We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel, cant wait to visit again”
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #9 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Went to the Circus Hotel on the weekend of the 22nd Jan for 2 nights for my hubbys birthday.
Was feeling positive due to the good reviews and was not dissapointed.
Really nice modern, clean hotel. All the staff are friendly, helpful and provide a relaxed atmosphere.
Location is fantastic, so much nearby....Shops, bars, restaurants, tram, U-bahn all within walking distance.
We chose to have the buffet breakfast in the hotel each morning, which really was nice.
All fresh and healthy food. The bread was lovely.
Didnt have an evening meal there as we like to venture out, but the food looked really good when it came out!!
Reception are very helpful and you can buy your day pass for the public transport here with discount.. 2 for 1 on a sunday makes it a bargain to get around all day!!
Rooms very modern and clean, lovely shower and big bed.
Really dont have a bad word to say, the worst part was leaving!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holiday80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,685 - 1,691 of 2,608 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2011

I spent 2 nights here with 2 friends in the new year. The services offered by the Circus hotel are extensive, from the standard amenities to more exotic ones such as Segway rental and iPods preloaded with walking tours and music from Berlin. The hotel has a very cool vibe to it, and our room (what I can only describe as the Olympic room) was clean and spacious. Shower was amazing.
Location is good (a few stops on the U-bahn from Alexanderplatz) with a host of restaurants in the surrounding area.

The breakfast buffet is amazing at 8 euro for hotel guests, definitely worth checking out! The staff are amazing and willing to help in any way they can. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank britishchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Fantastic hotel, great location, very helpful staff lovely rooms - there are a lot of recommendations for this hotel you can believe them

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamboandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We (family of 4) stayed for 5 nights just before Xmas in one of the Apartments. Whilst the weather was at times quite cold, the warmth of the Cicus Hotel staff and the amenities of the apartment. restuarant and bar more than compensated. The location is very handy with a UBahn, tram and bus stops right outside so reaching any of Berlin's sights is no problem. Its even walking distance to Museum Island if you prefer exploring the streets. The front counter staff have perfect English and there was no question or matter they couldnt assist with.
The only minor negative - if you're looking to avoid Australian/NZ/USA travellers, stay elsewhere. But as I said its only a minor thing.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EF_05Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Circus at the start of Jan after seeing reviews on Trip Advisor....and I'm extremely glad we did. Great location which is very easy to get to from the Airport being located right next to the underground. Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely girl who recommended tours/restaurants etc which all turned out to be great. Our room was a deluxe double and was a decent size, decorated well and was clean and comfortable. Infact, the bed was one of the comfiest we've come across in European hotels. I do agree with the other reviews that the wooden floors do tend to get dirty, expecially when it's snowing...perhaps a door mat/shoe rack would help??

We overlooked the busy junction however the noise level was ok and didn't keep us awake. Breakfast was good and we sat in the bar for a nightcap every night. Again, the staff here were fantastic.

We would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend to friends and family. It's small, laid back and friendly...exactly what we like. Great value for money too which is always a bonus.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I stayed in this hotel having read previous reviews on this site and it lived up to all of the positive comments. It is a small, clean, friendly place to stay and offers excellent value in a great location. I would happily return and recommend this hotel. The rooms are small and simple. The bathroom's the same but both have everything you need. The bar downstairs is a lovely place to relax. We had breakfast each morning, the bircher muesli was particularly good (and I am not usually a fan of it). The hotel has a number of laptops which can be borrowed at no cost and used in the bar, a brilliant idea. The staff are very helpful and friendly. There is nothing I would change.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLMCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Myself and two friends rented the apartment 1 (two large bedrooms, two bathrooms, hall with sofa, kitchen). Quiet, clean, very friendly staff, good location and amazing value for money. The only thing I can max out on then ratings are the breakfast. But I think that may have something to do with us being Norwegian. We are used to bigger breakfasts than Germans maybe.

All in all. You can't go wrong at the Circus Hotel in Berlin. I will definitely book here again if returning to Berlin.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarsNaess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,884 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 635 in Berlin
497 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 635 in Berlin
1,005 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 635 in Berlin
2,318 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $110 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing