We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing lamb hock”
Review of Zur Gerichtslaube

Zur Gerichtslaube
Ranked #102 of 8,445 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Diner, German, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing lamb hock”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

There was a very lively atmosphere in this old-style traditional pub when we ate there, with what seemed to be many locals having a good time. There is an English menu, necessary for some of the specialist local dishes. We had 'Lammhaxe', a hock of lamb, which was beautifully cooked, with roast potatoes and green beans. The waitress was friendly and helpful, and the beer was good. We will go back there!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lilian and Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    447
    111
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must in Berlin”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant, an old courthouse of medieval times, is worth visiting if nothing else for its atmosphere. Add to this the exceptionally good food and you have a must for Berlin. I recommend it without hesitation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IGRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
424 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Been here before and came back for more”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely cosy interior , great service and good quality food pear stuffed with blue cheese is fab , although we ordered more than we could eat . Lovely to see that locals were enjoying the fare

Helpful?
Thank KLBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lunch at Gerichtslaube”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My friend and I tried out this place during our stay in Berlin. The place was fairly easy to find, noting the entrance is to the side. The menu offers a good choice of German cuisine. We both went for the wild boar which was a bit dry but otherwise fairly tasty and decent-sized portions; but being honest nothing special to write home about. There may be better things on the menu looking over at what people on other tables were enjoying. The real selling point of this place is the venue. The atmosphere of the place is marvellous. I feels like you've gone back in time a couple of hundred years (in a good way). I thought the food and drinks were reasonably priced. So if you want to enjoy German cuisine in a traditional setting then this place is worth a try.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelliffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were expecting an authentic German dinner after a long visiting museums. After reading such highly rated reviews on trip advisor, we expected it to be fabulous. However, the food was below our expectation. The famous German pork knuckle was overly salted and not crispy-ly fried as we had tried in another restaurant. Even the pickled cabbage was too salty though it might be of right taste to the German...idk :s

The only compensation for such food was heir good service and environment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ksjlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zur Gerichtslaube also viewed

 

Been to Zur Gerichtslaube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing