We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, central hotel”
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #12 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good, central hotel”
Reviewed September 3, 2009

I found this hotel for my parents, after searching on tripadvisor.com.
I made the reservation on the phone, and the reception did not ask for any deposit, just to reconfirm by phone 3 days prior to check-in. This is a plus. You can pay at the reception cash or by credit/ debit card.
My parents stayed at this hotel between 17-25 August and were very pleased. They had a twin room with windows over the courtyard. It was very quiet.
The hotel is very clean, the room is large enogh. The bathroom is spotless. If you want to have your towels changed leave them on the bathroom floor.
The reception personnel is very well trained, and very helpful (Mr. Lars - especially). They even helped my parents to make the online check-in for their flight home.
Breakfast is fresh, several types of cheese, meat, bread and fruit. Enough to satisfy any taste.
The hotel is well positioned, near a U-bahn stop, and 2 stops from the heart of Berlin - Alexander Plaz..
The only negative thing is that due to the fact that the hotel is ECO, the light in the room, bathroom and lobby is very little. One cannot read well in the room (not even a map), and shaving is difficult in the bathroom.
The hotel has an elevator, and the access to the upper levels is possible only by using the room key card.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Namiko_Mika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,914
    531
    83
    10
    4
See reviews for
283
1,412
184
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I've stayed in a number of hotels in Berlin paying way more than here. The Circus Hotel is not only kind to your pocketbook, but every person working there has a heart of gold. Germany, take a lesson from the folks working here: Customer Service is here to stay. They do it right. The beds are comfortable, everywhere is clean, did I mention the great service? Free Internet with a simple password and free laptop loans. The New York Times online is how I found this place. I can only underscore their review. Enjoy your next stay in Berlin!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnsf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

I stayed at the Circus hotel and my friends who had an infant stayed at the Circus Hostel. I really enjoyed the Circus hotel. My only complaint would be something that someone has mentioned. It does get really hot and in order to get air into the room you have to open the windows but the hotel is on a very busy street so you can't sleep unless you have earplugs. The front desk does offer fans but I'm sure that they are very limited. If you have friends that want to stay at the hostel for a cheaper rate, I recommend it. My friends and I were within walking distance of each other and we could also see each other from the windows of the hotel. The only thing is that you can't call each other because the hostel doesn't have phones but you can walk down to the front desk and have them call for free. The Circus hotel helped us with all of plans and answered every question we had. They also tried to get a stroller for the child. Although they couldn't find it they did try. They were very accommodating which made us feel at home. They have so many things available for guests, it is really like you never left home. They have chargers, laptops, cell phones for rent. Anything you could possibly think of. The only thing I rented was the day travel pass for 4 euros (they take 20 euros for collateral). Unlimited travel in 2 zones of Berlin. It was very helpful. The hotel is not exactly walking distance to the main city center but it is only three stops on the underground. Overall, I had a great time in Berlin partially because of the hotel. If I could I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amannnnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Have been travelling a bit and love finding a hotel that just hits the spot... The Circus does this. Young, fresh, relaxed, helpful, great location, staff who smile all the time and will do what they can to help you.
Stayed in a 2 room apartment, which was perfect, everthing you needed!
We even followed the Circus jogging route for a 7km jog around the river!
Berlin is a cool city and the Circus is a perfect match!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EyresLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Circus is a nice modern hotel located near-ish to Alexander Platz. It was clean and had the basics required for a decent price. However, it was summer and rather warm so the rooms were very stuffy. We needed to keep the window open and this was fine as we faced the courtyard. The outside of the hotel faces a very busy street.

Staff were mostly helpful but everything seems to be done by the reception so there can be some congestion and wait particularly since the reception seems to manage the other members of staff like the cleaning staff and occasionally tended to serve fellow employees rather than clients. They don't take AMEX so plan for that.

The food in the restaurant and breakfast is good although sometimes staff in in the restaurant are difficult to find.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eur0Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

There are many things that make the Circus Hotel in Rosenthaler Platz the perfect place to stay when you're in Berlin. The rooms are simply but stylishy furnished and decorated, and the bathrooms similarly so, with roomy showers (we stayed in a standard double). We stayed for 9 nights and our bed linen and towels were refreshed twice without us having to ask.

Breakfast was included in the very competitive room rate, and although they told us it was a "simple buffet", we found that there was plenty to choose from, and more than enough to set you up for a long day of sightseeing! The restaurant and courtyard were a lovely, relaxing place to start the day.

Having free wi-fi in the rooms was really handy - they can even lend you a laptop. We didn't really take advantage of the many services that they have to offer - iPods with local music, books and DVDs/players to set the scene for your visit; free toiletries if you need them; access to yoga and swimming nearby, and a map of jogging routes; bike, segway and Smart car rental; discounted underground tickets - but it was reassuring to know that they were there if we wanted them, often at no extra cost. They also do more unusual - free! - tours every four weeks, visiting Tempelhof Airport, bunkers and more off-the-beaten-track sights - Jim took us out to the 1936 Olympic Village, well off the tourist trail in rural Brandenburg - we'd never have found it on our own.

The location is ideal for exploring too - right on the boundary between Mitte and Prenzlauer Berg, just 10 minutes to walk to Hackescher Markt and 15-20 minutes to walk to Alexanderplatz. Rosenthaler Platz undeground station (U8) is right outside the door, and there are also bus and tram stops. To be honest, though, it was just as easy to walk most places. There was a plethora of shops, bars and restaurants within 10-20 minutes' walk - something you could also say of Friedrichstr. and Potsdamer Platz, but the surroundings at Circus are so much more pleasant!

What sets the Circus Hotel head and shoulders above its competitors and almost every other hotel I've ever stayed in, though, are its staff. They are unfailingly polite, friendly and helpful, and all speak perfect English (and I would imagine, a few other languages). We were given a warm, informal and informative welcome at reception, which set the tone for our whole stay. Staff in the restaurant were also bright and cheerful. Overall, we got the impression that nothing would be too much trouble, and that there would be no question that they would not attempt to answer. Our goodbye was as friendly as our hello, and it was with heavy hearts that we walked out of the front door and down the steps into the U-Bahn station.

An emphatic five out of five in every conceivable way. Brilliant value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Pea2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2009

the circus hotel is a wonderful hotel. With lovely modern rooms, ecxellent service and the most friendly and helpful staff around, we had a superb stay. It is perfectly located, has an underground station outside the door, a nice little bar and restaurant. Perfect!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yonatanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,698 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 634 in Berlin
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,126 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Property: The Circus Hotel
Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing