We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Execellent hotel in great location for visiting Berlin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sarotti-Hoefe
Ranked #199 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Execellent hotel in great location for visiting Berlin”
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Stayed at Sarotti Hoefe this past weekend. This is our third time to stay at this hotel.
The location is perfect for visiting Berlin. The hotel rooms are very comfortable and extreamly clean. The bath room is well equiped. There is a mini bar and safe in the room. Also there is a iron and ironing board and umberella if required. The only negative about the hotel is that it does not have a lift to the bed rooms but I am sure a member of staff would carry luggage if nescessary. The rooms are located through a courtyard. To the front of the hotel is bar/cafe which serves good coffee's and cakes. The breakfast room is small but there are good range of breakfast items available. The staff in this hotel are very courteous and helpful. Our stay at the Sarotti Hoefe enhanced our visit to Berlin. The next time we visit Berlin we will of course choose the Sarotti Hoefe once again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KilleenIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    62
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
54
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

I stayed in the hotel for four nights. It was very easy to find and, on arrival, was made to feel very welcome by the staff. As mentioned previously, there isn't a lift in the hotel, but if I had needed it, someone would have happily carried my case to the room for me. The hotel also will store you bag on your last day (if you want to go sightseeing). You just need to leave the bag packed in the room and they will take it to reception for you.

The rooms were of a very good size (I'm used to cramped accommodations in major citites). The only complaint I had of the room itself was that the overhead shower, on occasion, would go very hot. The hand shower (also in the shower cubicle) was fine though. The room didn't have air conditioning, but did have a ceiling fan and plenty of windows for ventiliation. It also had heaters, if needed. The room also had a mini bar, safe, iron, TV and free wifi. For an extra charge you can also have a DVD player. In short, it has everything you need.

As the hotel was "off" the road (in a courtyard), it was very quiet other than the coming and going of guests. However, my main, and possibly only real critcism, was that the corridors in the hotel had big metal doors at the end (to the adjoining stairwell). At times, when they closed, the noise of the doors was pretty loud. Also, housekeeping started at 8am and was fairly noisy for a while. If you're a light sleeper and fancy a lie in, you might want to bear that in mind.

I didn't opt for the breakfast. I did eat there one morning, and although the hot chocolate was divine, I found the croissant very dry. The cakes looked good though.

All that said, the location (a few mins to Mehringdamm U-Station) was great. If, like me, you arrive at Tegel airport, getting to the hotel is easy. Catch the X9 bus from the airport to Jakob-Kaiser-Platz U-station. Then take the U7 underground line to Mehringdamm (in the direction of Rudow).

Over all.. compared to some of the other hotels I viewed, and the associated prices, I was very comfortable. Just a shame about the 8am noise, that's all. Incidentally though.. the housekeeping was great. Very clean, fresh towels every day.

I hope you enjoy your stay and Berlin - a great place!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentFlyer1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Very clean and nice rooms in old factory. This hotel is good to see and stay. Not recomended for people with difficulties to walk in stairs (no elevator).

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

This is my second time staying at the Sarotti Hoefe - I was tempted to change after looking at TripAdvisor as for some reason not too many people have yet rated this place - and I am glad I didn't. The Sarotti is an excellent choice with fantastic rooms, exposed brickwork, free standing bath, plasma TV, really clean, great value mini-bar, and everything else that you would want from a hotel. And it costs less than 100 euros per night. Breakfast and drinking is done in the beautiful cafe which is a popular local haunt, so the place doesn't actually feel like a hotel, but more like somewhere with great rooms off a courtyard out the back of a neighbourhood cafe. The location is perfect for those who want to stay in or around Kreuzberg, or those who want to be central to attractions like Alexanderplatz but don't want to stay in some of the more characterless areas such as those around Friedrichstrasse.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barneyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We really enjoyed our four nights stay at the Sarotti Hoefe. We had one of the 'Executive Suites' which in fact turned out to be an appartment with kitchen and even a fireplace, tastefully renovated and furnished. Kind of 'old style Berlin' living ... spotless !

They serve a very good breakfast choice in the coffee shop; it's also a nice hangout to sip an Espresso or Macchiato while serving the web on their free WIFI.

We will come back any time !

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timeCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in December 2008. Check in is in the bar-cafe downstairs and then you go out and round to the courtyard and up stairs ( no elevator!) - we were on the 2nd floor(52 steps and yes I counted them) and though not really a problem, it would be difficult for some people. The rooms are interesting, spacious and clean, although not luxurious, but the bathroom was very clean and modern with a super shower. Because the rooms are at the back and face onto the courtyard it is blissfully quiet at night - Mehringdamm is quite a busy street but we couldn't hear the traffic at all.
The buffet breakfast is served in the bar and is good and very generous - the items offered on Christmas morning were unusual to say the least! zB Wurst und Kartoffelsalat.
The disadvantage, I would say, is that, apart from the bar downstairs which by the way is a lovely place to have a snack-lunch or a late-night drink, there is no residents' lounge as such - there is a smokers' lounge but we don't smoke!
It is a 5 minute walk to the U-Bahn stop at Mehringdamm and if you have a 3 or 7-day travel ticket it is really easy to get around Berlin. Just around the corner from the Sarotti is Bergmanstrasse and a huge selection of eating or drinking places - very good and good value!
On Christmas Eve we went to a Carol Service ,,Christvesper" in the Berliner Dom - wonderful! On Christmas Day we queued in the freezing cold with our German friends to go to up to the (Norman Foster designed) dome of the Reichstag but it was well worth it! and that night we went to a Weihnachtskonzert in the new Philharmonie. If you like modern architecture a boat-trip will take you up the Spree and you will get an amazing view of the Bundeskanzleramt and the Reichstag.... We would both say you should not miss going to see Nefertiti (in Altes Museum at the moment); more beautiful than the Mona Lisa we reckon by far. The queues at the Fernsehturm were so long we did not wait.

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful staff.
  • Disliked — Lack of a comfortable lounge.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NIrelandMargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten
Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten
#355 of 634 in Berlin
51 reviews
Kreuzberg
Hotel Johann
Hotel Johann
#33 of 634 in Berlin
417 reviews
Kreuzberg
Hotel Transit
Hotel Transit
#277 of 634 in Berlin
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
No photo provided
Kreuzberg
City Hotel Gotland
City Hotel Gotland
#516 of 634 in Berlin
53 reviews
Kreuzberg
Acama Kreuzberg Hotel+Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sarotti-Hoefe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sarotti-Hoefe

Property: Hotel Sarotti-Hoefe
Address: Mehringdamm 57, 10961 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sarotti-Hoefe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HRS, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sarotti-Hoefe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sarotti Hoefe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing