We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best stay we've had at the Axel, be prepared for staff to walk into your room without knocking.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Axel Hotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Axel Hotel Berlin
Ranked #183 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not the best stay we've had at the Axel, be prepared for staff to walk into your room without knocking.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was the third time we've stayed at the Axel and it's one of our favourite hotels in Berlin. Unfortunately this wasn't the best experience and we'd definitely look at what else is available next time we're in the city.

Firstly, the location is still amazing- unbeatable in my opinion. It's in our favourite neighbourhood and is a short (less than 3 minute) walk from Wittenbergplatz station and the KaDeWe.

Our previous have stays at the Axel have been really enjoyable (read previous reviews).

Check in was quick and the guy on reception was very friendly, and there was free WIFI available. We were checked into room 412 and despite booking a double room the bed was made up of two single beds pushed together and the bedding consisting two single duvets. This was not only bizarre but uncomfortable as the beds kept moving apart and forming a gap between them.

The rooms are starting to look a little worn (dirty bathroom walls, scuffed wallpaper) but are of a decent size (for a city hotel) and are generally pleasant. The room had a jacuzzi tub which was nice, however upon turning it on a large hairball of long hair was pumped into the bath (not nice).

One of the reasons we choose this hotel is because of it's spa area on the top floor (being able to steam, sauna and jacuzzi whilst looking a the city over the rooftops of Berlin). However this visit was a bit of a let down. The steam room was only working once during our whole stay, and the sauna didn't work on occasion.

Toward the end of our stay we had been experiencing wonderful Berlin all day and arrived back at the hotel at around 17:30 only to find that the cleaner was still cleaning our room. I have never experienced that in any hotel, and after a busy day we just wanted to relax and not have to wait 20 minutes for our room to be cleaned.

By far the most shocking incidents during our stay was cleaning staff walking into our room without knocking and this happened TWICE.. each with different staff. This seems to be a regular occurrence and as there's not chain locks at the Axel there's no way to stop it.

So in brief the location is fantastic but after this experience which didn't match the other times we stayed here, we may look elsewhere next time we're in Berlin.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise then i'd request a room at the back of the hotel (as the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danhnq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelhotelBerlin, Leiter Front Office at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear danhnq,
thank you very much for coming back to us and taking the time to write a detailed comment here on tripadvisor. We are always happy to see our guests again. Please let me assure you, I talked to the colleagues responsible for cleaning and this will not happen again. I would be very glad to see you again in Axel Hotel Berlin on your next stay to show you your comment means a lot to us and we are always trying to improve. Best regards, Christoph Michel, Front Office Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    568
    284
    116
    79
See reviews for
17
663
379
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Axel Hotel Berlin is an excellent hotel - central location, very friendly staff, room very clean, great spa area - one of the best hotels i've stayed in Berlin.
Good value for money, and good communication from hotel before and after visit !
Will stay at this hotel again for sure.
very highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martyn v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelhotelBerlin, Leiter Front Office at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear martyn v v,
thank you so much for your comment here on tripadvisor. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay and will come back. Your words show us that we are doing everything right. We will be glad to see you again soon at Axel Hotel Berlin! Best regards, Christoph Michel, Front Office Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hotel rooms are designed as rooms in most of short-stay hotels found around the world operated primarily for the purpose of allowing couples privacy for sexual activities. There is no single chair in the room or any type of desk. If you want to use laptop or read a book, it has to be in bed. Annoyingly, pillows are very lousy - soft and small - and it is impossible to have a solid support behind your back if you want to sit in the bed.

Open shower/tub area looks cool, though it is impractical. One has to be extremely careful while taking shower in order not to flood room with the water.

Cleaning staff is entering into rooms without properly checking whether guests are in the room or not; i.e. knocking on the door and opening at the same time. It happened twice within a day.

Hotel bar is closing at 11:00 pm. On Friday, Jan 04, we and another couple, also staying at hotel, wanted to order a drink at 10:40. Bartender flatly refused to serve us with excuse that he has to clean the bar before closing and there is no enough time left. We then decided to sit and chat without drink. However, we were not allowed to do that either. We were send to the area across reception at which only 2 people can sit together, not 4. Finally, we had to go out in order to sit together and have a drink. Of note, none of us was intoxicated or noisy; all of us are professionals, 3 in our 50-ies and one in his 30-ies.

On a positive side, the receptionist who was working morning shifts during our stay (forgot his name) was very helpful and overly professional.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darkknightsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelhotelBerlin, Leiter Front Office at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear darkknightsf,
first of all I would like to thank you for your detailed comment here on tripadvisor and of course for choosing us while staying in Berlin.
For us it is very important to make the stay of our guests unforgettable and great. We are always trying to help every guest with every wish he or she might have. The standard rooms indeed are quite small compared to a junior suite for example but as you already mentioned this is normal for a city hotel. Of course this is always a question of taste and the view. If there is a problem like the one with the pillows we could have easily solved it by bringing more pillows to your room. Please note, if you are not satisfied with anything and tell us about it we will always give our best to help you and solve the problem. I would be very happy if you could give us another chance to show you this on your next stay in Berlin. Best regards, Christoph Michel, Front Office Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stay in the Axel for a few days each December now and will definitely be returning again this year. The hotel is well situated, very close to the gay scene as well as the shopping precinct in Berlin. I have to say though, on this trip, I have two minor complaints. The shower did not drain and we had to use all the towels to soak up the water or else the carpets would have been soaked, I reported this, but nothing was done to rectify it. We really enjoy the hotel bar, but they seemed to run out of every wine we chose which was slightly annoying. Apart from that, the rooms are comfortable and well appointed and the Spa is lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelhotelBerlin, Leiter Front Office at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Ian L,
thank you very much for your comment and the nice words here on tripadvisor. I am very happy you chose the Axel Hotel Berlin again for your stay in Berlin. This decission is showing us we are doing well and we will of course continue with it. It is always nice to see familiar faces. Also we know about the other points you mentioned and already found a few solutions. We will be glad to see you again on your next stay in Berlin! Best regards, Christoph Michel, Front Office Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in late September 2012 and enjoyed my stay. Had previously stayed at the Axel in Barcelona and while this is different in style it is just as good in it's own way. The hotels location is fantastic just a block from the main shopping street Kurfurstendamm practically behind the Harrod's of Berlin KaDeWe where you can do some major damege on your credit card. The hotel has a very dark interior for the most part and the rooms carry this theme into them.

My room 506 wasn't huge by any means but was big enough for my 2 night stay, there isn't a lot to the room a big comfortable bed, a built in cabinet that runs behind the bed for the full length of the room which houses a desk area, bedhead, chest of drawers, minibar, safe and eventually the vanity area in the semi open bathroom, there isn't really any closet in the room only a rail and some hangers above the minibar area so at all times you clothes are on display and there isn't really any place to store your luggage at first until you notice a small sticker near the bed that indicates the space behind the bed under the shelf is big enough to store a suitcase.

The bathroom has an enclosed wc and a shower that is open to the vanity area on one side and the entry on the other side with a red glass panel.

Had a bit of a problem with my shower when I first went to use it but this was quicky solved late on a Friday night by a staff member who came up quickly to fix the issue and once fixed the shower and all its sprays and nozzoles was a treat. A chair and a flat panel TV with a number of stations completed the room which also had a nice view over some park area and towards KaDeWe.

Breakfast was included in my rate and was plentiful and enjoyed in a nice dining come bar area on the ground floor overlooking a garden area. On the top floor was a small spa area which despite the to me cold weather was being used frequently.

Overall a pretty good hotel in a great area and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and look forward to eventually staying at the Axel in Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minicooperdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelhotelBerlin, Leiter Front Office at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear minicooperdownunder,
thanks a lot for your detailed comment here on tripadvisor. It is always great to read comments like yours. It shows us we are doing everything correct and it motivates us to get even better. We would be very happy to see you in Axel Hotel Berlin again soon. Best regards, Christoph Michel, Front Office Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiblingen, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed Here for 6 days in superior room...the room is nice with Massage bathtube inside and comfortable bed. But the pillows are too small and too soft. Toilette is also too small anyway we didnt spend to much Time in the room.

I like Location from this hotel...Not far to KaDeWe or to u Bahn Station.

Receptionist ( Chris and Jonas ) are very friendly and helpfull.

For sure i will come back Here again coz i Love Berlin and found nice hotel during my stay in Berlin that is Axel hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Youvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelhotelBerlin, Leiter Front Office at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Youvan,
thank you so much for your comment here on tripadvisor. We are very happy, you enjoyed your stay with us and want to visit us again. This is great to read and shows us we are doing everything right. Feel free to come back whenever you want to visit Berlin! Best regards, Christoph Michel, Front Office Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here twice before and visited three times before. Always enjoy my stay, however the staff are generally slow and miserable and never wanting to go the extra mile for you.

Also, this is a massive hotel with six floors...I'd suggest you invest in more irons and ironing boards. One for the whole hotel doesn't cut the mustard!!

Overall I still recommend the hotel as its a great location, full of gays and stylish!

:)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sexytonyboy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelhotelBerlin, Leiter Front Office at Axel Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Sexytonyboy84,
thank you very much for your comment here on tripadvisor. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and want to recommend us. Also I want to apologize for the impression you got on our staff. Please let me assure you we try everything to help our guests by having an unforgettable and great stay. I am not sure under which circumstances you stayed with us. It might have been a little bit busy so me and my colleagues may not have been able to help you right in the moment. We would be very happy if you give us another chance to show you we are really caring for you and all of the other guests. Best regards, Christoph Michel, Front Office Manager, Axel Hotel Berlin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Two Hotel Berlin
#258 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Schoneberg
Tom's Hotel
Tom's Hotel
#383 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Schoneberg
Hotel Riu Plaza Berlin
Hotel Riu Plaza Berlin
#93 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Schoneberg
Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum
Schoneberg
Quentin Design hotel
Quentin Design hotel
#298 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axel Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Hotel Berlin

Property: Axel Hotel Berlin
Address: Lietzenburger Str. 13-15, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Axel Hotel Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Schöneberg, the heart of the gay scene in the city, Axel Hotel Berlin is fascinating for its cosmopolitan spirit and delicious, by the careful combination of design and comfort, and for excellent service. The charm and elegant mix of gold on black, overlay and textures make Axel Hotel Berlin a unique space in the German capital. With 87 design rooms, fully equipped to provide guests with maximum confort and a different stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and Jetsetter so you can book your Axel Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing