We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably everything has already been said about this hotel - but....”
Review of The Circus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Circus Hotel
Ranked #12 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Probably everything has already been said about this hotel - but....”
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We are not the kind of people who look for luxury. Rather we look for quality represented in good service atmosphere and the special touches. Thats what you will find at the Circus Hotel. Despite the modern and sometimes unusual design, This hotel has a lovely warm and friendly atmosphere, Staff are extremely helpful and they try and think of everything that a traveller might want. Need the use of a laptop, they'll bring one to your room, need a reservation,,, they'll do it. Nothing is too much trouble.
Attached to the lobby is a nice cafe/restaurant that doubles at breakfast, they also have a corner with a library and the use of ipods with head sets. I think there is room service at no extra charge
In their brochure they mention their environmental/social awareness. Also impressed by their tribute to the family who owned the building but had been murdered in second world war. Here's the quirky part, as the hotel tries to be environmentally aware so take bottles of shampoo and shower gel as you need it from a shelf near reception.

Each bedroom is individually designed. Our room was not that big and our room was on first floor facing a busy junction. We heard the traffic outside but not bad enough to disturb our sleep. Next time, I would ask for inner room or perhaps higher up. Only criticism was lack of cupboard space. Large shower - great!!
Walking distance to Museum Island, underground station close by.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,936
    535
    83
    10
    5
See reviews for
291
1,426
184
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, CA
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I spent eight days in Berlin in April 2011, and chose the Circus based on the great reviews here on Trip Advisor. The Circus lived up to its billing, and I’m not sure how much more I can add that hasn’t been said already.

As others have noted, this is not a luxury hotel. However, it does not feel like a “budget” hotel, although you will be paying a “budget” price. It was refreshing for me to stay in a non –chain hotel that did not cater to the business traveler and did not nickel and dime you for every little thing like the big chains typically do.

The first thing to note about the Circus is that the location is great. The Rosenthaler Strasse location is in a vibrant neighborhood, with lots of interesting shops and restaurants everywhere you look. It also borders the very trendy Prenzlauer Berg neighborhood where there are lots more interesting shops and restaurants. The Circus has a U-Bahn stop right in front of it, and it is only about a 10 minute walk to the Hackescher Markt S-Bahn stop which is really handy for getting around town quickly and for making a day-trip to Potsdam. I felt that by staying at the Circus you really got to experience Berlin’s more unique neighborhoods and not just seeing the major attractions as most tourists do, without really getting to know the city in depth.

The staff at the Circus were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very comfortable but as others have noted, are on the small side (but with great showers). I had a standard double room. I was by myself; but if my husband had been with me I would have paid the extra 10 euro and gotten the junior suite just to have more room. While a standard double was fine for me, I was happy I did not get a single or Double Economy room.

I did not eat in the hotel restaurant; as there were so many places in the neighborhood. I particularly recommend Monsieur Vong, Chen Che (right down the street on Rosenthaler) and Babel about five blocks up on Kastanienallee in Prenzlauer Berg. For breakfast, there is the Back Bakery chain, located across the street. Good selection of pastries, rolls, sandwiches and very reasonably priced.

Another advantage of the Circus is the free Wi-Fi and a place to do laundry almost right across the street. The only negative thing I can say about the Circus is there is very poor lighting for reading at night, but I have found this to be true at many other hotels as well.

To summarize, a great hotel in a great city! I hope to return to Berlin sooner rather than later and will stay at the Circus again! I only wish this hotel had other locations elsewhere in Europe!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurora100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thundridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

My wife and I spend four nights at the Circus hotel and were extremely impressed. I won't go into all the individual strong points which are written far more articulately by other reviewers but what stood out was how small details made for an enhanced experience. Little things like free apples on reception and getting a travel pass cheaper through the rent system made this a totally stress free stay. The only complaint would be the rooms can be quite stuffy as windows must be closed at night due to noise but that is a small price to pay for a fantastic location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomPattison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

As all reviews have said, The Circus deserves its ratings. From arrival to departure the service in this small but very modern hotel can't be faulted. The front of house staff are at least bilingual but also trained to perfection (they should start up a training school cos I can think of a few hotels that need to send their staff there!). We had a junior suite which was really good (especially the shower!). The area is perfect for vsiting Berlin as it is near all public transport-again, excellent. Also in the area there are enough bars and restaurants to visit plus it has a very arty feel to it. We picked up two of the Brewer Tours (look for separate reviews) which are well worth it! We didn't go with the buffet breakfast-lots of other places around to find cheap eats and my only small moan is that the towels were very small and thin! (and I'm not!!) But this is nothing in comparison to the big picture-The Circus Hotel is top!

Room Tip: Get a travel pass from front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

After reading all of the reviews from other guests I had to book with this hotel. The staff, food, atmosphere the whole experience was wonderful! My husband lived in Germany for many years and said this was the best hotel he has ever stayed at in Berlin. The only complaint I have is that they did not have us in the system. I was sitting in our room when I got the email that they were sorry we didn't make it??? It was a minor thing of course. We loved our room! The staff spoke beautiful English, recommended us to great places to eat and have drinks. Everything is in walking distance. In their elevator it has updated information going on in the hotel and surrounding areas regarding tours. We took one of the tours and it was GREAT! The breakfast is a must also!!! Book this hotel for your stay in Berlin!!! It's awesome!!!

Room Tip: Junior Suite was just right for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klbterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Brilliant hotel, fantastic staff, great location and lovely room! Best hotel I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewanderer2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Just got back from Berlin, and we had booked The Circus based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. From the very first moment we walked in the door, till the moment we left, we were treated to the very best service. The staff were great, the room (101) was fantastic. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmgrhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,798 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Casa Camper Berlin
Casa Camper Berlin
#3 of 634 in Berlin
979 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#11 of 634 in Berlin
2,217 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hotel

Property: The Circus Hotel
Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Business Hotel in Berlin
#58 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Circus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the Circus Hotel continues our tradition of a friendly welcome to Berlin, and has been designed to reflect our commitments to hospitality, individuality and sustainability. At the Circus Hotel you will not only find comfortable accommodation, but also a range of services and lots of recommendations to make your stay in our wonderful city truly special. Along many other things we offer a tablet in each room, bike rental, a garden courtyard, roof terrace and exlusive events and tours put together by our lovely staff. Of course we also provide free Wi-Fi throughout the building. On the ground floor you find our partners Commonground who offer breakfast until as late as 4pm, and tasty tapas and drinks in the evenings. You can also just relax in the salon or browse through some records or the library. We look forward to welcoming you to the Circus Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HRS, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Circus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing