We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it”
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #12 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
WIgan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just returned from a weekend in berlin and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the city.
Great location 2 stops on the subway from one of the main squares Alexandra platz. Lots of local amenities inc bakeries, pubs, mini marts etc. Nice relaxed neighbourhood, fine to wander at night.
Very comfy bed, our room was at the back so very quiet and twinned with the blackout curtain ensured a full restful nights sleep.
It was warm in our room 25 degrees and no air con but a desk fan through the night kept us comfortable. We stayed in a standard double room, not economic.
Plenty storage space, excellent shower and very clean and modern decor.
Ate in local bakeries and cafes rather than hotel to save on pennies but this isn't a reflection on what looked like nice food if ou don't mind paying extra for convenience.
Nice bar and good local German beer on draught.
Didn't eat in the hotel at night either due to too many plentiful options in the city.
If I was to go back to Berlin I would stay here again, comfortable, great location and reasonably priced for a city centre hotel.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms a the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoochKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,933
    535
    83
    10
    5
See reviews for
290
1,424
184
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We chose the Circus Hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. Stayed 3 nights and loved every moment of it. They obviously feed the staff a special pill because they are all so polite, extremely helpful, and obviously love their jobs. We gather the rooms on the road were quite noisy. There is nothing else to add really except a couple of good restaurants. Transito is a small red-fronted Chinese Restaurant about 50 metres down Rosenhaler Strasse on the other side of the road. It can look full but there is a fast turnover and you don’t have to wait long. SophienEcke is a couple of blocks away around the back of the hotel on the corner of Sophien Strasse and GrosseHamburger Strasse. They serve large pub meals. Both provide excellent quality food and are extremely good value. The latte from the hotel café was the best and biggest I had in Berlin

Room Tip: Make sure you get an internal room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Credo505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Circus Hotel for four nights during our trip around Europe. The hotel was in a great location, with an underground station literally just outside the front door. The room was extremely clean and comfortable - exactly what we were looking for considering the small amount of time spent in the room.

The staff were great, always extremely helpful with our queries and happy to help out with restaurant bookings and public travel tickets. The hotel restaurant was very nice for a drink and food. The price was very reasonable - especially after coming from the expensive prices of Paris.

I would certainly recommend this hotel for a stay in Berlin - when we come back we will be staying here again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

One of the best hotels I've stayed at in Europe.
The Circus is located right next to Rosenthaler Platz Ubahn station, although many of the sights, including the Jewish quarter and Museum Island, are within easy walking distance. The hotel has a very strong green ethos. They also have a hostel across the square. The staff are very helpful. The hotel has monthly transport pass which you can rent per day, I strongly recommend using this as it is a great way of getting about.
The key to this hotel is its great value. You would struggle to get a hotel of this standard for the same price in any other major city in Europe. Its quirky and modern. Each room is individually designed, so no two rooms are the same. The room we had was very spacious. Good shower. Free wifi, and unlike a lot of places offering free wifi it was easy to connect. There's a bar / restaurant downstairs. We had breakfast there every morning. There's the usual buffet with continental meats and cheeses. We also ate there one evening, and the food was very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hackenabush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Circus has a very young vibe but should be attractive to anyone seeking affordable accommodation in Berlin. Small lobby but decent restaurant and b'fast area
Free wireless, reasonable priced & excellent b'fast buffet (8 euro), rather small but comfortable rooms with very nice bathrooms. Interesting decor not at all a corporate hotel.
Our only advice would be to book a room facing the courtyard as outside rooms facing the street can be quite noisy.
Staff are very very accommodating. Suggest you rent from the desk a day pass for the bus/tram @ 4.50 per day versus paying as you go.
Limited underground parking is available 3 blks away at their apartment property for 15 euro per day --- well worth it as parking is at a premium.
Check out the Al Contadino Italian restauant 2 blks away... outstanding!!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the courtyard as the outside rooms facing the street can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 505sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nights for a long weekend break and could not have chosen a better location or discovered a better hotel for the price. I booked online a few months in advance and also confirmed by phone. Could not have been easier or more helpful - excellent English spoken by all staff. On arrival, before the room was ready - we had a helpful introduction and were immediately made to feel welcome. Leaving bags securely was no trouble - they had even been taken up to the room when we returned after initial sightseeing. Reception staff advised us on the best travelcard deals and rented us a monthly pass - even making sure we got the "two for one" deal for weekend days. The room was very clean and spacious and shower gel and shampoo all provided in eco-friendly products. Fan supplied was needed as weather actually hot! Safe and electrical sockets all worked. No tea / coffee in room but available by quick room service. Superb ground floor cafe / restaurant / bar with a lovely courtyard and different seating areas. Excellent continental breakfast for 8 euros served 7am to 1pm with unlimited tea and coffee for all of that time period! Even if you go out for the morning and return before 1pm you still get the free tea / coffee from the breakfast buffet. We didn't try the evening meal menu but it looked delicious. Instead we had very good local restaurant recommendations which we thoroughly enjoyed. This hotel is right above Rosenthaller Platz, but was quiet at night. The U-bahn station is very handy and easy to use and room to train was about 5 mins. Considering we enjoyed afternoon tea and cake, late evening drinks and the breakfasts in addition to a great double room for 3 nights plus the travelcards - the total bill was less than £300. Berlin itself was fascinating and surpassed expectations - see other reviews. We would hope to go back one day - and will certainly stay here again. The team here really know how to deliver good service - a thoroughly deserved high rating.

Room Tip: Don't worry - even rooms overlooking the Rosenthaller Platz were quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Metafaculty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My active 69 y/o mother, my wife and kids and I loved this place! You would think it's only for the hip young ones, but the Hotel side caters very well to all the generations. The location is fantastic! The vibe in the hotel, starting from the staff, to the wonderful pub, Fabisch, felt invigorating. Sitting outside in a relaxing patio, listening to the Cure remix, having a Dunkel Bier and talking with your spouse alone about the day while the kids are occupied in the room upstairs... priceless!

Being the planner, I was nervous about getting reservations, but 3 months prior to our stay, the staff was excellent with the email communication and everything went smoothly. This may be a testament to TripAdvisor, but of the two hotels I reserved with TripAdvisor recommendations versus the one my travel agent reserved... I should have done all three hotels.

Lastly... Do the Jimbo's Cheapman's BusTour. We've done too many city tours and this was by far the best city tour of them all! Stuffy city tour guides hell bent on giving you their side of history starting in the early 200AD's would never tell you about the hotel Michael Jackson stuck his kid out the window or the different types of music the Scandinavian countries play in their embassy. We were rolling!!

Thank you Circus Hotel! We loved Berlin and it all started with you!

Room Tip: Family of 5 with a grandmother? You can go with 2 triples, but Apt 101 with an extra bed at less tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighMakaMaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,788 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 634 in Berlin
2,200 reviews
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 634 in Berlin
977 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Property: The Circus Hotel
Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HRS, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing