We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap, comfortable and clean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshinehouse-Berlin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berlin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunshinehouse-Berlin
Save
You added Sunshinehouse-Berlin to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Wexstrasse 8, 10825 Berlin, Germany (Schoneberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 190 Berlin B&B and Inns
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
1 review
“cheap, comfortable and clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed in Sunshinehouse with myboyfriend. The receptionists were nice, friendly and well English speakers. The room was quite big; but the fridge was very small and the oven was broken. The room and the bathroom were really clean and shiny. It is a bit far from the center; but it has a well-connected metro line. Supermarkets are near. They don't have double beds; if you are a couple, you need to put the beds together but it is not allowed-we did it anyway (: the most negative was the internet. We paid 5 euros for 24 hours and we could use it just 1 hour, then we lost the connection. However, it was really cool, i surely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajenja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

As far as budget accomodation goes, I cant fault this place at all. The staff were accomodating, its easy to get to on the transport network and lots of restaurants nearby. The only downside I could think of was that there was no free wireless internet - but for the price I cant really complain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I like Sunshinehouse hostel as much as possible.
Always whene I am in Berlin I stay there and I am really satisfied. Everything is clean, rooms are comfortable and stuff is very nice.
And all that for 19 Euro per night.
I think this is the best choice for young people in Berlin

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dumpling_from_Prague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Nice Hostel, Close to Innbrucker Platz station, where there also is a supermarket (LIDL, very cheap). Good restaurants in the area.
Large rooms. Noisy waterpipes.
(no free wireless internet)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

I accompanied a group of teenagers on a trip to Berlin. For three nights in this hostel I slept just a few hours. The kids were not the problem, but the rooms were. The floor was squeaking and every sound was amplified in an interesting but tiring way. When the kids on the floor above were tiptoeing it sounded like they were about to wreck the whole place. On top of it the light outdoors was lit every time someone was passing and the blinds couldn’t stop the light from finding its way to my bed. And when someone was walking in the outdoor staircase, the metal was making its own annoying sound.

It didn’t improve when a bunch of other teenagers were partying all night long.

What’s good? Well, the people working there were nice and the place was clean. The breakfast wasn’t impressvie but it worked. It is easy to go downtown by S- or U-bahn. The park nearby is nice (and you can visit the site where Kennedy said he was a Berliner). If you want to prepare your own meals there are two grocery shops in the neighbourhood. There are also some restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barfota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Schoeneberg Hotel
Schoeneberg Hotel
#315 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Schoneberg
CCA Hotel Pension Delta
CCA Hotel Pension Delta
#614 of 662 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Exe Hotel Klee Berlin
#246 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Hotel-pension Dorma
Hotel-pension Dorma
#60 of 190 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Hotel Atlas Berlin
#34 of 190 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Schoneberg
Jugendhotel berlincity
Jugendhotel berlincity
#112 of 354 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshinehouse-Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshinehouse-Berlin

Property: Sunshinehouse-Berlin
Address: Wexstrasse 8, 10825 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshinehouse-Berlin 3*
Number of rooms: 70

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing