there again and/or choose a place like this if I really had to.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoftusroadW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo, norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Never again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Vapiano chain restaurants look lovely from outside. Inside there is chaos. People standing and waiting in curious lines to order, and then wait for their dishes. And do not expect to be served when it is your turn! Frustrating. Service was just acceptable, food was hardly that. We got delicious looking pizzas that taste like shoe sole. Which I imagine to taste absolutely nothing. Not my cup of tea, but I seem to be left alone as the place was packed!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kikami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
german in yorkshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“good food, when you finally get it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

queued for almost an hour before getting food. Food itself was nice, though by time Finally got the food I would have raten anything

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank janpki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went here our first night in Berlin - good, freshly cooked food at a decent price. The only thing we found is, at least when we went, be prepared to wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bwgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vapiano also viewed

 

Been to Vapiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing