We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find”
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #12 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic find”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Circus in Nov 2012 for 3 nights. We found it to be near perfect for an extremely reasonable price. We had a double room that was spotless, the bed was very comfortable. Shower lovely and hot and it was very quiet, slept like a log ! Breakfast was very good. An excellent selection of good quality rolls, cheese, meats, boiled eggs, jam, cereals etc and tea and coffee. It was served until 1pm too which was brilliant if you wanted a lie in. The bar and restaurant had a lovely relaxed atmosphere with sofas, books and games and the food was great too.

The staff at the hotel were all friendly, spoke excellent English and were great to chat with and advise you on where to go. We hired a U bahn pass from reception for a day at a good rate and the nearest U bahn station is outside the front door. Location is excellent. When we last visited Berlin we stayed in the Tiergarten area but found this part of Berlin much more vibrant and interesting and full of cafes, art galleries, museums etc. Loads of places to eat, a lovely French restaurant 10 mins walk away called Nord-Sud where you can eat 3 courses for 7.50 eur.

Go to Berlin and stay at The Circus Hotel, you'll love it !!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the courtyard and was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eshymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,916
    531
    83
    10
    5
See reviews for
285
1,412
184
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The room and bathroom were large and modern. The location is on a corner near the metro station. There are several restauarnts in the area, including in the hotel itself (food was very good). They also offer free toiletries in lobby, which is pretty uncommon in Europe. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from one of the main train stations/market/restaurant area. There is a great asian restaurant called Transit a block or two away. They had excellent food and drinks! Stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nettersbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great stay in Berlin. Location was spot on. In the heart of everything, plus the Metro is next door. The service, room and cleanliness was 4 stars. We stayed for 12 days while traveling around Germany and France. They held our large luggage in between our trips and had them waiting in our room upon arrival.

i deff plan to come back here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSeph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

A German saying taught to me at the hotel when I commented that "I loved the hotel", and was told "that's half the rent" .
Such a friendly, efficiently run hotel. Very cool bar/restaurant where we got to enjoy excellent dinners, delicious cocktails and healthy, fresh breakfasts.
Very comfortable beds and spacious rooms with good hanging space and a safe.
Great shower and the products available from reception is a great idea.
It's not a 5 star hotel in the tradtional sense but every service offered, the rooms and the staff are 5 star - and that's half the rent!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great place to stay. The staff are so helpful - never a problem with language everyone spoke great English. Loved the breakfast. Very healthy often organic and tasted lovely. Had a meal at the restaurant attached as well very nice. Stayed with friends for 3 nights and very comfortable and great value sharing the cost of the room. Great position with public transport bus/train and subway very handy to the hotel.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage make sure you check your room first because my friends had a lot of hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a fab stay at the Circus. Had an excellent veggie meal at the Fabisch restaurant one night, Boyfriend had a really good steak too.

Breakfast selection was a good continetal- not a huge selection but fine quality breads and fruit, pickles, cheese (the cold cuts looked alright too :-) )

Location is perfect- right near the S Bahn : U Bahn / TV tower / Museums

Staff were great- really, really helpful and spoke excellent English.

Hotel is modern, small enough to feel very warm and inviting and decorated well. We borrowed a camera from reception for the 4 days we were there, they didn't even ask us for a deposit.

Fab- would stay here again next time I am
In Berlin. Thanks for abhreat trip

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakley2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel is good and definitely very nice although I would not agree that it is the best place ever as many of the reviews are suggesting. To me it is "only" worth 4 starts, not excellent 5. The reasons being simply the limited breakfast (e.g. no pastries or salads and old tomatoes), double room is tiny for a comfortable stay and if you happen to get a room on the side of the main road, you will not be able to get a decent night's sleep because of the trams and other traffic. The lobby bar is very nice and worth a visit. The staff are friendly, helpful and speak excellent English.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the inner court yard. also, if travelling as a couple, the double room is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,705 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 634 in Berlin
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,141 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Property: The Circus Hotel
Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing