We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food excellent value”

Bejte Ethiopian Restaurant
Ranked #276 of 8,524 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Schoneberg
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
836 reviews
512 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“Good food excellent value”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We visited during a short trip to Berlin and enjoyed both the experience and the food. Having never had Ethiopian food before we were a bit apprehensive.

The staff in the restaurant are exceptionally friendly and took time to explain the menu and made us feel at ease.

We ordered the shared meat and veg platter which consisted of sourdough flatbread with around 10 different veg and meat dishes on top. No knives and forks are provided the food is eaten with you hands using the flatbread to scope up the food.

The food was good and not expensive and we would recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilcoxm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    76
    21
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
berlin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“This is really something else”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Banana beer, honeywine, new spices and complete meal eaten with your hands...what a great place for a new experience. I stongly recommend this restaurant to anyone who likes a little adventure. This place is different, if you arrive during the coffee ceremony you will have the whole place smelling like smoked coffee beans for example, be prepared for something unique. It's charming in a rustical way, this is not a chic Mitte sushi bar if you know what I mean...just enjoy the friendly service, the fantastic food and the experience as a whole. We always go back to this place and everyone loved it so far. We never managed to finish the plate...maybe go there if you're really hungry :-)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank royo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stumbled on this little gem”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

After wandering the streets of Berlin on a cold autumn day, my friend and I stumbled on this little gem. I must say, having sampled ethiopian in quite a few cosmopolitan settings, this is by far the best. Delicious authentic food and decor, friendly waiting staff...Ethiopian beer! Yummy. Try it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chelleB252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OMG SOOOOO GOOD!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were in town on holiday and we were tired of Beer and Brats. After reading the hundreds of excellent reviews on Trip Advisor we decided on this Ethiopian restaurant. I cannot tell you how good it is, but whenever I'm in Berlin again, I will ALWAYS find time to eat at this restaurant. Note for those going there for the first time... Head to the Watercloset or Restroom when you get there because you eat with your hands. And I must say eating with your hands is SO MUCH FUN!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Farrah B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of the best Ethiopian restaurants”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Lovely Ethiopian restaurant with beautiful and authentic interior. And the food: DELICIOUS! We ordered kitfo (a dish made with raw or rare ground beef) and shiro wat (a dish based on chickpeas). They also serve Ethiopian honey wine (tej) and Ethiopian beer. Service was friendly and laid back. We did have to wait for some time before the meal was served but then again it was quite a busy evening. But we even went back the following day for lunch! Bat'am amasaganallo!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amsterdamned74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bejte Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Bejte Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing