We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous”
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #12 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

booked the circus due to the great reviews on tripadvisor and the very reasonable prices. this is a great hotel, the staff are fabulous so helpful. It is very easy to get to from Schonefeld airport. the location is great and within walking distance of some of the most interesting sites. down in Hackersmark area there is a very small musuem dedicated to a local man who helped save Jewish people during the war, it is in all the guide books and i highly recommend veering off from the usual tourist attractions in order to pay this place a visit (it was also recommended by the tourist guide at the hotel). Take advantage of the free tours on offer if your visit covers a tuesday, we went to the Stasi headquarters which we would not have do so had it not been for the circus, they offer a variety of free tours on tuesdays that they often rotate. Dont buy a daily travel card from the train stations, the circus will provide them at a cheaper rate for the lengtht of your stay. 2 restaurants in close proximity that i recommend Transit (turn left out of the circus hotel and it is about 100 yards down on your left) Asian style tapas dishes, very very cheap but very very good food. We booked as it was a very busy little restaurant. And an italian Hartzwein (straight over the road from the circus down torstrasse and its about 200 yards on the right), excellent food although the menu is only in german but the waiter is very helpful in explaining the dishes. also on this road just before the restaurant is a very tiny pub called Pik As (it still allows smoking so if you dont like smoke in pubs then dont bother) but i dont mind and it seems to be frequented by locals rather than tourists which i liked. All in all an absolutely fabulous hotel in a fabulous city, Make the circus your hotel and you wont go far wrong.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,929
    534
    83
    10
    5
See reviews for
290
1,419
184
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nice inexpensive hotel in a great location next to the tube but within walking distance of all major attractions. The staff were amongst the friendliest and most helpful I have met on my travels.
Lots of bars cafe's and restaurants close by would go back time and again.

Room Tip: trams run outside to the front so earplugs or a room to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel in early March and had a fantastic stay. Close enough to get to all the main sites easily enough but far enough away not to be stuck in with lots of tourists. Breakfast, coffee and cake were excellent. Didn't try dinner as there were plenty of places to eat sometimes.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyrwhittali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

It was my first time in Berlin. Excellent city hotel. Great vibe. Excellent staff. Great location. The bathroom is nice and spacious with powerful shower. The reception gave me very good advise on tourist type things to do. Probably not ideal for a business hotel but the best choice for a weekend away or vacation.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Russel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Circus Hotel is located near the Alexander Place.
Next to the hotel you have the underground.
I thought the hotel was ok but not wow.
The location is good, close to restaurants and bars.
The room was cold and humid; it could have been due to the bad weather outside.
Wifi is free but you have to log in to it each time you go on the net..
Breakfast was really disappointing and not included in the room rate! Only one glass of juice was included, no croissant no toaster and it cost €8
Now to something positive, the different receptionists are very friendly and helpful. The bar/lounge area is nice to have a drink.
Personally I will not come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room against the yard, some of my colleagues had room against the street and it was very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at the Circus hotel for 3 nights in July 2012. It was a fabulous hotel! Beautifully decorated rooms and friendly staff were the best parts of my stay. The restaurant Fabisch was delicious and the courtyard area was a great place to have a drink and relax after a long day of sightseeing. Very convenient location to Alexanderplatz and public transportation. Short taxi ride from the Hauptbahnhof. Small miscommunication about our room safe not working but I feel it was because of my extremely limited german language skills that the front desk didn't understand. It was quickly remedied with a trip up to the room to show the handyman what was wrong.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinS486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, england
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night break at the circus. Great hotel, in a great location. We stayed in one of the smaller double rooms, which was perfect for our needs during the 3 days i.e. clean, warm, great shower, comfy bed & good nights sleep. The staff are superb and really help out and answer any questions. The bar / restaurant on the ground floor was brilliant and had a great vibe about it...again the staff are great. They did good simple breakfast fare up until 1.00pm and on the night having a few drinks in the bar area was the perfect day to end a day of action packed sight seeing. I would also highly recommend the brewers berlin walking tour that leaves from the hotel each day (i've done a separate review for more detail on this) There are also a few great cafe/bars within a few mins walk - check out Sur Rose (really good!!) Overall i would highly recommend the circus as your base for exploring the great city of Berlin - the underground is right outside the hotel and you are a 10-15 min walk from museum island...spot on!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,744 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,160 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 634 in Berlin
965 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Property: The Circus Hotel
Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HRS and Hotwire so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing