We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Berlin City Break.”
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #12 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Berlin City Break.”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from Berlin,staying at the Circus Hotel our fourth year running and have had a fantastic time once again. The Circus Hotel is the place to stay, the rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean, the location is perfect for the underground and tram systems. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. We discovered the cafe bar at the Circus Hostel where you can find all you could ever want for breakfast ,starting at 3 euro's we ate there every morning and we can highly recommend you check it out for yourself,for a perfect way to start your day. We are planning to return to Berlin next april and will be staying at the Circus Hotel for sure.
Dawn & Steve Jones

Helpful?
Thank sausage26
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,916
    531
    83
    10
    5
See reviews for
285
1,412
184
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Trust the other great reviews - I did and spent five great days with the exceptional staff of the Circus Berlin. Took me a couple of days to get my head around Berlin's neighborhoods - once I did, I realized how perfectly situated this property is. The staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. And breakfast? Just awesome. Don't hesitate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you're very lucky you may find a hotel as good as this but I doubt that you'll find one better.
It's in a great location ( walkable to many locations) with train, trolley and buses on your doorstep. The staff couldn't be more helpful, it's obvious that they enjoy what they're doing and nothing is too much trouble. The room was very comfortable with quality fixtures and everything was in good working order. The restaurant food was equally as good and the bar had live music. The late breakfast 1pm is one of many great ideas and options that they have to offer. A definite winner.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose the location you want, there is a hostel in a separate building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floridanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in one of the junior suites last week and for our first trip to Berlin I don't think we could have chosen a better hotel - very well located, immediately next to a U-Bahn station and ideal for what we wanted to do in Berlin ... which was basically have a good base whilst we explored an amazing city. Nice helpful and friendly staff, great breakfast choices, very relaxing bar area with iPods and books available to pass the time, plus the room we had was very welcoming with a fantastic walk in shower - the hotel itself is beautifully designed and very good value for money. Only improvements I would suggest would be to have a mini-bar or fridge in the rooms and some people may like to have a bath rather than shower, but apart from that a really good choice and personally we would/will go back here when visiting the city.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suite, nice open space and good shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This an excellent hotel located in one of the most interesting parts of Mitte. The staff was incredibly helpful; I didn't have a tour guide with me and I didn't need one; they had various different suggestions for tours for all tastes. The breakfast is excellent and available till 1PM (but you don't need to book it in advance; it's the same price if you just order and charge it to your room). The contemporary decor is very nice, and much better than what you'd expect given their relatively low price. My only complaint is that the curtains don't do a great job of keeping the sun out, so if you're there in the summer, it might be difficult to sleep in (but, then again, you might appreciate the feel extra hours in Berlin...).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent three nights at the Circus Hotel. Had a room with King bed and en-suite bathroom with shower. We flew into Tegel airport with morning arrival, and followed the hotel's directions to arrive at the hotel. A bus from the airport to a U-bahn stop, and then the U-bahn to the hotel. Dropped of our bags and toured until check in time. Spacious room, clean. Staff speaks good english. Ate in on site restaurant one night, was good. Best thing about hotel was the location. Close to Rosenthaler Platz U-bahn stop. Walking distance close to many restaurants and the museums.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radio9phs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

A modern hotel in a good location in Berlin. We were close to transportation to get wherever we needed. The room was big enough, customer service gave us great recommendations, and access to Internet/printer was helpful. The only downside was no free breakfast and the breakfast options were expensive for what you got. There were plenty of delicious and more reasonable breakfast places nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,704 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 634 in Berlin
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,134 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Property: The Circus Hotel
Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing