We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Am Spittelmarkt
Ranked #149 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just back from a 5 night stay. The hotel is in a great location in a quiet location. U bahn station 2 min walk and very easy and cheap to use. We were not happy with our room because right outside our room was a building site. We asked to move but the hotel was full so had to wait until the next day. The building work started at 4-50am. Having said that when we went to reception and told them they dealt with the situation vey quickly and we had another room within 15mins. I had emailed the hotel prior to our stay asking for a high floor which we got and the room we changed to was on the same floor but on the other side and we had no problem there and didn't here a thing from the building. We had friends staying in the annex building and their room was quiet too.The hotel is a budget hotel but is good value. Very clean everywhere good size rooms and the staff very friendly and helpful. We didn't have the breakfast the first few days (due to comments on here saying it was dark and cramped in the breakfast room) we shouldn't have listened to that. We did go down there and it was a very nice clean airy dining room, nicely set out in smaller area's there was a good choice and very fresh food. I would stay here again if I was visiting Berlin. Don't be put off by my comments on the building work over the road just email the hotel prior to your visit and ask for a room on the side of the hotel over looking the annex building or in the annex NO noise there

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms overlooking the annex or in the annex while the building work is going on
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shopaholics2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    919
    262
    56
    19
See reviews for
241
743
112
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in May on a stopover in Berlin, and I was pleasantly surprised by the BW Spittelmarkt. Very nice 'budget' hotel, located steps from the heart of Berlin. The hotel itself consists of 2 buildings, which seem to have been recently refurbished/renovated nicely.

Location is fantastic, just SE of Museum Island. The hotel is a quick 2 min walk from the 'Spittelmarkt' U-Bahn stop (ride to/from Alexanderplatz is 4 minutes). Can also walk easily: Museum Island 5 min, Pergamon 12-15 min, and Alexanderplatz/Fernsehenturm 15-20 min.

Highlights/notes:
- Front desk staff were kind and friendly. Check-in was a breeze. Helped out with all requests I had, and all those I met spoke English very well.
- Room was nicely sized (for Euro standards). I requested a double bed (rather than 2 singles pushed together) in my reservation, and was happy to see that they met the request.
- Bathroom was small but very practical.
- Very very clean room/bathroom. The housekeeping staff here do a very nice job here. I'm always unsure when booking more 'budget' places how their cleaning standards are going to be, but it was not a problem at all here.
- Buffet breakfast is available for 9 euros PP (I didn't try). There are also 2 other cheap bakeries/cafes on the same street if you want other options.
- Hotel offers FREE wifi, which was a very decent speed. Was able to watch news clips/sports highlights without a problem. Note however, that for some reason the wireless network does NOT connect with iOS (iPhone/iPad) devices...I'm not sure why (didn't ask either), but my Macbook laptop DID work - so it was fine for me. They also have free computers for you to use in the lobby if needed.
- For what you get at the price (I paid 50 euros/$65 per night, no breakfast) you can't really go wrong. For future budget stays in Berlin, I wouldn't hesitate to return.


Definitely one of the best budget-friendly hotels in Berlin without a doubt. For cheaper than some 'private' single/twin rooms at some hostels, you can have an actual hotel room here! Would happily recommend this place to others.

Thanks for reading!

*Please quickly hit the 'yes' review was helpful, if you found this beneficial for your travel planning. Cheers and happy travels! =)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Located in a quieter section of Berlin, this was a nice modern hotel. Very well priced.
It is right next to a U bahn station that is a few stops away from the city centre, or an easy 20 min walk to the city centre

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a good 5 night break here, room was very clean and quiet and staff were very helpful and friendly. Free wi-fi in the room was very helpful and useful. Location was extremely convenient very close to a subway station (Spittelmark) which was very useful for sightseeing around Berlin. Area around the hotel was fine and a small Austrian coffee shop was handy for breakfast.

When checking out a luggage/locker room allows bags to be stored easily.

Overall recommended for a visit to Berlin

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Turtle84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely 4 night stay here, friendly staff at reception greets you, room was lovely and very spacious clean and fresh, no coffee facilities in room but a box with kettle tea coffee ect was available at reception if you wanted it.this hotel is central to almost everything in berlin centre, bakeries and coffee shop on the doorstep,just round the corner is the tube from there connections to anywhere in berlin all in all great place to stay

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank weddings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We went there during summer time.
We were so happy when we found the air conditioning was working in this hotel.
Because we stayed in other hotels in germany during our journey, and the weather was really toooo hot(over 30 degree)!

It was fairly new hotel in a quiet location but very close to the metro station.
The room was very cleaned and staffs were helpful.

We stayed there for five night and got a great deal from Hotels.com
It was ''Stay 2 Nights and Save 20% on Your Stay''/
We booked a family room for three people and it was £349.17 in total.
So around £24 per person per night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice_Kitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Excellent quality, clean areas and quiet neighborhood. Helpful and friendly staff, which is good (and rare) to find in chain hotels.

There is a nice bakery just down the street, a nice opportunity if you don't want the hotel breakfast. Location is superb, within walking distance there are Alexanderplatz, metro station, bus stops and Checkpoint Charlie.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afs216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Best Western Hotel Berlin-Mitte
Mitte
TITANIC Comfort Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Park Plaza Wallstreet Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
#75 of 634 in Berlin
2,741 reviews
Mitte
Grimm's Hotel
Grimm's Hotel
#101 of 634 in Berlin
235 reviews
Mitte
Derag Livinghotel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Am Spittelmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Am Spittelmarkt

Property: Best Western Hotel Am Spittelmarkt
Address: Neue Grunstrasse 28, 10179 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Family Hotel in Berlin
#131 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hotel Am Spittelmarkt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Am Spittelmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Am Spittelmarkt
Best Western Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing