We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, traditional German food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mutter Hoppe

Mutter Hoppe
Ranked #176 of 8,310 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mitte
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful, traditional German food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stumbled upon this cute neighborhood restaurant yesterday while walking through Nikoletaiplatz (sp?) and just had to return with my husband to try it out. This underground dining establishment is small, charming, and very inviting. Although the staff is GRUFF and you nearly have to tackle them to take your order, the food is well worth the wait and enduring the waitstaff.

All the portions are huge so bring your appetite and don't bother with appetizers before the main course. Head straight for the "Two Sausages" (as my husband did) or in my case the giant terrine (really like a small bucket!) of potato soup with bread. Neither of us could finish our meals due to the heaping portions and we wished somehow we had left room for the amazing looking strudel.

We will definitely back and will plan to enjoy dessert. Our entire meal was just 25 EUR and that included a beer, double espresso, and banana juice plus our meals.

Affordable, charming, delicious....so who cares about the staff?

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank expensivecat9152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    310
    89
    31
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Fl.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We loved this restaurant, and even went twice during a four-day stay in Berlin. It's friendly and warm, with interesting displays of domestic equipment (sewing machines, cooking utensils, etc.) But of course, the reason to go here is the food, and it's typical German fare very well prepared and presented. The portions are huge. Beer is wonderful. The prices are exceptionally reasonable--we had lunch for three with drinks for under 50 euros, including tip, and dinner was just a bit more. Especially recommended: the pea soup "stew" with dark bread and the cheese plate, for 12 euros, which is huge and a real bargain. HIghly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margovince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Summer vacation dinner in Berlin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We visited this restaurant because of the recommendation of Berlin locals. It is an excellent choice. it is located near to Museum Island and near to Nikolaikirche. Our dinner for four with a 10 Euro tip was 64 Euroes which compares very favorably to other meals in Berlin. The food was very good with my wife having roast duck. We sat downstairs instead of outside due to showers. Very charming and very fast and efficient service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roger m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hearty German fare - go with an appetite!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Good value and tasty German grub - go with a big appetite! We went in December on recommendation of our tour guide at Sachsenhausen, and can see why it's his favourite restaurant - everything was delicious - we just needed a bit less of it!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jazzali13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

An amazing place in the oldest part of Berlin, looks fantastic, brilliant atmosphere, choice of food excellent and portion!OMG! Dont eat anything before you go there, big and hearty food :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goose182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mutter Hoppe also viewed

 

Been to Mutter Hoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing