We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #11 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

It is a real pleasure to stay in a hotel that is not a bland corporate brand and where the staff really seem to enjoy their work. I liked the owners' philosophy and the approach. As other have said, the rooms are well designed and individual. Everything you need is there. Wifi is free and fast. The restaurant and bar are is welcoming with good value and quality food and drinks. There are some clever touches such as the ability to hire a daily travel ticket for a good price. The location is excellent with good information on the website on how to get there - a video showing the whole trip from the airport! And although the front rooms are on a busy corner, we found them well insulated. What's not to like? And all for €90 a night and €8 for a buffet breakfast. But above all, it was the really great team of staff who impressed me. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamingJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,929
    534
    83
    10
    5
See reviews for
290
1,419
184
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

It was a quick and easy decision. I was running out of time as this was a sudden decision to stay in Berlin. Checked tripadvisor, and saw that The Circus Hotel was rated number 1. And the price… (I was holding my breath as I clicked on “Show Prices”… very reasonable! (However breakfast was not included --it’s an additional 8 euros). I will probably echo much of what the other reviewers have said, but to some it up:

Great location (close to restaurants and bars, walking distance to places of interest, close to public transportation), friendly staff, comfy room and modern/clean bathroom, nice hangout restaurant downstairs. I appreciated the “green” approach of the hotel: shower gel/shampoo etc were not available in the room but you can get them free of charge and as much as you want at the reception. Our room which was at the front of the hotel and right above the busy junction was actually quite quiet.

I arrived 3 hours before check-in time after a long 33-hour trip. Originally we were told that none of the rooms were ready, but then the lady at the reception actually went to catch us in front of the hotel to tell us that a room had just become available if we were willing to wait for 10 minutes. Now that was a very pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maura-SoeparjadiKwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is fantastic staff were friendly and helpful there were free organised tours and entertainment in the evening, rooms were spotless and spacious, prices were very reasonable for a city break, we used the waking tour company the hotel recommended to see the sites in one day they are fantastic and would recommend them to everyone

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckyboo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Came to stay for Easter 2013. Berlin has so much to offer and the Circus Hotel is a fantastic place to base yourself whether in a group or travelling solo like i did. It is in a great location, the staff are friendly & helpful. The rooms were spotlessly clean and of a fair size with nice decor. I had a comfy bed and the perfect single rooms for those travelling solo. Bathrooms have Rain-showers which was heavenly too. Reasonably priced breakfast in restaurant downstairs. Couldn't help the weather but the rooms were warm along with the service - Highly recommend!!! On the doorstep of the u-bahn which adds to the convenience of it all.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanselliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The Circus is a fantastic affordable hotel, well designed, in a great location. Perfect for young singles or couples who don't want to stay in a hostel.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were a good size and clean, and the breakfasts downstairs were the best - we actually decided to eat at the hotel every morning because it was so good.

As you're so close to public transport, it's easy to explore Berlin, or you can walk around Mitte. The hotel also loaned us travel tickets, which made public transport a cheap and convenient option.

I'd stay here again next time I'm in Berlin.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

OMG, as the weenies say, this place is just too good. Right there in the middle of everything, where you're sure you can't afford to be, is this hotel with its comfy bed in a pretty room and a blast of a shower in the morning in a nice big bathroom (you know the water pressure is always a wild card). And how often have you thought a hotel breakfast just delicious? And the staff superlative, too. There's nothing I wanted from a hotel room that I didn't get here. Anyone who knows me knows all I care about is budgeting so I can party more, so when I get that and a wonderful stay, it makes me very enthusiastic. Since I've slowly become a bit of a budgeting pro over the course of the last few (shouldn't really be spending on travel, but can't resist) years, I usually pick up some useful ideas to save vacation money as I go along, and so here are the ones I've got for Germany, hope they help you do more with less:
Food in Germany can be very affordable. Outdoor vendors cost around $3-4 USD (great sausages and bratwurst). Fast food costs around $8 USD, but you didn't come here to eat THAT, did you?. Beer usually costs $5 USD for a nice pint. If you eat in the beer halls, a traditional German meal plus a beer will cost around $15 USD. Turkish, middle eastern, and Asian food can be found for as little as $5 USD. A week’s worth of groceries will cost around $40-55 USD. I love it here!

Check the internet yourself before you settle. I can't even tell you how many times I've scored a great discount simply by calling the carriers and asking "Hey, what's the best price you have for the dates I have in mind?", and these were not, to my knowledge, published on the internet. And as for what to do with the car, to avoid the expense of airport lots you can arrange a hotel and parking package and for the cost of a nights hotel stay your vacation car parking is included. I prefer to use stay123 for these. I also prefer to use skype, vyber or similar apps to make free phone calls via ubiquitously free wifi all over Europe.

Once in Germany, High speed trains are very expensive . Berlin to Munich costs over $135 USD. Most of the other intercity trains cost between $40 to $67 USD for a second class ticket. It’s cheaper to take a slow regional train or overnight bus. City transit systems cost around $2 USD per single ticket.

I am a real museum hound, and I hit them right away. A good idea is to purchase the Berlin Pass, which gives access to 50 museums and a travelcard for public transport. The card also includes a tour, which we did not take but it sounded nice. Museums ususally cost between $1-13 USD, so this can really add up.. Bike tours and river cruises can cost $27-40 USD. Most city tours are between $13-27 USD. Renting a bike costs $12 USD per day.

Be sure to book your train early - trains in Germany are expensive but you can get a saver ticket that is around 40-50% off the standard fare if you book at least a week in advance. These tickets have limited availability though so be flexible with your travel plans.

Top Things to Do

Berlin - Germany’s hip capital has world class museums, history, little neighborhoods and one of the best nightlife’s in Europe. From the museums to the art and music scene to the great bars, and cheap food, Berlin is is amazing. and one of the cheapest European capitals.

Munich - Berlin’s quiet, more upscale cousin, Munich is a city steeped in history with small streets, great beer halls, amazing food, a beautiful park, surfers, and a royal palace. It’s one of Germany’s more expensive cities but it’s beautiful and there are a lot of great nearby Bavarian towns that make for good day trips.

Oktoberfest! Of Course - The world’s largest 2 week beer festival filled with huge steins and giant pretzels. I went there for 5 days and had the time of my life. Buy some lederhosen, raise a class, and sing some German beer songs. Maybe nevermind the lederhosen.

Trier - This is the oldest German town in the country. With a 2000-year-old history, Trier was home to six Roman emperors and has number of impressive ancient ruins. The most outstanding example is by far the Black Gate, a monumental structure that was once part of the city walls. Nested in the Moselle river valley, picturesque Trier is crowned with myriad vineyards and pastoral villages. It is very much an off the beaten path destination, and fascinating.

Schloss Colditz - Originally built to be a Renaissance palace, this interesting structure has a long, bizarre history. At times it went from being a hunting lodge to a poorhouse, and even a mental hospital. It is most famous for being a prison during WWII. There is a museum within the palace too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charlotte h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Circus Hotel is located near Alexander Place. The train/metro is about 90 steps from the front door.
Each room is decorated a bit differently and the feel is very modern / hip. The location is close to restaurants and bars and you can walk to many attractions. Every staff associate was genuinely friendly and eager to help (nice to see people who like their jobs)! Wifi is free and they lend out laptops!!
Breakfast was fantastic - with seriously great choices. It was also nice to have the option os eating inside or out. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpbandsvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,752 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,163 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 634 in Berlin
968 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Property: The Circus Hotel
Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HRS, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing