We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure you go”

Restaurant Bieberbau
Ranked #4 of 8,504 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $54 - $73
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Bieberbau at Durlacher Str. 15 in Berlin-Wilmersdorf is part of a former studio and dwelling house. Built 1893/94 by Wilhelm Walther for the sculptuor Richard Bieber, it was nearly completely destroyed by a firebomb during World War II. Only the rooms and decoration of what is now the restaurant survived. The stucco ornamentation you can admire here have been created by the most advanced students and trainedcraftsmen of the principal and owner. He maintained a plasterer's and sculptuor's studio. The decorations depict different motives from mythology and rural life. They show advanced technical skills. The premises in their organic design provide an insight into the stuccateurs' craftmenship unique for Berlin around the turn of the twentieth century. They offer a unique spatial experience the qualitiy and complexitiy of which were out of the ordinary. In the backyard of the house there were several studios, amongst others those of the expressionist work group ,,Die Brücke" (,,The Bridge"). Between 1910 and 1913 Max Pechstein and Ernst Ludwig Kirchner worked here.
Florence, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Be sure you go”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This tiny restaurant is a gem. The food is simply superb. Our entire dinner was offered in an elegant and thoughtful presentation. The staff love what they do and it shows. Explanations are given for each dish. There was absolutely nothing about the entire evening we didn't enjoy. While not inexpensive, you will feel both treated and spoiled. Make it a fine dining experience when next you are in Berlin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    96
    27
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Perhaps one of the best restaurants that we have ever been to. We ordered the four course menu but received so many additional plates. These additional plates were bite sized delicacies served either side of each course! Every plate was presented perfectly and was explained to us in detail upon presentation. Being Australian, we only spoke a few German words but the staff spoke excellent English and went out of their way to ensure that we had an amazing experience. The food was delicious, the staff were wonderful and for this level of service and quality, the price was incredible. We would recommend this place to anyone visiting berlin. Not one bad word to be said. It was perfect!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Melbourneaustralia90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Food is close to perfection”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Resturant is situated in a quiet neigborhood so you are not likely to stumble upon this one. Would recommend bookin in advance if you want a table. At least four parties were declined the night we visited. We all had a 5-dish meal, most dishes were sublime a couple were just good. Service was fast and precise at the start of the evening. Out waiter was very knowledgeable and obviosly loved what he was presenting. He also knew his way around the wines. At the end of the evening when all tables where in full swing service dropped a bit, it took them almost two hours from we finished the main course until they had served the last two. The company and wines were good so not really a big problem but a resturant like this can do better. The resturant itself is stunning, the walls and decor is alone worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Therealdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taba, Egypt
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Thank you tripaddvisor for this restaurant much better than at my hotel. it is very the good best food i took in berlin, and wine and beer delicious, probably real german berlin beer. we had to reserrve but on the same day it was ok

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mehdi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, excellent service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had reserved a table at Bieberbau to celebrate a special occasion and I have to say that the restaurant made the occasion even more special. The food was just awesome and very inventive with things like olive ice-cream for pre-dessert. We had the five course menu and ended up eating nine courses with all the little extras they served. Although the food was on this very high fine dining level, the staff was friendly and we felt comfortable.

I recommend Bieberbau with all my heart. Our dinner there was one of the best meals I've ever eaten.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank annahuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Bieberbau also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Restaurant Bieberbau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing