We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with some overpriced services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Ranked #89 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It's a quality hotel within walking distance from Alexanderplatz (15 minutes), so location is good. Rooms (regular ones) are ok, not big but with lots of natural light. Mine was facing the back of the hotel, so it was very quiet. Staff are nice and helpful, which is great.

We got a reasonable price for our stay through the hotel website but, once we arrived, we found that the charges for services were too high. Example: breakfast has a regular rate of 19 euro per person, although there was a "special offer" of 14 euro per person if booked at check-in. Honestly, that is too much for any breakfast (this one was good, but not worth such a price). Another example: room service has good food but an extra charge of 4 €. Final example: internet connection costs 11,90 € per 24 h at a 256 kbps, which is waaaaay too expensive.

In the end, if you get a good price for your room, it's a good choice for sleeping, but I suggest you go for breakfast to the bakery across the street in Am Friedrichshain (it has free wifi) and have lunch and dinner in restaurants nearby (there is the nice Pizzeria Fontana della Favola by the bakery and if you walk along Greifstrasse there are several places to eat. I recommend Asia Tiger!).

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the church in front of the hotel, unless you want the bells to wake you up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucreciamott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 759 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel is ok. but once you scratch the surface it falls through. If you expect what they say that they deliver, you will be disappointed.they weren't unplaisant in any way, but for the price i would recommend going many other places. I advise you to find another hotel.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johan3678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael P, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear johan3678,

thank you very much for taking the time to inform us about your experience during your stay at the Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz. We completely understand your displeasure and truly apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. We regret that we could not meet your expectations and wishes und would like to assure you that the situations you encountered are not our standard.

We took note of all the points you mentioned and have already started a thorough internal check.

We would be very glad if you considered giving us a second chance and let us provide the excellent service we are known for. Should you want to reserve a room or have any wishes or inqueries, we are always at your disposal. Please do not hesitate to contact us.

With best regards,

Michael Posch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great service, very good food. I try to avoid eating in hotels, but in Leonardo food was very good. I was spending most of my time in hotel during the conference I was attending. Rooms are not big, but very comfortable. Conference room was very well equiped. Service was excellent. I was impressed with the service. Staff is very professional and when I had an issue they were very helpful and very willing to help out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Close to alexander platz= mall, restorants, transportation.
New hotel, modern, great rooms, very clean.
Very tasty breakfast, lots of things.
The front desk was very helping with all of are questions about where and how to travel the city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shanim_nim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very convenient location, close to public transportation and next door to a beautiful park ideal for a walk after breakfast! Comfortable and clean room, friendly staff. Stephanie was an exceptional concierge and answered all of our questions, plus gave us maps to get around, suggested various sights and directed us to a nearby restaurant so we could experience the "local cuisine". We weren't disappointed. The hotel restaurant was very nice as well. Breakfast was really great with a wide variety of offerings. Would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irishlady3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Have been in this hotel for business trip, walking distance to Alexander Platz in the hearth of Berlin. Room was nice and comfortable, breakfast pretty good with lots of foods.
Nice gym and sauna on the roof, there is also a nice park for your morning run.
Pretty good also the bar, had couple of nice cocktails. Price for night was reasonable because there was a special rates with my company.
In summary good quality hotel, pretty good value for money.

Room Tip: chose a room not close to the elevator and stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giomaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Excellent Hotel, staff very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge desk. Good location . Excellent breakfast. Couldn't have asked for more. Didn't use the bar so unable to comment on that, just didn't have time. Rooms clean and very comfortable. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Schoneberg
LINDEMANN'S
LINDEMANN'S
#37 of 634 in Berlin
720 reviews
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
#86 of 634 in Berlin
2,917 reviews
Mitte
Park Inn by Radisson Berlin Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Address: Otto-Braun-Strasse 90, 10249 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $70 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz 4.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique. Purist. Elegant. The 4* Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin welcomes you few steps away from the famous Alexanderplatz. Upon your arrival in the spacious lobby, you will experience a symbiosis of historical architecture and contemporary designer furniture, framed in a subtle and harmonious colour concept. The hotel, offering FREE Wi-Fi, a restaurant, bar/lounge, 1.000 m² conference area, and 346 rooms and suites, is crowned by an exclusive wellness area on the seventh floor with breathtaking views over Alexanderplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing