We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“fancy food, good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HARTMANNs Restaurant - CLOSED

HARTMANNs Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fancy food, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

me and the wife ate here and really rated this place, made a nice change from the standard german fare, highly recommend this place, good idea to ring for a table at busy periods, we had to wait a bit

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank henlubski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    19
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfull!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I went there in end of march. We really enjoyed our dinner at hartmanns. The atmosphere was relaxed with the fireplace in the back and the service was friendly and attentive. It was possible to differentiate the number of courses which suited us fine.

The food was really good. Everything was cooked to perfection and was innovative and precise. We particularly liked our fish dishes and the dessert.

All in all it was a very relaxed experience of a michelin restaurant - in a good way :).

Helpful?
Thank Mads R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Met expectations and more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We went because of the review in the New York Times. The restaurant was wonderful, as was the food. We had a 3-course and a 4-course tasting menu so that we could share the cheese course. They were cool with that, and they were also considerate about speaking German with me and English with my husband. We enjoyed a bottle of Badische chardonnay - so dry you could almost sense the chalkiness of the soil it grew in. We ate there on March 23. It wasn't cheap (180 Euros for two) but well worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MayoMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Look no further!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful 3 days in Berlin in January and having read some reviews on TA I booked a table at Hartmanns for a Saturday night.
What a fantastic choice that was! We had the full tasting menu and I was so pleased we did. The food was excellent, a clearly excellent chef at the top of his game. From the amuse bouche onwards the timings and the taste of the dishes was near on perfection.
The service was excellent, the atmosphere informal, a thoughtful wine list. I doubt much could have been improved upon.
I have been to many lovely Michelin starred restaurants from 1 to 3 stars, and this was one of the most memorable meals had, money well spent.

Thanks to all at Hartmanns- I am seriously tempted to go back to Berlin just for dinner!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank georginac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a cosy atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This excellent small restaurant is deservedly well known in Berlin. The chef takes traditional German ingredients and dishes, and gives them a modern twist. I enjoyed the flexibility of the taster menu: you can choose how many courses you want, and which ones, and unlike many such menus you don't need to have exactly the same as the rest of the table. We had four courses, and each one was delicious: beautifully cooked, with great attention to detail. The friendly waiting staff are happy to recommend wine by the glass, and will suggest what they think goes well with each dish, and allow you to try it before making up your mind.

The atmosphere is cosy and down-to-earth: it's a simple style, and won't wow you with impressive decor, but equally it's not stuffy or pretentious, and you can easily relax. I would highly recommend coming here for a special dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nutmeg2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HARTMANNs Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing