We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in a good location for exploring berlin”
Review of Arcotel John F

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arcotel John F
Ranked #73 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a great stay at this place. It's close to many attractions like the Berlin Wall memorial, Brandenburg gate, checkpoint Charlie and museum island if you don't mind a short walk. The food at the restaurant was great and the bar was nice to relax in.
The gym only contained cardio equipment which was disappointing but we made do. We didn't use the wellness area but it looked good.
There was free wifi with a good speed.
The only bad point was some extremely rude service on checkout from a blonde girl at reception, however made up for by the concierge (a guy from morocco) who was just lovely and very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spatte123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your staying in the ARCOTEL John F. We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback on www.tripadvisor.com as your comments are valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards. On this occasion we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation in the ARCOTEL John F. Thank you for your comment regarding the service upon check out. Please be sure that does not belong to our standard. We apologize for the circumstances. We will discuss your comment with the entire front desk team to avoid these behavior in the future.

We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.

Kind regards,

The ARCOTEL John F team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in December to visit the German Christmas markets and explore some of Berlin's history. The hotel was easy to find, we walked from the train station, and we were greeted by welcoming staff and a lovely, warm atmosphere. The hotel is finished beautifully, there are even rocking chairs in the lobby and the rooms. The bed was grand and very comfortable with a new and very clean bathroom. Breakfast was a well done continental spread with cold fruits, yoghurts, cereals and warm scrambled egg, sausages and bacon.

The location was great; just opposite the hotel was a Christmas market so we were very pleased. A few historical places of interest are a short walk away, the museums, Checkpoint Charlie, the Berliner Dom, etc. Fantastic stay, would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear guests,

First of all we would like to thank you, that you took the time to leave your feedback. On this occasion we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the ARCOTEL John F and that you were satisfied with our breakfast and comfortable rooms. As we are constantly trying to achieve a hundred percent guest satisfaction, we are very pleased that you enjoyed staying with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

The team of the ARCOTEL John F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here for five nights in May and loved it. There weren’t any disappointments whatsoever. My five-day visit to Berlin coincided with an unusual heat wave for that time of year, but the air conditioning worked well day and night. The bed was quite comfortable, the view from the room was nice, and the location is a 10 minute walk from the Berliner Dom. The bathroom and showers are outstanding (no tub, but I don't use that anyway). The breakfast option was well worth it as well, with plenty of variety. If I were to pick one negative it is that the servers in the restaurant were a bit standoffish whenever I needed help. Not so with the rest of the hotel staff! Even the maids were friendly. The people at the front desk all spoke either English or Spanish (the languages that I speak) . If you’re in Berlin for sightseeing, I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hansblix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear guest, Thank you kindly for leaving your feedback on tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying at the ARCOTEL John F. As we are constantly trying achieve maximum guest satisfaction, we are very happy that we were able to fulfill your expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Your sincerely,

The team of the ARCOTEL John F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Arcotel John F for one night in December 2012. We really liked the hotel: the price was reasonable, the room stylish, the location absolutely perfect, the staff very polite and nice and the breakfast very good. An excellent place for a short stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear guests, we would like to thank you for rating us and your stay at the ARCOTEL John F. It would be our pleasure, if you would stay with us again on your next visit to Berlin.

Kind regards,

Your team of the ARCOTEL John F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Three Christmas market and traditional berliner restaurants within walking distance. The rooms of high quality standard, wonderful breakfast and a very cosy bar. And of course a very helpful staff. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inger95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. The entire ARCOTEL John F Team is very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that we met your expectations in regards to the standard of the hotel. Your comment is a great motivation to our team to keep up with the professionalism and service.

We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.

Best regards,

Your ARCOTEL John F Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I was very thrilled about coming to Berlin, and upon reading such good reviews here, we decided on Arcotel, out of so many other hotels in Berlin.
*
Location-wise :: It was close to almost everything (that is if you like to walk, which we do). The nearest metro would be Hausvogteiplatz, which was a 8-10 minute walk and takes you everywhere. [Also a recommended diversion (about 5mins from the hotel) would be the Museuminsel, an island thriving with treasures -- was perfect for museum junkies like us.]
*
The room :: was lovely, it was clean, new, wide, spacious, and amply lit. Just like we read in the reviews. Truth is, it's almost at par (maybe even better) with leading hotels. I loved the room and their little kitchenette.
*
The staff & their service :: courteous (as their posts require them to be), but as to being nice, I'm not so sure. (maybe to certain guests they are more willing to help and 'be of service'.)
1.) Being the asians we are, we made sure to contact families at home to inform them of our arrival in Berlin; but since we had trouble connecting to their wifi, we decided to call by phone. I dialled the 'front desk' for information about calling to our home country -- She told me she didn't know; I asked about how much they charge for international calls -- She didn't know; So how will you charge us for our calls at the end of our stay? -- I was told the phone company will be the judge of it. [If the Arcotel was at least a four-star hotel as it claims to be, the least they could do is call this 'phone company' to inquire about it, so that their guests know how much they are being charged per minute for the calls they are making.]
2.) Accessing their wifi requires one to log-in with their room number and birthdate. We did as was asked but were unable to connect. I called the 'front desk' again to ask about this. And as it turns out, she has not yet activated/granted permission to use the wifi because she needs to fill out the 'birthdate' field on their system.
3.) Before booking our stay (two months before the trip), we asked if there was an available room "on a higher floor - facing Friedrichswerdersche Kirche along Werderscher Markt" for the intended days. We were told it was available, and was swiftly given a summary of the price for each of the four nights.
[We re-confirmed again a week before our stay]
- We were instead given a room on the 1st floor, facing the street behind the hotel.
We did not complain about it because we were tired from the 20-hour+ flight, and also because the room itself was not so bad.
4.) When we first went in the elevator one of the hotel staff told us we needed to swipe our cards to head to our room. We did it for serveral days until he realized 'Oh, you're on the first level? You don't need to swipe your room card then!". (Well, surprise surprise!)
- The hotel had some English and German guests staying there at that time and they were on the fourth level! why are we the only guests on the 1st floor next to the Seminar Rooms??
*
Upon check-out (at about 5 in the morning), it was a guy at the front desk this time and was by far the nicest. He arranged a taxi for us to the airport and helped us with our luggages wishing us a nice trip.
But before that he asked about our stay-- Well, I had a great time in Berlin with all the sights, but that's all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xMiffyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your staying in the ARCOTEL John F. We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback on www.tripadvisor.com as your comments are valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards. On this occasion we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation in the ARCOTEL John F and that you were satisfied with our rooms. Thank you for your comment regarding the charge for an international phone call. Please be sure that we will follow up the situation with our front desk staff to make sure that everyone is aware of the charges. Furthermore we apologize for the circumstances with the free Wifi. In addition we can reassure you that we are using for the room allocation all floors. We are very sorry that we couldn´t consider your request. We will discuss your comment with the entire team to avoid these mistakes in the future.

We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.

Kind regards,

The ARCOTEL John F team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My sister and I stayed at this warm hotel last december just before xmas.
It was a good 4 night trip, but overall, not as memorable as I'd hoped it would be.
like others, I did my research in TA and read tons of comments before choosing this one.
upon arrival at Tegel airport, we took the taxi ( about 25 euros)
instead of taking the metro because of our luggage.
We arrived at the hotel just in time for an early check in,
around 11-ish in the morning, the rooms were given to us in a jiffy.

the interior:
it was comfy and immaculately clean, something i look forward to.
It has a kitchenette where i guess, you can do your own cooking, and another faucet so you don't have to go all the way to the bathroom.
ample sockets for charging your batteries, etc.
cool toiletries and goodies ( teas/ coffees).
and a super rocking chair on the side of the bed.
It has a huge shower as well, but no bath tub.
the lobby was inviting though we didn't try the bar or the breakfast,

transportation wise:
the nearest metro would be the Hausvogteiplatz
but the walk to that station will take you 5- 10 minutes.
if you want a taxi, you can request one at the concierge.
the bus is near museuminsel or near unter den linden.

exterior:
very safe and fairly quiet.
if you're facing the church, you'd almost see the MuseumInsel and Berlinerdom.
if you're stuck in the rear, you'd have the back view of the Auswartiges amt, ( a gov't office) and some posh and high-end houses.

the verdict:
the hotel is situated somewhere in the middle,
but is also not far from any tourist sights.
the staffs are courteous but that's it.
I guess, it depends with who they're dealing with.

The internet was okay, you have to log in and log out your b-day and room number every time, a bit annoying. but the best part was that at least,
it's wi-fi Free.

the Big Disappointment was that they didn't place us in
a higher floor facing the front view.
which I had specifically requested 2 months before that.
but instead, they put us with the rest of the
new york / london seminar group which was located on the 1st floor, without having to slide our card key inside the elevator for verification.
but had to walk all the way to the far end of the hallway every time
we go in and out of the hotel, which was very tiring.

we didn't ask to switch room because it felt cozy anyway.
days later,
the bell boy was surprised why we're situated on the 1st floor when most of their clients were either on the 3rd or 4th.
that being said,
I felt a bit of discrimination.
this isn't an expensive hotel but it doesn't come cheap either
so I was expecting a bit of service and a smile.

upon check out ,
the morning receptionist, who was a guy,
called a taxi for us, carried our luggage and even asked how was your stay? he was the friendliest among all the staffs we've met..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arabesque c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your staying in the ARCOTEL John F. We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback on www.tripadvisor.com as your comments are valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards. On this occasion we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation in the ARCOTEL John F and that you were satisfied with our attentive staff. Furthermore we read your comment regarding the room location. We are very sorry to hear that you felt discriminated. Please be sure that this kind of feeling we don´t want for our guests. We apologize for the circumstances but sometimes it is not possible for us to consider an request.

We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.

Kind regards,

The ARCOTEL John F team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#11 of 635 in Berlin
1,289 reviews
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#57 of 635 in Berlin
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel John F? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel John F

Address: Werderscher Markt 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Berlin
#28 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#32 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#58 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#62 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $71 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcotel John F 4.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARCOTEL John F is located within easy distance of the Gendarmenmarkt, the Museum Island and the Boulevard Unter den Linden. The cosmopolitan and international flair of the hotel, which is themed around the former US president John F Kennedy, is deliberately showcased by its proximity to the German Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The lobby and each of the rooms are appointed with rocking chairs and lamp shades based on a dress worn by the First Lady Jackie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcotel John F reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel John f Berlin
Arcotel John f Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing