We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a city of pork...”

Midtown Grill Berlin
Ranked #102 of 8,590 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Description: Following the tradition of the old American steakhouses, at Midtown Grill you will find the best steaks in town. Start your evening with one of our legendary Martini Cocktails or the “Potsdamer Bloody Mary”, while the flavor of grilled meet and homemade bread sends your senses on a culinary journey. While enjoying your meal, watch the brisk activities in our open show kitchen and get enchanted by our hearty service.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“In a city of pork...”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

...go get some beef! yes it's an american style restaurant in Berlin, but after three nights of schnitzel and currywurst, I was keen for a good cocktail and a plate of blue steak! I wasn't disappointed: located conveniently in Potsdamer platz, the heart of post-war, Allied controlled Berlin. Midtown Grill is a superb brasserie that specialises in bovine cuts, with a menu in both English and German and charming staff. The cocktails are mixed perfectly, they have a great European wine list and desserts are to die for - they even bring the bill with a flame and some marshmallows to polish off your evening! Sounds odd, but a lovely touch. There's a relaxed atmosphere and our three hours flew by, just don't expect to see many Germans eating here - this is definitely for the tourist or the international business meeting, but the food is excellent, though not the cheapest.

Our meal for 2 was €130, 3 courses, wine and cocktails.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    237
    67
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A big dissapointement”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

While staying in Berlin for bussines, I visited this restaurant with bussines partners four times before and every time was o.k. and steaks were realy the best.
So this time I stayed in Berlin privatly and wanted to surprise my husband with the best steak ever. We ordered well done for him and he received a steak with blood almost pouring out of it. As this was definitely not well done and he refused to eat it, we asked the waitress to replace it. She took this steak away and brought the same one back. It took too much time and she brought it back almost burneed from outside, but inside still far from well done. Also the meat itself was full of fat and realy of poor quality.
My dish and side dishes went cold in all this time of making experiments with the steak.
We were quite hungry and with all side dished and wine on the table we decided to try to go through this dinner and not just to walk out. Seing no result in burned steak and also not any interest from waitress to deal with it for another time, my husband forced himself to eat what was meat and not with too much blood. When asking for the bill, they automaticaly deducted 10% from the bill for inconveniences. We explained that we do not need this 10%, but they have to understand this was an important evening for us and they actualy managed to ruin the dinner we planned. Then waitress called the head waitress and we explained the same to her. They would offer us a desert free of charge, but we refused to have more experiments in this restaurant. So she decided to took the steak off the bill, wich was a good guesta- steak was far from what we ordered, so we accepted this offer.
But our evening was still ruined, we did not come there to have something for free, we wanted to have a prefect dinner. I promised my husband a nice surprice in this restaurant. Well, he got a surprise, but not the one I was hoping for.
I believe this was more an exception as every other time the food was o.k., but it would be better to watch out for the service of this restaurant. Maybe their trend is going down.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Big in beef”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have visited this restaurant four times, last in April 2012. The first three experiences were the best, very good beef and big location, though still kind of intime. On my latest visit the food was less interesting, the beef was not as tasty as usual. Still, you can select for yourself, the table suggests many different kinds of steaks, some are quite expensive. You wil choose from different side-orders and you can mingle as you please. Vegetables are fresh and good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Convenient and surprisingly good”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were tired and almost chose room service but took seats at the bar overlooking the chefs' kitchen. It was a lucky break! The chefs provided great entertainment and the meal was more than acceptable. A mix-up with my order was quickly rectified and we were pleasantly surprised by a modest reduction in the bill to compensate.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best steak in Berlin!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friend lives in Munich, (she's a Canadian there for work), and had been dying for a great steak. I went to visit her and we met in Berlin where she was for a conference. This restaurant came highly recommended to her for it's great steak. Well, let me tell you it did not disappoint!

- great service
- good wine
- fantastic steak! if you're there, get steak (but ALL the food was very good)
- tables are spaced far enough apart that you don't feel like you're on top of anyone
- they bring marshmallows to toast right AT the table = a fun little extra they include
- I also loved the free little post-card they provide, and MAIL for you :) - I was sure to fill one out and send it home :)

there is also a fantastic cigar room with some GREAT cigars reasonably priced right behind the restaurant - stumbled upon it when I left the restaurant to use the restrooms.

We loved it so much that my girlfriend is back in Berlin this weekend with her family, and they made a special trip back to Midtown Grill.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlvb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midtown Grill Berlin also viewed

 

Been to Midtown Grill Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing