We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in Berlin”
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #10 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband stayed at The Circus Hotel for six nights in May/
June 2013. The accommodation is centrally located in Berlin, close to museums, public transport ànd restaurants. Our room was nicely decorated with a good sized bathroom. Rooms are very clean, staff are very friendly & obliging. Breakfast at €8 is good value. This accommodation is also well priced for the location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

947 - 953 of 2,631 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great location. Travelled with party of friends and we all had good rooms, there was massive bathroom with ours. Lots of nice touches eg IPad chargers etc to make your stay really comfortable; and to be honest things which I wouldn't expect for a hotel with such reasonable rates.

Loved the breakfast, everything fresh and high quality. We also ate in the hotel at their Gin & Jazz evening; highly recommend the braised beef cheeks and bramble gin!

Hotel staff were v good; they arranged a Segway trip for some of our party and couldn't have done more to help. We had a room on the 3rd floor above the street, there was some noise but there again you're right in a city so not sure what else you'd expect?! All in all an incredibly good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

For the first time in Berlin ,I booked Circus based on the reviews on trip advisor and it was a great choice. Everyone from the front desk( I believe Jerry ) to the barman was friendly and made me feel at home and helped me get my bearings in a new city. The location is great, and there is some amazing gellato, coffee and shwarma all across the street at amazing prices compared to NYC. I missed the rooftop bar but next time would like to have a glass of wine up there. The fast and quick free wifi was also much appreciated. My only minor disappointment was with the breakfast buffet. For 8 euros you are much better off buying food nearby . Thank you and I hope to be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard if you are light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HillelNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

After reading the reviews on here, I booked the Circus for a short break. Important to be fair and considered, so here are the good points:

- Friendly service, helpful and welcoming
- Clean and Tidy on the whole, beds were also comfortable. Shower excellent, good bathroom facilities.
- Reasonable value for money
- Well located and ease of access to underground station.

Not so good points:

- Over-hyped. I cannot believe this is rated consistently the best hotel in Berlin. There must be some shockers in the 4* and 5* category if they cannot beat the Circus.
- No Air-con, just a blooming noisy fan. If travelling in summer, be aware - this wasn't ideal, even for a 3*
- Extremely small room - we were in 117 with no view. I didn't specially ask for one which wasn't really a problem, but the space in the room was cramped. Two people could not pass each other between the beds and the door for the bathroom.
- Breakfast is massively over rated. €8 could buy you a much nicer one further down Rosenthaler St or down towards Alexandra Platz. We ate once there and did not return.
- Servie in adjoining bar was a bit unattentive, and did not make you want to return for a late drink (we went across the road instead).

So, it is a good hotel for the money, but surely not the best in Berlin? It's no better than a slighly up market Premier Travel Inn in my view, and although the staff are excellent, the hotel itself and furnishings are acceptable, but not outstanding. Loved Berlin, but may try an alternative venue for a more luxurious experience next time.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank jamesclark12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very friendly staff, nice room, all good, highly recommended. Restaurant downstairs has ok food , nice atmosphere and jazz later in the evening. Our room had window into the restaurant courtyard and there was some noise latd at night. Not sure if outside facing room might be better.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nogberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent six nights here the third full week in May. The location is fabulous for sightseeing with many transportation options right outside the door plus a wonderful assortment of reasonably-priced ethnic restaurants within a two-block walk that we tried and liked: Transit (Asian small dishes), Gorky Park (Russian), Yumcha Heroes (dumplings), and Maya (Mexican). The young hotel staff from all around the world could not be nicer and more helpful; the organic breakfast was fabulous, with great coffee, wonderful breads and fresh yogurts and a plethora of interesting granola choices, with enough variety that we ate there all six mornings of our stay; the rooms sparkling clean and refreshingly decorated. Be aware there is no air conditioning although good fans are supplied for your use; I would book elsewhere in the hot summer months. The reduced-rate transit pass also was a nice option, and having the bath products on a request basis at the desk indeed reduces wastage. I loved all the eco-friendly endeavors.

The only negative: you absolutely must have a room facing the inner courtyard in order to sleep because the noise on the Rosenthaler Platz side, particularly the horrendously screeching brakes of the tram, was very loud, even using earplugs. We found this out because although I booked in January and was assured of a room on the third floor facing the courtyard, and I reconfirmed this booking by email just one week before our arrival, there was a snafu and the first night we had to sleep in a room facing the street. This proved to be very difficult even through we were exhausted from our overnight flight from the USA. We were moved the next day to a courtyard room, which was fine, and the hotel waived the cost of the night, which was very considerate and appreciated. (We saw others switch rooms to the courtyard side during our stay as well.) I personally found the beds (no box springs) very hard as well although my husband had no issues with them.

You could not find a nicer, friendlier staff in a non-family-owned hotel. It makes such a difference to one's stay and provided a nice homey environment for six-day visit to Berlin.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinti attorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Location was fantastic, everything in walking distance and u-Bahn across road. Rooms were clean and quiet. Great restaurants and bars closeby. Staff were friendly and obliging. The breakfast was excellent.Recommend for anyone travelling to Berlin for a short trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 633 in Berlin
1,918 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 633 in Berlin
522 reviews
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#9 of 633 in Berlin
1,276 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#2 of 633 in Berlin
1,025 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $107 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing