We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and reasonably priced.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Ranked #282 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had requested a double room and the confirmation stated "comfort double room", located on the top floor or in the rear wing. What we got was an attic room with sufficient space for 2 single beds placed end to end. When we raised this issue we were told that the 2 single beds constituted a double bed and it was "a wish to get them together"! We were upgraded the next day to a double bedroom at no extra cost after much discussion ! The attic rooms are not air-conditioned but did have a small oscilating fan, this was not much use when the temperature was 38c outside ! We requested an ironing board and iron, but, received the iron not the ironing board as they we too busy ! It is a shame as the hotel is quite lovely as is the breakfast, the rooms were well maintained. However the main staff made things just too difficult ! All the 39 TV channels are in German only !

Room Tip: Save your money and go somewhere where your custom is valued ! Room 504 avoid at all costs unless y...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 218 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Air conditioning missing. And from time to time it gets hot in Berlin, too. Rooms are very small, bathrooms too. Breakfast is good on average, but not outstanding as described. You can save your 12 euro and have breakfast outside

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepe_moeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is a perfect base in Prenzlauer Berg. On a lively street with two U-bahn stations, an S-bahn station and tram stops nearby, yet the rooms are in a tranquil hof (courtyard). The lovely breakfast is an extensive buffet with meat and vegetarian options and the apricot cake is sumptuous. The room was clean and spacious with its own terrace. The hotel provides lots of services and represents excellent value. Would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I recently stayed here with two friends for four nights. The room they put is in was more of a suite, with two bedrooms, a bathroom, and a kitchenette; it was very spacious and clean. The location is great, right across from a metro station in the Prenzlauer Berg district. Do NOT do your laundry here, however. We tried to do laundry one day (they allow you to do it yourself for five euros, or they can do it for you for five euros per article of clothing), and not only did the washer completely discolor our clothes, but we also had to pay to go to a laundromat because the dryer did not dry our clothes after leaving them in there for almost 2 hours. We shouldn't have had to pay the five euros. The staff was nice enough, but it seemed like only one person was knowledgeable regarding hotel policies and other basic stuff. Also, the breakfast is not worth 12 euros. In all, for the price and location, I'd come here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Arriving late at night we took the wrong door to the courtyard and found ourselves in a graffitied alleyway thinking that we'd made a terrible mistake. But it got much better. As a couple of friends, we'd booked a comfort twin but the room we were allocated was very roomy with lots of sitting space, balconied with a view over the leafy courtyard and had self-catering facilities. Beds were rather small. Breakfasts (with harpist at the weekend) were outstanding and much better than in many smarter hotels in which I've stayed. Wonderful having the U-bahn right at hand and staying in old East Berlin with interesting architecture and a diverse community. Do go and watch the Saturday bearpit karaoke in Mauer Park almost next door. Though I'm not really into imperial Russia, I quite enjoyed the theme and felt the hotel was less bland and predictable than others in the price range.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank philippamerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We just stayed here for three nights and I would go back here if in Berlin again. We got the s bahn 9 from the airport with only a few minutes walk after getting off at shoenhauser allee, and the hotel was just across the road from the u bahn station wheretrains ran every three minutes or so into mitte. The room was twin with a large couch, a table and chairs, a tv and a balcony. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable. We were a short walk from many many pubs, restaurant and beer gardens. This was a great find and meant we explored prenzlauer berg as well as the main central part of Berlin.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuntanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

First time in Berlin, our priorities were reasonable parking fee for our rental car, WiFi, and access to public transit. This little gem fit our needs perfectly. GPS took us directly to the location. No parking out front, but circled the block and found street parking. Easy check-in and verified we had booked the room with breakfast. They give you a code to a secured door to a courtyard. Go through the first courtyard to the second one and the entry to the hotel is on your left.

WiFi great! Breakfast great! Location to U, great! Staff, great even with minimal English :)

Coming from a small town in Oregon, USA we have no experience with public transit. Found an iPhone app titled BVG Journey Planner. You can put in where you are and where you want to go and it will route you using the U (subway), S (train), M (tram), or Bus by number. Either make sure you have an International data package or, calculate your various routes for the day and take a phone snapshot of the screen for later reference or write it down. Only thing that would have helped was to purchase a transit map. The free ones are too small to be sure if you are getting the correct connections.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Holiday Inn Berlin City Center East-Prenzlauer Allee
Prenzlauer Berg
Schall und Rauch Stadthotel
Schall und Rauch Stadthotel
#554 of 635 in Berlin
68 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#358 of 635 in Berlin
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
1A Apartment Guesthouse and Hotel
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#62 of 635 in Berlin
266 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Oderberger
Hotel Oderberger
#209 of 635 in Berlin
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg

Address: Schoenhauser Allee 140, 10437 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $88 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Zarenhof in Berlin Prenzlauer Berg is located at Schonhauser Allee in a trendy and vibrant area of the Prenzlauer Berg district. With its diverse cultural scene and countless trendy bars located in stunning "Founder's Period" architectural buildings, this district continues to attract more and more visitors. All the tourist attractions in Berlin - the Alexanderplatz, Museum Island, Brandenburg Gate etc. can all be reached in just a few minutes with the U2 underground line (the Eberswalder Strasse stop is right outside the door). Despite its central location, our bedrooms and apartments overlook the innermost courtyard and are therefore very quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing