We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but not perfect”
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #12 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great but not perfect”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I can agree with everything that the majority of the previous reviewers have written; the stay is very valuable, the staff is very helpful, the design of rooms and other areas is fantastic, the breakfast is great, the common area is realxing, the drinks are good, the garden is peaceful, the area is cool and full of restaurants and entertainment, the U-bahn is 10 meters away, and so on, and so on. There are many positive things to say about this hotel. Unfortunately, the sleep quality is not the best. The noisy street with the even noisier trams is a bit irritating. The pillows are not as fluffy and soft as they could (and should) be. And the automatic heating timers for the radiators are a bit random. For an excellent stay, take precautions to avoid these pitfalls :-)

Room Tip: Away from the street and towards the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makkipakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,933
    535
    83
    10
    5
See reviews for
290
1,424
184
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Seriously, all good. Great value with really cool rooms. Comfy beds, power showers, friendly staff.

Location-wise this is just perfect - 10 mins walk to Alexaderplatz (or 2 U-bahn stops if you have bags when you arrive/depart) in a great area with local restaurants and shops.

The other reviews are spot on - a fantastic hotel that i wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fi-W-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Good location, right next to U-bahn, there is a direct bus to/from main train station, however require transfer if travelling to/from TXL airport. Love the room, design was modern and lively, room was clean. Friendly staff, breakfast was only fine for me. Great stay overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summmmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This review is way overdue.
My husband and I stayed at the Circus Hotel in Berlin for 5 days in May this year and we truly enjoyed ourselves.

The check- in was efficient and flawless and the staff was friendly and nice. My husband had work to do so i came downstairs to the inhouse cafe to enjoy a cup of coffee and a slice of cake. The lobby was always filled with efficient and cheerful staff.

The weather was cool and the doors were open to let the wind in. At night, we used the wifi and worked and chatted and read in the lobby of the hotel. We always felt very very welcome and even changed and came down for cups of coffee and wine.

The room was clean and spacious and you can look down at the breakfast area.

Breakfast was also great and the staff in the morning was brillant too.

Overall, we had a superb stay in this hotel and we will not hesitate to stay here again. The atmosphere and feel of this hotel was friendly and warm. We were always given great tips by the staff, including how to travel to the concentration camp.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were a little apprehensive as we travelled by taxi to our Berlin hotel (we had been in Europe travelling from Paris to Prague). We would be staying 5 nights here and were both exhausted and sick with the flu. But as soon as we walked into the hotel and were welcomed we knew we were going to like it here. As the brochure states "designed to reflect our continuing commitment to hospitality and sustainability,our 64 rooms have all been individually designed whilst our range of services includes everything you could need to make the most of your time in Berlin." Our experience certainly supports this statement. The Circus also has a hostel and apartments. We had a junior suite with lots of room and a great washroom. The prices are most reasonable(100euros). Many services are available -24hr. reception,free WiFi and laptop rental,garden courtyard & roof terrace,restaurant (Fabisch) which was fabulous -ate breakfast,lunch and dinner there also had afternoon tea.There are many more services. It is a great location -we could walk to sights but the subway and streetcar are right there so it was easy for us to travel about. This hotel had the best staff I have ever experienced (we have gone on 3 cruises) as well as travelled a lot. Michael (from Australia) was awesome in the restaurant for our breakfast and lunch but everybody we were involved with from the desk staff to all the restaurant staff were amazing. They helped to create such a warm and welcoming atmosphere where you felt so comfortable and also were so helpful. This was our favourite place and I cannot recommend it highly enough. In Berlin, you must stay here.

Room Tip: The junior suite is a good size and I would ask for this again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugsueToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The room was very spacious and clean. I had a great view of the very alive Berlin city streets.

There was quite a lot of track-work while I was in Berlin and the staff were great in explaining the best and fastest way to get around it. I was there for bread and butter trade show and when I first booked the hotel my last night was actually not available and the staff again, were quite accommodating in shifting things around so I could stay there.

The organic breakfast buffet was delicious and the staff at the cafe lovely. They all gave me good tips about where to go and what to see.

Will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sajah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed in October for a couple of nights and we just loved the experience of staying here. Very friendly staff and very helpful re tips on sightseeing, great food and atmosphere in the restaurant. Well appointed rooms and given the hustle and bustle outside they were remarkably quiet. Located in the old East Berlin it isa great area to visit -close proximity to the hotel with lots of restaurant choice which after Frankfurt was a refreshing change! Great shops and plenty of history in what was an old Jewish settlement
If only other hotels repeated the service standards that this hotel shows we travellers would all be better off and more relaxed. As a bonus for Australasians they serve a great Flat White!
Thank you Circus - we will definitely return and experience more of your wonderful hospitality and very buzzy City.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,788 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 634 in Berlin
2,199 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 634 in Berlin
977 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Property: The Circus Hotel
Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HRS, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing