We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST CHRISTMAS PRESENT EVER!”
Review of Arcotel John F

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arcotel John F
Ranked #75 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 4, 2011

I decided to take my husband to Berlin on a city break for his Christmas present and chose to stay in the John F. the reveiws were good and the location seemed excellent. We were not disappointed. Such a great location. The hotel was well furnished and the bed was so good, i cannot remember ever sleeping so well, even in my own bed! We forgot to take our" do not disturb" sign down in our rush to get out, so when we returned late afternoon we realised our room had not been touched. This was our own fault so we said nothing. We went out for dinner and when we got back to our room, it had been made up. We did not think anyone saw us leave the hotel, but they must of checked and then did our room. This was a pleasant suprise! The breakfast was included in my booking and we had read that some people thought it expensive. We do not know the cost, but it was superb. Fresh, hot and a great choice and really set us up for the day. One thing i did like, instead of all of this horrible piped music, we had bird song. sounds a bit mad, but it was so relaxing whilst eating breakfast. We intend to return to Berlin in December and will definately be going back to the John F.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patsy55_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

678 - 684 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2011

Stayed here on a short city break with my Dad. This was a real find. The location is great, central but quiet. It's all very trendy, and probably more suited to a younger crowd, but we were made very welcome in the hotel. The doorman, in particular, was really helpful in making sure we caught the correct train to the airport.

The rooms are nice, again, quite "cool", but not so avant-garde as to be daft. Berlin is an incredibly interesting (and overlooked) city. And this is a great place from which to see it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giuseppe_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We booked this hotel based on the rates on offer and the many positive reviews it has received. We were not disappointed.

The room was very comfortable with a touch of understated luxury. The bed was easily the best we have experienced in a long time. We also liked the bathroom: we prefer a good shower, like the one on offer, over a bath. Finally, the room had a dedicated fridge (separate from the mini-bar) which was a nice touch. The only odd thing about the room was a rather useless kitchenette: a stove top, but no microwave, pots or pans, cooking utensils, cutlery or crockery. This space would be more useful as additional wardrobe space: the existing wardrobe was smallish for a 4-night stay for two people.

Our rate included breakfast. This was a good choice because breakfast was plentiful, very good quality and good value-for-money. Due to the location of the hotel there are no obvious "outside" breakfast options in the immediate vicinity.

Hotel staff were efficient and friendly.

The location of the hotel is more or less in an office area, next door to the foreign office buildings. This does mean that the immediate surroundings of the hotel are very quiet (some people might say "dead") after hours and in the weekend. However, public transport connections are good (bus stop in front, U-bahn only 5 minutes away). Also, the hotel is within walking distance of the Museum Island, Unter den Linden and Friedrichstrasse (all within 10 minutes). This proved to be extremely convenient.

All-in-all we had an excellent stay and have no problems recommending this hotel.

One note: it would appear there is going to be a lot of construction in the area in coming years (U-bahn, City Palace reconstruction, etc). To avoid any noise try to get a room overlooking the courtyard rather than the street.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PinoyDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Very friendly staff. Good sized, very clean room. Super location, near to lots of attractions. Lovely sauna and steam room. Brilliant nights sleep in a very quiet room. Only slight criticism is that there are two small duvets to fit the bed rather than one big one. Very nice shower. Good internet with printer at the back of the bar. Not much more to say except it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k8mcg0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

This is one of the best hotel experiences we have had in a long time. The staff are so friendly & helpful - nothing is too much trouble & is all dealt with quickly. The rooms are fab, so different from run of the mill standard hotel decor - the rocking chair is a great idea. It is so central, as it was so cold & snowy we did use the metro alot but in warmer weather would prefer to just walk everywhere. So many major sites within walking distance of hotel - Brandenburg Gate, museums, checkpoint charlie etc.
Have to also comment on the towels - the softest we've had yet in a hotel!! Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NIrelandrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Stayed here for three nights in December having from a large conference hotel in Berlin and what a difference it was to come here. The staff were absolutely great in both english and german, and the rooms felt as if there had been some thought into them, which is hard for a reasonably large hotel, but it didnt feel like a bog standard room - nice decoration around the bed and a lovely rocking chair!!

The location is generall fantastic being in the old East Berlin area near the gorgeous Gendarmenmarkt (best Christmas market is here). You can get to most of the main sites within a 20 minute walk. Th only slight downside was that there isnt a tube stop within about 5 minutes walk which was fine for us but may not be ideal. However this does mean it is on a quiter street so you should hear any noise at all.

Breakfast was lovely with a great choice of things.

The main advertised rate seemed expensive but you can quite easily get a good deal rate of the room and for the money is a excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fell-O_TravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iborsbach, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2010

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and had hopefully a safe journey back home.

We appreciate that you took the time sharing your positive experience on this platform. Following our vision of being "passionate hosts" we sincerely appreciate your feedback and will share these motivational lines with all our colleagues.

Maybe you have the oppoerunity to visit us again in Berlin, so I am more than happy to share the information about the closest tube station with you: The line U2 stops at "Hausvogteiplatz" which is about 300m from the hotel's restaurant entrance which is on the oppostite side of the main lobby entrance.

We for our part. would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.

The team from the ARCOTEL John F wishes you and your family a very Merry Christmas and a Prosperous New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Not far from Unter den Linden, Hakescher Markt and Alexanderplatz area. Many tourist sites can be visited from the hotel by foot or walk to nearest S bahn or U bahn to travel further afield. Opposite one Christmas market and walking distance from several others. Friendly and helpful staff. Spotlessly clean hotel with fitness facility and sauna/ steam room. Breakfast was quite expensive so we ate out for breakfast plenty of good value and interesting choices in Berlin.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikerbabe07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#83 of 634 in Berlin
506 reviews
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#62 of 634 in Berlin
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel John F? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel John F

Address: Werderscher Markt 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Berlin
#28 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#58 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#62 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $90 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcotel John F 4.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARCOTEL John F is located within easy distance of the Gendarmenmarkt, the Museum Island and the Boulevard Unter den Linden. The cosmopolitan and international flair of the hotel, which is themed around the former US president John F Kennedy, is deliberately showcased by its proximity to the German Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The lobby and each of the rooms are appointed with rocking chairs and lamp shades based on a dress worn by the First Lady Jackie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arcotel John F reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel John f Berlin
Arcotel John f Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing