We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #10 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed in a 2 room apartment on 4th floor of the hotel, Monday-Friday. Large bathroom, well equipt kitchen, living area with sofa, table/chairs, TV, radio and double bedroom. No problems with noise (I'm usually a light sleeper and wear earplugs but did not need them for this trip). Only complaint- no full length mirror...just a smaller one in bathroom.

Good cafe bar/restaurant downstairs. Tried the buffet breakfast - very good. Enjoyed lunch there another day.

Reception staff friendly but the only information given on arrival was about breakfast times. I asked for a map, helped myself to toiletries and the travel cards we read about here had run out by the time we mentioned them.

Great location. Would also recommend the B Flat jazz club & Ramones museum very nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepper45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,237 - 1,243 of 2,642 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just got back from our first stay at the Circus Hotel in Berlin and loved every minute of it. From the minute you enter the hotel you are greeted by extremely welcoming, knowledgable and professional staff who went out of their way to help. (A big thank you to Michael and all his useful Berlin tips).
The hotel is in a great location with easy access to the underground (right outside doorway), or a short walk to Alexander Platz with lots of great shops on the way. The food was amazing, all locally sourced and organic (try the Schnitzel).
Berlin is a great city with so much to see and do, will definately be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was our first time in Berlin and the Circus Hotel couldn't be better! Exceptional service (they anticipated my every request), great restaurant (perfect for late afternoon coffee/people-watching), and better rooms than most European hotels. Location is fantastic - East Berlin is the place to stay. Many special features - free guest lecture on living memories of divided city, free tours and free jazz on the weekend. Can' wait to return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elyse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent 4 nights, 9-10 thru 9-14 at this great hotel. After landing in Berlin, a convienent bus ride from the airport to an underground stop, we arrived at Rosenthal Plaza, came up the stairs from the subway, and the hotel was right there.
Completely renovated, our room, albeit not a suite, was a courtyard view, recommended for the lack of street noise, large, king bed, gorgeous redone bath that was spacious in beautiful tiles, and a walk in shower with ample hot wanter and excellent pressure. The Staff was friendly, although one gentleman on the desk could have been a bit more helpful. He seemed wanting to be done with us quickly, although there were no others around. The rest of the staff was friendly, helpful, speaking fluent English, and demostrating an excellent knowledge of the city and how to get around. While we had several things planed to see, they help to put them in perspective on how to seen them in the time we had there. Do check the internet, as our room was only $100 euros a night!
The restaurants in the area were excellent, although the hotel does have a lovely one, serving a lovely buffet for 8 euros which is well worth it. Wonderful breads, meats, cheeses, cerals, yogurts, plenty to start your day with a well rounded breakfast!
Do try "Do Do's", a Thai restaurant right around the corner, make sure to make reservations as it is incredibly popular for very good reasons, some of the best Tai we have had in a long while.
You'll find Berlin easy to get around, the people helpful, in not overly friendly at first, they are usually willing to help you as most know several languages, including English.
The sights are incredible, the history is staggering, and humble all at once. Do go, you will not regret the trip at all!

Room Tip: ask for a courtyard room, as the noise on the street may be a bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in September 2012

Good location only 2 stops from Alexanderplatz, one of the main station hubs. Right on the corner of a junction, so close to local food outlets and the subway Rosenthaler Platz. My husband highly recommends a drunken kebab from the take away shop right outside the hotel. During the week the hotel bar was fairly quiet so we checked out Goldman's Bar in the Circus Hostel (open until 2am) which had great atmosphere, good prices and sells 2 litre beers in a giant glass boot. Free wifi is always a plus at both establishments.

Our room was a junior suite and really nice.

We ate one night in the hotel restaurant and the food was great. The roof terrace honesty bar was good but space is quite small. You'll find the local take away shops sell beer by the bottle very cheap e.g we found one across the road from the Circus hostel selling Warstiener by the bottle for 1 euro 40 cents bargain right!

The only negative side was no airconditioning however, we understand its a Green Hotel, this means opening the windows to a busy traffic junction so you do hear the noise. We slept with the windows closed at night (which completely blocks out the noise) and the rooms do have fans so no problems for us. If you are staying during the colder months the rooms do have wall heaters.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cth1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a junior suite and loved it. The team on reception were fantastic making us welcome from first to last contact. Lots of assistance about getting around and things to see and do.

Our room was very large and comfortable - it even had a lounge and coffee table- and very clean. The bed was comfortable and we slept very well. Our room overlooked an inner court yard so was very quiet which was good as we had the windows open a lot as the rooms was not air conditioned and did get a bit warm (although there is a fan in the room). This could be a problem if you are staying here during hot weather but the temperature for us was less than 21 celcius.

The hotel has one of the U Bahn stations right in front of the building so getting around was very easy. It was also very quick and simple to get there from Tegel Airport using 1 bus and 1 train (the instructions from the Circus on how to do it were clear and easy to follow) and it took us less than 45 minutes.

Our only small criticism was the lack of a fridge in the room. Other than that it was perfect. We would certainly recommend it and would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: Go for a junior suite if you can afford the little extra cost $110 Euro per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robbo_from_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here because of TA ranking. Prime location with great staff. From time of booking we received all information we needed to ensure our journey to hotel was easy. We booked junior suite - perfectly clean room/ bathroom + the beds are very comfy. Enjoyed our stay +would readily recommend to others

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank r4reilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,940 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
554 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#2 of 634 in Berlin
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#9 of 634 in Berlin
1,285 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Berlin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $106 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing