We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arcotel John F

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arcotel John F
Ranked #71 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gandia, Spain
Level Contributor
180 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Better than expected hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed for four nights and enjoyed all of them! Fantastic staff, clean, pleasant and very good service. Breakfasts were excellent with a good and frequently replenished selection. 'Hot' and cold selection though, as usual, the food could have been hotter. Only two problems - very soft pillows and very poor wifi - slow and poor coverage. High speedInternet should be free and standard.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    570
    104
    14
    17
See reviews for
169
639
61
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The reception staff at this hotel were brilliant - very knowledgable and helpful. Our room was excellent - very spacious and clean and very quiet. The location is fantastic for exploring the main sites of both east and west Berlin. I strongly recommend this hotel and would readily stay there again if we go back to Berlin.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skapole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you, that you took the time to leave your feedback. As we are constantly trying to achieve a hundred percent guest satisfaction, we are very pleased that you enjoyed staying with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

The team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is an ideal place to stay for visiting major sights and museums. The Museum Insel and Checkpoint Charlie are within easy walking distance. A good quality hotel with an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snip900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor. As we are constantly trying to achieve maximum guest satisfaction, we were very happy to read that you really enjoyed your stay here at the ARCOTEL John F. We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.

Kind regards,

Your ARCOTEL John F team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

My partner and I arrived late in the evening close to midnight and the concierge Kurt was very polite, helpful and his English was perfect. All the service staff were prompt and polite with all of our requests and questions about things in Mitte and Berlin. Would definitely recommend this hotel for its cleanliness, customer service and comfort. Was also very well priced! However it is situated in a part of town that isn't too busy or with a wide selection of shops or restaurants. This wasn't a problem for us as we took a taxi around Mitte, but there is also a subway station only 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivianhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanja-koch, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear guest,

On this occasion we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the ARCOTEL John F and that you were satisfied with our friendly and attentive staff. We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Your ARCOTEL John F Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on a sight seeing trip with friends.
The hotel is very stylish and attention has been taken over many small details - eg tiny spoons for eggs at breakfast, apples in the room, etc
The location is perfect, you can walk to Museum Island in 5 minutes and Checkpoint Charlie/Brandenburg Gate in 15 minutes (in different directions!!)
No faults with the breakfast or the food served in the bar, we ordered club sandwiches on the first night and the waitress even advised that they were rather large so one between two might be sensible - wow - and she was right!!
The staff were also great. We speak no German and it didn't matter in this hotel. We had a problem with the taxi collecting us to go to the airport and the receptionist managed to magic up a replacement within a couple of minutes.
The room was a comfortable size. Not luxurious but completely worthy of a 4 star hotel. Great blackout curtains so no light at all in the morning until you want it. Bit unnerving being close to the office block next door so make sure the privacy curtains are closed!! There was AC and it was very quiet (quite unusual) and the beds were very comfortable. There were no bathrobes in the room which always annoys me but there was a note saying that they could be provided if you wished. There was a bottle of water in the room but a charge was applied for taking it (always feels a bit mean but I understand).
One last thing we forgot to take a socket adaptor and reception lent us one for the duration of our stay - very helpful
If I plan another trip to Berlin I will stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in 311 and it was fine although I did hear some banging from the major construction work g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanieU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor. As we are constantly trying to achieve maximum guest satisfaction, we were very happy to read that you really enjoyed your stay here at the ARCOTEL John F. We will pass on your positive comments to all involved members of staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

The team of the ARCOTEL John F in Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

My experience here was very comfortable. The rooms are a nice size. The breakfast is tasty with a plentiful buffet service. Cozy bar area in lobby with a self-service shoe shine downstairs. The surrounding area is completely under construction, but there is a nearby metro station. I'd suggest heading out to the more artsy Mitte district to find galleries and more lively places to eat or shop.

Room Tip: Most rooms have twin beds so book ahead for a queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor.com. On this occasion we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation in the ARCOTEL John F and that you were satisfied with our breakfast buffet and friendly staff.

We would be delighted to be of any assistance in the future should your travel plans lead you back to the Berlin area.

Kind regards,

Your ARCOTEL John F team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay May bank holiday weekend. The hotel is very central not far from unter den linden and close to the humbolt box. once you get your bearings it is easy to get around. Breakfast was varied and catered for all tastes. bedrooms were very comfortable and hotel staff were very helpful. we were able to check in online for our flights home from the business center and at no extra charge. remember if you want to visit the Reichstag you must prebook at least 1-2 weeks in advance, the earlier the better. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanFitzgScanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We appreciate that you took the time to rate us on tripadvisor. We would be very happy to have you visiting us again in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

The team of the ARCOTEL John F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#57 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#50 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcotel John F? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcotel John F

Property: Arcotel John F
Address: Werderscher Markt 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Berlin
#28 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#32 Family Hotel in Berlin
#50 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#57 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#62 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcotel John F 4.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcotel John F reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel John f Berlin
Arcotel John f Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing