We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good homemade Italian” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peperoncino

Peperoncino
Ranked #23 of 8,231 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good homemade Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Lovely food. The Italian owner was quick to give us a reservation (i acknowledge that i booked in Italian ... ). The menu of the day is on the blackboard in the back of the restaurant as you enter. We tried the freshly made Ravioli with Spinach and Ricotta and the Gnochhi with Tartuffo... the food was really really good. Service was friendly and the owner was very attentive as were the other servers. Would definitely go back. It is a bit far from the center, about 6 km from our hotel.... we chose it again due to the Trip Advisor review. Would go back if we came back to visit Berlin. The Bocconcini Mozarella appetizer was huge and delicious... and we drank the Sicilian Red they have on offer, which was muscular and good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gl0betr0tter21040725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    72
    18
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
483 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Small menu, fabulous friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

A small menu is often the sign of a good restaurant. Some anti pasti, some salads, and pasta dishes. In spite of not having a reservation and it being a Friday night and reserved signs on most of the empty tables we were able to get a table next to the entrance. All the staff were so friendly and we joked about not speaking English or Italian or German. The food was delicious and the chef even checked with my husband if he liked chili in his vongole sauce by showing him a couple of fresh birds eye chilies. Good strong coffee finished the meal and after paying we were offered another cup gratis. A delightful little restaurant in an area with not very many good places to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
“Excellent Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had the pleasure of dining here in the Easter holiday. The food was absolutely excellent and the host was extremely kind. We all went with the surprise menu and that turned to be a great choice. After 10 courses and 4 hours we were completely full and satisfied.
All in all it was a super experience that we would recommend to everyone visiting Berlin.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rikkeveng91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“feels like they don't want everyone to get in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

We came 4 people to the restaurant and asked to get in.
unfortunetly they said we can't stay to eat although half of the restaurant was empty.
They also do'nt speak english at all and even didn't try to explain or communicate properly.
This is not how italian should welcome people to their place.
not recommended

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aviv41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano L, Inhaber at Peperoncino, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Google Translation
Leider sprechen wir wirklich nicht so gut Englisch (dafür aber Deutsch, Französisch, Spanisch, Polnisch und natürlich Italienisch :) und auch wenn es sonst meistens mit Händen und Füßen sehr gut klappt, gab es dieses Mal ein Missverständnis: Das Restaurant war an diesem Abend voll ausgebucht. Wenn wir Platz haben, ist jeder im Peperoncino willkommen! Wir würden uns sehr freuen, wenn ihr bei eurem nächsten Besuch in Berlin noch einmal vorbeischaut und wir euch von unserer Kochkunst überzeugen dürfen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geilenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

This small little restaurant is a true gem. Small, cozy, home type of feel to it. The staff was very nice and helpful. The pasta was amazing to say the least and dessert was good enough to make a grown man cry. Very budget friendly as well.

Helpful?
1 Thank Firestar60615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peperoncino also viewed

 

Been to Peperoncino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing