We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a weekend break”
Review of Arcotel John F

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arcotel John F
Ranked #74 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Devizes
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent for a weekend break”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend city break and found the hotel to be ideal for the purpose. It's brilliantly located really close to the major attractions and the staff are extremely knowledgeable and helpful with sightseeing and restaurant recommendations. Rooms are pleasant and comfortable with decent facilities and the bar is welcoming and a pleasure to relax in. Bar meals are also good.

Breakfast was really excellent - the kind of meal that sets you up for the day, or at least until you get tempted by afternoon coffee and cake!

Staff were welcoming and friendly and spoke excellent English (which always embarrasses me as I am struggling with my six words of German but is nice nonetheless!)

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a city break and would stay here again.

I don't understand the comment about having to walk 10-15 mins to a restaurant as we were directed to an excellent one no more than 5 minutes walk. I thought the location was excellent - close enough to everything but in a relatively quiet street so you were not disturbed unduly by traffic noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for rating us on tripadvisor. As we are constantly trying to improve our services, we are very grateful for every comment. So it makes us very happy, that you did enjoy your stay here at the ARCOTEL John F.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

The team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    585
    107
    14
    18
See reviews for
173
655
63
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temple
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just returned to UK today 29/11/12 afer 3 nights at this hotel.

Read the good and not so good before we booked and we are glad we did book

If you want a modern, guest friendly, central hotel in Berlin then book in here

Rooms are first class, staff are very friendly and the food is excellent

We booked for bed & breakfast and expected the ususal continental breaksfast but this hotel provides one of the best breakfasts you could hope for

The evening menu is very good as well, especially if you have been out all day touring, the staff are extremely polite and will do everything to make sure you have an enjoyable eevening.

We would certainly come back to this hotel

As for the people who have placed negative comments about this hotel, where have you been in your previous travels?

If wi fi is that important then get a life and don't bother leaving your home, its fast enough to keep up to date

Room Tip: Just book it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiramNorthEastCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback on tripadvisor. The entire ARCOTEL John F Team is very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that we met your expectations in regards to the standard of the hotel. Your comment is a great motivation to our team to keep up with the professionalism and service.

We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.

Best regards,

Your ARCOTEL John F Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Only one complain : complex and frustrating wifi connexion. First, the free wifi is slow. you have to pay to get faster wifi. We were lucky to have it for free. But still, you need to enter a code, which is ok, but the wifi always disconnect if your not navigating for 2 minutes and you have to enter all the codes again... I can imagine how frustrating it is to get disconnected every time went you pay 9 euro !!!!!!!!!!!!! It's the kind of system you can see in cheap hotel, not in hotel of that category, disappointing.

But the rest was PERFECT. Nice and friendly staff, very good breakfast, clean hotel, clean room, modern. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite, bed/pillow very comfortable, we slept VERY WELL. Nice big bathroom with many towels. Tea and coffee. Not sure about the location, I find it boring around, no restaurant (you have to walk 10-15 minutes to find one). 15min walk to Alexander platz.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your stay in the ARCOTEL John F. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to hear that you are satisfied with our attentive staff and our comfortable rooms. Furthermore we read a negative comment, too. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with the internet. We can reassure you that we always strive to achieve maximum guest satisfaction. We already instructed our technical department in order to avoid such problems in the future.

Thank you for your kind feedback on tripadvisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Your ARCOTEl John F Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

good location, helpful staff, nice service and OK breakfast. good for 2-3 days business trip, as well located to the centre and the underground services. The only problem you can check in only after 3 PM, so if you arrive earlier then...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaza64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your staying in the ARCOTEL John F. We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback on www.tripadvisor.com as your comments are valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards. On this occasion we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation in the ARCOTEL John F and that you were satisfied with our attentive staff. Furthermore we read your comment regarding the early check in. Sometimes it is not possible to guarantee an early check in. If the room is not ready at this time you can store everytime the bags with us.

We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.

Kind regards,

The ARCOTEL John F team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

fantastic hotel, couldnt ask for anything better from the word go. friendly staff while checking in, rooms very spotless and had one with a fantastic view. great location, within walking distance of almost all the sights of berlin and train stations. the food in the restaurant was very nice as were the cocktails at the bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingginger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback on tripadvisor. The entire ARCOTEL John F Team is very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that we met your expectations in regards to the standard of the hotel. Your comment is a great motivation to our team to keep up with the professionalism and service.

We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.

Best regards,

Your ARCOTEL John F Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gentofte, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our family stayed 4 nights in two connection rooms. Everything was clean, staff was friendly, location in Mitte 5 minuttes walk from Gendarmmarkt is good. However this hotel has no character. The location is next to offices, so no interesting activities when you step out of the hotel. The hotel interior is standard business design with a little fake "John F" touch. Breakfast not good considering 4 star. No fresh juices, uninteresting bread selection, porridge overly sweet, coffee weak. Bar dull.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tage R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor. We will forward your comments regarding our breakfast and the bar to our F&B Manager. Nevertheless we would be very happy, if we could welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Your team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very tasteful, modern hotel. All the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Nothing better than being greeted by the cocktail barman with his new concoctions after a hard days sight seeing in such an ideal location in this great city. See you again very very soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your pleasant feedback. It makes us very proud to hear that you were so pleased with your stay. We will pass on your comments to all relevant departments. It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Your team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#52 of 634 in Berlin
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
809 reviews
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#55 of 634 in Berlin
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel John F? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel John F

Property: Arcotel John F
Address: Werderscher Markt 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Berlin
#28 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#32 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#58 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#62 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcotel John F 4.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcotel John F reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel John f Berlin
Arcotel John f Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing