We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Nearby Hotels
$114
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$223
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$183
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$130
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
$114
$103
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$59
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$459
$349
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$158
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$167
$131
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,213)
Filter reviews
2,214 results
Traveler rating
943
957
233
50
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
943
957
233
50
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschurch bellstram stopgreat hotelminutes walk from alexanderplatzfree wifitrams and busesdeluxe roomconcierge deskprenzlauer bergmini fridgepublic transportaround the cornercity breakthe hotel is cleanbreakfast was excellentnice barhotel bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
776 - 781 of 2,214 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Family xmas holiday , in Berlin for the first time and Leonardo Royal Berlin rated pretty well when researched. Location is a bit remote until you've got the hang of the transport system and you will have to use it in all of its forms - trams , subway and light railway to get into any of the tourist areas. Rooms are good and the staff are excellent , five stars to Dan & Theodora on the front desk who went the extra mile for us . However bearing in mind that this is a hotel in the old east German police headquarters it is not unsurprising that the bar , restaurant etc are totally devoid of atmosphere - think airport hotel - which is a shame in such a vibrant city. Practical tips - avoid rooms near the church and the manic bell ringers and early morning bin men . Locality is very bland , all high rise and few restaurants etc and that you are a fair distance from civilisation . Stay there again ? Business trip yes , special occasion no.

Room Tip: Avoid the side facing the big church .
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Comfortable basic hotel let down by the staff. We were not able to get a cup of coffee at 23:30 at the bar, two nights running. When I complained at reception they did not want to know. Shall not be back.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights
It is located well , and easy to get to and from. The hotel is quiet and clean and rooms are very small but sufficient
They DON’T offer free Wi-Fi but there is a nice café [Melis] 50 meters from the hotel that have free Wi-Fi and good coffee and muffins
We had 3 complaints:
1. I have sent a mail months before check in and asked for 1 big bed for 2 people, specifically asked not to get 2 single beds- but that was what we got .
And they didn't even have frame connecting them, meaning they moved and did not stay connected to each other .
This was very disappointing, since I received a mail from the hotel saying we will have 1 bed and not 2.
2. The hitting did NOT work in the room , as a remedy the desk people brought us a small hitter that blows hot air
it was not sufficient, and at night we had little sleep because of the cold.
3. We asked the concierge how to get to the Brandenburg Tor for the new year party, she said to take the 200 buss - but it was a horrible advice. The Bus dropped us all at Alexander Platz and we had to walk for 1.5 hours to the entrance that was near Potsdam Platz . She should have told us to take the U bahn!! This was very hard walk in the cold and she should have checked before telling people this wrong info.

Room Tip: make sure the hitting works
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The good-
Spotless clean

Friendly staff

Lovely bar

Cosy

Near the tram and alexanderplatz

The bad-
Worst pillows I EVER slept on

Rooms were like a sauna and I woke up with a headache 2 nights. Had to have window open and it was -4 outside. We honestly nearly died with the heat.

5.90€ per hour for wifi (IS THIS HOTEL SERIOUS?)

Church bells beside hotel would wake the dead and walls are thin (could hear snoring from room adjacent)

A long walk (2-3k) across lots of busy intersections to centre (river area)

Rooms small

Overall at 115€ you could do much better if you book early but having said that its a lovely new hotel and its 15 walk to alexanderplatz, tv tower , subway.
The likes of Brandenburg gate is about 1 hr walk and checkpoint Charlie is about 1 hr 20mins (if you are a good walker)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mcdevient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I just returned from 3 excellent days and 2 nights in Berlin. I stayed at the Leonardo Royal Hotel in Berlin. It's just a brisk walk or 3 bus stops from Alexanderplatz and one can see the TV Tower from the hotel. The beds were comfortable, everything was new and clean, it was really quiet, we could check in early and the breakfeast has all you need. The staff are also very friendly and accomodating. I would definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maximilliano2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews