We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Circus Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$223
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$183
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$130
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
$114
$103
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$59
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$366
$349
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$158
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$86
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$167
$131
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,693)
Filter reviews
2,693 results
Traveler rating
2,027
561
88
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,027
561
88
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrosenthaler platzfabisch restaurantgreat hoteljunior suitehonesty barrooftop terracewalking touru bahn stationno air conbuffet breakfastfacing the streetlight sleeperpublic transportgreat showereast berlinloved this hotelthird floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,242 - 1,247 of 2,693 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Don't get me wrong, I liked the Circus Hotel. It does have a certain "vibe". But I feel to many readers of TA are giving it a high rating because they booked the hotel after reading all the glowing reviews (I am one of those persons). Room sizes withing the same caregory can vary. My room size was what I expected, but I also expected a dresser for storage. The bathroom was large. The shower had plenty of hot water (rain shower), but the sink was tiny making shaving or just washing your face an adventure. Staff were very nice. Always a good morning. The location was not ideal. Although it was close to the U-Balm and many restaurants, it was three or four blocks to far from central Berlin. Although the Berlin trains are a perfect form of transportation (never a long wait) sometimes you need to walk in order to see the city. I nice diversion in the evening is to see the "Show Me" show at the Friedrichstadt Palast. A beautiful theater. A last suggestion is to look at the Wiki Circus tab on the Circus website. Lots of useful information. No AC at this property....just fans.

Room Tip: Rooms in the courtyard are quiet when windows must be open. We had room 105
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walnut123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in September and agree with all the great reviews about this hotel. It is in a great location with lots of shops, restaurants and clubs nearby. All the staff we met were young, friendly and very helpful with maps, advice, tickets and a great walking tour with pick up at the hotel (Brewer's Berlin Walking Tours).The room was a good size, very clean, comfortable bed and good bathroom and free wifi. The hotel is eco friendly. There are many attractions within walking distance and the U Bahn station right outside the front door. The was no air con but we did have a fan which was sufficient. There was some outside noise but you are in the heart of a major city. We slept well all 3 nights.
We dined at the Fabisch restaurant in the hotel which was excellent. We did not try the breakfast but there is an excellent cheap bakery across the road and many others nearby. The hotel is not too far from the Hauptbanhof and there is a taxi rank just around the corner. We loved Berlin and the Circus Hotel was the ideal place to to enhance our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stimmo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This has to be one of the best hotel experiences I’ve had. I booked the Junior Suite for my partners birthday back in November of last year for three nights. Not only did the room exceed all my expectations but the hotel in general was the most comfortable, decent and friendly experience you could ask for. For starters our room was fantastic. It was spotlessly clean and so spacious. The bathroom alone was larger than most hotel rooms I’ve slept in and all fixtures, fittings and furnishings were of a high standard. Incredible value for money.

We arrived very late the first evening and being a bit too tired to venture out the reception suggested we eat in their restaurant. The food was fantastic, in fact it was the best meal we ate during our entire weekend there, and that includes visiting some pretty highly rated places. Even our nightcap with a cocktail in the bar was a great experience as the barman friendly chatted away to us as if we’d known him for years.

The staff couldn’t do enough for you and every question was answered with a positive, informative and patient reply. I even overheard a rather old Gentlemen who was barely audible trying to enquire about travel on the U-Bahn and watched as the receptionist patiently listened and concentrated over and over again for about quarter of an hour until he had managed to help him and his wife feel secure and knowledgeable about their travel.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel for your stay in Berlin. It’s central, clean, atmospheric, friendly, smart, environmentally conscious and serves great food. They even have live music in the bar on a Friday night! What more could you ask for with a city stay that provides location, fantastic service and value for money?

The owners of this place have really got this right.

Room Tip: Junior Suite on the higher floor is spacious and quiet and for the little extra cost so worth it.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TE_GIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just spent a weekend in berlin for the Festival of Lights.....stayed at the Circus Hotel. Had a very pleasant stay.

The hotel is well situated in the eastern side of berlin and the U Bahn station is literally outside the front door. It is a relatively recent refurbished building and is tastefully fitted out. It is clean and with modern lines. The staff are very friendly, thanks to Clemens for all the photography location tips!

Would definitely recommend it for a stay in Berlin.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aidan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at the Circus Hotel 7 nights last week (October). The room was very comfortable, roomy, plenty of hot water, very clean. We had a room facing the courtyard which was very quiet. The staff at the front desk were all nice and helpful. The only thing lacking in our room was a dresser. There is a small open closet with 2 shelves (the in room safe is located on one of the shelves), so for the week we kept our suitcase on the small bench at the end of the bed and lived out of that. Just a small dresser with a couple of draws would have helped. Also a word about the location. It was right by the U-bahn station and getting from the airport to the hotel using the bus and train was easy. The public transit system is really good and if that is your preferred method of travel then the location is great. We did use the trains, but we prefer to walk. Berlin is a compact city but the sidewalks are cobblestone and Circus is just a few blocks further away from the heart of the action than I liked. Many evenings, after being out all day sightseeing the last 3 or 4 blocks to the hotel were a tough walk. On the plus side there are a lot of good restaurants in the area and a self-serve bakery across the street.for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews