We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good, central, possibly a bit overpriced”
Review of Arcotel John F

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arcotel John F
Ranked #77 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good, central, possibly a bit overpriced”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very good hotel in a central position: more or less, in the middle between the Brandenburg Tor and Alexander Platz; very close to the Pergamon museum. Ideal for business travellers who need to do meetings in the Embassies/Government area.

At first, I was given a smoking room, which I asked to change. It was done in no time. I got a good room on the 3rd floor, silent and spacious (I booked a superior room).

The hotel is brand new, personnel is polite and efficient, you can choose between a continental breakfast (7.5 euros, good value for money) and a buffet one (I think it is around 20 euros).

I paid the room 160 euros for one night, which is maybe a bit expensive compared to the Berlin average and to other colleagues who booked in different moments.

Room Tip: Note that some works are currently taking place on the side of Französische Straße, so you may want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonimobelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your stay in the ARCOTEL John F. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to hear that you are satisfied with our attentive staff.

Thank you for your kind feedback on tripadvisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Your ARCOTEL John F Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    581
    105
    14
    18
See reviews for
173
649
61
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
EDMONTON
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hotel is modern and 6 minutes walking away from the museum island and some of the major other attractions of downtown Berlin. Food in the hotel is good but there are a lot of cheaper but good restaurants. Hotel is a few minutes away from the U-bahn, S-bahn and bus services. No car is required. Breakfast in the lobby is 7.50 Euros. Wi-fi reception is great and free. Service from all staff was great, you just had to ask and it would be done. The building is secure with access cards to the elevators and rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 174PeterH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback on tripadvisor. The entire ARCOTEL John F Team is very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that we met your expectations in regards to the standard of the hotel. Your comment is a great motivation to our team to keep up with the professionalism and service.

We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.

Best regards,

Your ARCOTEL John F Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Here for several days on business. Internet slow, often unavailable, utterly unreliable. The latter means that the connection may close without warning between the writing of an email message and pressing the send button. Getting back on sometimes requires rebooting and always requires completing a form with room number, birthdate, OK the terms of service, read about upgrading speed...and tehn to the ad for the hotel restaurant. For $200 or so a night and 3 for 4 stars, the internet should be as reliable as the water.

Beds are good, rooms are quiet but poorly equipped. Mine is an upgraded room, which I took of necessity. There is a bench, not a chair, at the desk...and the bench is not very comfortable even as a bench (and is agony after a couple of hours as a chair).

The staff is fine and friendly, breakfast overpriced for what it is (a pernicious practice in Berlin these days: $25 or so.

The INSTANT coffee envelopes and tea in the room were not replaced during my 7 night stay.

These are management issues: management chose a terrible internet provider and made other poor choices. I would leave this one to the tour buses, and wish others had written frank and accurate reviews.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ejhArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with the internet. We can reassure you that we always strive to achieve maximum guest satisfaction. We already instructed our technical department in order to avoid such problems in the future. Furthermore we are very sorry to hear that the coffee pads was not replaced each day. We forwarded your valuable comment to our housekeeping departement to share this situation with the entire team. Please be sure that this does not belong to our standards and that we informed our management.

We understand that we might have lost you as a valued customer, but we would be grateful if you would give us the chance to stay with us on a different occasion. We are sure we would be able to redeem your trust in our service.

Best regards,

Your ARCOTEl John F Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

great hotel! great service! good breakfast... great location free wifi and free safebox
worth the price and lovely lobby :)
had the time of our life, great rooms great shower
wonderfull view
very reccomneded

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunter55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear guest,

We hope you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and had a safe journey back home. We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback on www.tripadvisor.com as your comments are valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards. On this occasion we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation in the ARCOTEL John F and that you were satisfied with our location and the professional staff.

We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.

Kind regards,

The ARCOTEL John F team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we walked into the modern foyer, we were.treated like friends. Had a late meal at the bar and the burger was more like a mountain, and thee taste was outstanding. Very friendly staff, clean and well appointed rooms. One let down was no kettle in the room.to make a tea or coffee.

Helpful?
Thank mark0801
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comment on tripadvisor.com.

On this occasion we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay in the ARCOTEL John F.

The entire ARCOTEL John F Team is very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is a pleasure to read that we met your expectations in regards to the standard of the hotel.
Your comment is a great motivation to our team to keep up with the professionalism and service. Furthermore we are glad to inform you that we offer a kettle upon request in the room.

We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.

Kind regards,

The ARCOTEL John F Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Overall we very much enjoyed staying at the hotel. Staff were very helpful and always extremely friendly. We also found time to try out the sauna and steam bath in the fitness area.
The room was great and had the right size including a kitchenette. Only negative remark in this connection is that coffee and tea making facilities would have been appreciated in the otherwise empty kitchenette. Location of the hotel is very convenient in Berlin Mitte, with many of the attractions in walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theaterlover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your stay in the ARCOTEL John F. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to hear that you are satisfied with our attentive staff and comfortable rooms. Furthermore we are glad to inform you that we provide coffee and tea making facilities in the room upon request.

Thank you for your kind feedback on tripadvisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Your ARCOTEL John F Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and were very pleased with this hotel. Check-in was efficient and pleasant. Our room was clean and tidy and the 'rocking chair' made an unusual added extra.
Although this was a business hotel we found all the staff very helpful and attentive to our needs.

The breakfast 'buffet' was extensive and in the style of traditional German i.e. a mixture of Hot & Cold breads, meats and cheeses with lots of fresh fruit and juices.

Location was excellent for all the main attractions and access to good quality restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Room 509 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewshighhopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear guests,

First of all we would like to thank you, that you took the time to leave your feedback. On this occasion we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the ARCOTEL John F and that you were satisfied with our friendly staff, comfortable rooms and our breakfast buffet.As we are constantly trying to achieve a hundred percent guest satisfaction, we are very pleased that you enjoyed staying with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

The team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#58 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#52 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel John F? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel John F

Property: Arcotel John F
Address: Werderscher Markt 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Berlin
#29 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#32 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#61 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#62 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcotel John F 4.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Arcotel John F reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel John f Berlin
Arcotel John f Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing