We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best beds I've ever slept in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Ranked #90 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The hotel is aimed more at the business person and the prices reflect that in the minibar and room service costs, however if you can get the room on a cheaper rate (we used Expedia and got it for £40 per night) then I would fully recommend!

The hotel staff spoke excellent English and we had no problems with communication. We were checked in quickly.

The room was spotless and what you would expect for a 4* - The Tv was huge, the bathroom was clean and modern and the bed was great!

Location - It is a short walk from Alexanderplatz but if your'e dragging luggage around with you it may be better to hop on the M4 tram at Alexanderplatz heading in the direction of Falkenberg and get off at 'Am Friedrichshain' which is 3 or 4 stops on.
You will see the hotel from there but if you don't, it is next to the large church!

People have said that the church bells are loud and can wake you up - Our room was overlooking the church and the bells didn't seem to start until 8am ish and even then they were not that loud...

There are not many shops near the hotel so I suggest you pick up any drinks and snacks from the shops at Alexanderplatz and bring them back...

There are a few restaurants near by, we used 'Las Malvinas' which is a Steakhouse around the corner. The food was great, cheap and the staff spoke excellent English and even had English menu's!

I would definitely return to the hotel if I am in Berlin again but only if I got it at a cheap rate. I would not pay business rates as a tourist.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelwood89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,022)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 2,022 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

the hotel is quite new and the property is well maintained/
front office staff have a service problem. some can be very helpfull and service oriented, while at times others do you a favour by trying to help you asa little as possible.
breakfast is good . smoked gravelax appeared one day, and then dissappeared.
house keeping staff entered my room wiyh out knocking on the door.
room is very basic and certainly not of a " superior 4* standard/
towels are small and thin and toiletries are of a very low standard( encluding toilet paper)
if you are looking for low price- this hotel will suite you.

Room Tip: try to get a room on 4th or 5 th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eliyahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Just returned from three nights at this hotel for a pre-Christmas city break. Having stayed here previously on two other occassions I knew what to expect. Excellent value for money. Staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are very comfortable, clean and modern. Hotel is in good location for Alexanderplatz and the Mitte area, not too close to the main area to be noisy, but only a short walk away.

Third visit to this hotel now, and have been impressed each time. Would definitely recommend it and be very happy to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lessthanlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights for the Christmas markets.

Ros are nice with typical German minimalistic design, only complaint would be needs a few more draws

The staff, service and food are excellent and the room service/bar menu are very reasonable, buffet breakfasts were really nice too with lots of choice

Located 5 minutes walk from alexanderplatz and underground/railways stations, walked into town and back day and night, very safe never felt concerned about security

Wonderful helpful staff, don't believe what you read about so called "unfriendly Berliners" we found everyone to be happy, helpful and welcoming

Would definitely stay again if we come back to Berlin, great value for money and great hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalcolmW648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Arriving to Berlin by car, so taken in mind we needed to pass a long way to come to town centre. Nevertheless, the location is more than good, you can go very easily to Alexanderplatz with famous Berlin Tower or continue to Museum Island. I was able to see out 2 rooms and both were great with some realy designed things. The breakfast is lovely. However, the hotel charges quite a lot for wifi connection (approx. 12 EUR a day) and parking, but the stay is great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin Č
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed 3 nights, good location. Very clean, breakfast good. Will stay there again if we ever go back to Berlin. Room modern design, odd thing was no overflow in sink so no plug to run bowl of water for a wet shave! Wifi costs €5.90 for 1 hour, cheaper using mobile provider roaming charges.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank userLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on our recent trip and really couldn't believe our luck when we found this hotel at such a competitive rate.

We were slightly concerned when we got there to see we were right on a main road, but I can honestly say we did not hear the traffic once. The room was huge with the biggest bed I have ever slept on and large flatscreen TV. The fittings were all modern and it was an extremely comfortable place to relax.

The service was excellent and when we had a minor accident involving red wine and white bedsheets, we had new sheets brought to our room in less than a minute after calling reception!

Alexanderplatz is the nearest metro about 10 minutes walk away and the tram goes right past the front of the hotel.

Only warning is to avoid the bar as it's very expensive, so you would be better off taking a stroll to Alexanderplatz or Kollwitzplatz for drinks or food

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in a room on the other side of the hotel and were woken by church bells at 9am ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank growler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Park Inn by Radisson Berlin Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,884 reviews
Schoneberg
LINDEMANN'S
LINDEMANN'S
#38 of 635 in Berlin
693 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Address: Otto-Braun-Strasse 90, 10249 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $79 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz 4.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique. Purist. Elegant. The 4* Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin welcomes you few steps away from the famous Alexanderplatz. Upon your arrival in the spacious lobby, you will experience a symbiosis of historical architecture and contemporary designer furniture, framed in a subtle and harmonious colour concept. The hotel, offering FREE Wi-Fi, a restaurant, bar/lounge, 1.000 m² conference area, and 346 rooms and suites, is crowned by an exclusive wellness area on the seventh floor with breathtaking views over Alexanderplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing