We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Be sure you go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Bieberbau

Restaurant Bieberbau
Ranked #1 of 7,777 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $47 - $71
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The dining room of the Bieberbau bears the signature of the sculptor / master plasterer Richard Bieber. He sat down in 1894 so that a monument. Driven from his old workshop in Leipziger Strasse by the new Tietz, he built in the Durlacher Street, a new studio building. Expressionist painters like Pechstein and Kirchner lived and worked here. The Bieberbau served as an inn for painters, neighbors and guests, and at the same time as a showcase for plastering sector work: An army of masters and apprentices created sculptures that Bieber's customers as a model and inspiration and at the same time the construction of the restaurant guests should serve. In war, the house burned and lost its once magnificent facade. Miraculously, but remained Bieber guest room completely spared. The restaurant has developed in the postwar period to a slide fail to fall into a deep sleep later. From the Bieberbau was awakened by the chef and owner Karl Kling until 1967, with a passion for the interior and the tradition of the restaurant. In 1986, he restored the Bieberbau loving. Since then, the dining room is a listed building. Today the ornamentation of Bieberbau stores fascinating testimony of a forgotten art form. Guests who appreciate the atmosphere of the modeled stucco truss and dine in the imaginative decor, Richard Bieber are grateful for his work. This is probably why the restaurant carries to this day the name "Bieberbau". The restaurant is a unique jewel in Berlin's gastronomic landscape.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Be sure you go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This tiny restaurant is a gem. The food is simply superb. Our entire dinner was offered in an elegant and thoughtful presentation. The staff love what they do and it shows. Explanations are given for each dish. There was absolutely nothing about the entire evening we didn't enjoy. While not inexpensive, you will feel both treated and spoiled. Make it a fine dining experience when next you are in Berlin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    64
    17
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Perhaps one of the best restaurants that we have ever been to. We ordered the four course menu but received so many additional plates. These additional plates were bite sized delicacies served either side of each course! Every plate was presented perfectly and was explained to us in detail upon presentation. Being Australian, we only spoke a few German words but the staff spoke excellent English and went out of their way to ensure that we had an amazing experience. The food was delicious, the staff were wonderful and for this level of service and quality, the price was incredible. We would recommend this place to anyone visiting berlin. Not one bad word to be said. It was perfect!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Melbourneaustralia90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Food is close to perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Resturant is situated in a quiet neigborhood so you are not likely to stumble upon this one. Would recommend bookin in advance if you want a table. At least four parties were declined the night we visited. We all had a 5-dish meal, most dishes were sublime a couple were just good. Service was fast and precise at the start of the evening. Out waiter was very knowledgeable and obviosly loved what he was presenting. He also knew his way around the wines. At the end of the evening when all tables where in full swing service dropped a bit, it took them almost two hours from we finished the main course until they had served the last two. The company and wines were good so not really a big problem but a resturant like this can do better. The resturant itself is stunning, the walls and decor is alone worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Therealdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taba, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Thank you tripaddvisor for this restaurant much better than at my hotel. it is very the good best food i took in berlin, and wine and beer delicious, probably real german berlin beer. we had to reserrve but on the same day it was ok

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mehdi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had reserved a table at Bieberbau to celebrate a special occasion and I have to say that the restaurant made the occasion even more special. The food was just awesome and very inventive with things like olive ice-cream for pre-dessert. We had the five course menu and ended up eating nine courses with all the little extras they served. Although the food was on this very high fine dining level, the staff was friendly and we felt comfortable.

I recommend Bieberbau with all my heart. Our dinner there was one of the best meals I've ever eaten.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank annahuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Bieberbau also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Restaurant Bieberbau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing