We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a city visit”
Review of Arcotel John F

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arcotel John F
Ranked #79 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place for a city visit”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Hotel was very well located with a 5min walk to the Musuem island and the Gendarmenmarkt and only 10min or so to the Brandenburg Gate. The rooms were clean, spacious and smartly decorated.

It wasn't perfect, there are building works outside the building - you can't hear any noise from within the hotel but it did make the area feel a bit untidy. The Internet connection is slow, and you need to enter your details everytime you connect - which gets a bit tiresome. It would also have been nice to get complimentary water or tea/coffee in the room - but that's not a big issue.

All in all it was a good place to stay for a 4 day trip to Berlin.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guests, Thank you so much for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying at the ARCOTEL John F. As you already mentioned there is plenty of building work happening in and around the city centre of Berlin. Nevertheless subsequently this will lead to an even nicer city centre. Currently we are looking into the wifi matter to improve our service here as well. We are really looking forward to your next berlin visit.

Kind regards,

Your team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    579
    105
    14
    18
See reviews for
171
648
61
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Nice and comfortable hotel in a very central area, large room and bathroom, excellent shower, facilities for coffee/tea, decent WiFi even if not very fast (AND you need to log in every time), refrigerator.
We have been offered an upgrade, before our arrival, at a cost, which was supposed to give us, as benefits, slippers and morning papers, which we didn't have. Not a tragedy, however they blocked at our arrival a guarantee by far exceeding the total amount for the whole reservation, without informing us (they said they were just blocking a guarantee for small extra expenses). So why misinform about payment and guarantee policy?

Room Tip: I didn't see the standard rooms, but frankly I doubt the upgrade to superior is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ionci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location... there are lots of interesting places within walking distance, it's close to more buzzing areas but also quite peaceful. We enjoyed just wandering around without a map and coming across lots of beautiful buildings, pretty courtyards and interesting shops. The room itself was a little disappointing. No rocking chair as promised (and after we asked at reception for one, they said our room was "too small" for the rocking chair... which it clearly wasn't, as we had quite a spacious "superior room"). The TV was tiny and almost all stations dubbed into German. Service was mixed. No complimentary bottle of water and wifi connection a joke. Not a bad experience, but I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoominLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving your feedback on your recent stay at the ARCOTEL John F. We are sorry to hear that we could not convince you of our qualities. Nevertheless we would be very grateful. if you would give us another chance to proof ourselves as "passionate hotes".

Your sincerely,

The team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We received an offer for an upgrade a few days before arrival, which we accepted. The room was spacious and faced the back of the hotel which was a really good thing, considering all the building they're doing in the area. We didn't receive all the extras we were promised with our upgrade, which was disappointing. We didn't have any meals at the hotel. There's a lovely breakfast place behind the hotel called 'Chipps' that we used. The room service menu is limited, especially if you're a vegetarian. Good beds, cleaning and good location. Service was pretty good.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Camokoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you for leaving your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear that you did not receive the extras which were included in your prebooked upgrade. Unfortunately we do not know what was missing. It is always a pitty to find out that something might have been wrong once a guest left. Any comments are always taken very serious and if there are any problems - we are immediately looking for a solution. So please feel free to contact us, so we can offer you a free upgrade on your next visit to Berlin.

Kind regards,

The teamof the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The location of this hotel fantastic. You are within walking distance of most of the major site in the Berlin core and, close to the subway station. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and it was quiet. The only complaint would be the price of meals--Breakfast was 25 Euros. There are other places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Such a shame about the huge building programme going on all around the hotel. Rooms were well sound proofed though, so noise was not an issue......only the ambience was effected. The hotel caters for conference meetings and I would imagine, also for large groups. Organisation within the hotel is very good, and the staff are most helpful and pleasant. Lifts to rooms are fast and there always seems to be a lift waiting. Breakfasts were good, and despite the breakfast room being busy, the staff were attentive and highly efficient. My room was spacious and well equipped. I probably would not stay here again, but I would definitely recommend it for other visitors to the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nagsSuffolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your detailed feedback on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and that you had a good time in Berlin. Be assured that we will pass on your feedback to our team members. Despite the fact that you would not visit us again, it would be our pleasure to be able to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

The team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Москва, Россия
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

It is very modern fashionable and beautiful hotel with large and bright rooms. There was rich and tasty breakfast. We liked attention with nice surprise on the husband's birthday. We will book and stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Anywayanyday

Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia_Ponkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear guests, We hope you had a safe journey. Thank you for your brilliant feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying here at the ARCOTEL John F. Welcoming you back soon, would be a real pleasure. So, please do not wait to long.

Yours sincerely,

The team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#59 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#51 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel John F? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel John F

Property: Arcotel John F
Address: Werderscher Markt 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Berlin
#28 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#32 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#61 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#62 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcotel John F 4.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcotel John F reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel John f Berlin
Arcotel John f Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing