We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel”
Review of Wombat's Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wombat's Berlin
Ranked #8 of 356 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very good hostel, the room is very big, everything is very clean, the space is vey nice, The room's area is very silence. The hostel has a good restaurant and a very good bar on the roof top. One of the best hostels that i ever been and for sure made my experience in berlin better!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophiaAndrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

I'm sure there are nicer places to stay in Berlin, but as far as value and fun go, Wombat's delivered. Located a close walk away from Alexandarplatz, and seconds away from a metro stop in a lively happening area, I found the place to be clean, roomy and ideal for a quick stay. I stayed in a 4-bed room, but only had one more person in the room during my stay. There were spacious individual lockers for everyone with an electronic key, and an ensuite bathroom which was spotless. The breakfast (for an additional 3 Euros) was fantastic. Fast wifi too, all the way into the room. The best thing about the hostel, however, is the happening rooftop bar with spectacular views of the tower. Happy hour beers at 1 Euro can't be topped - unless you have TWO happy hours, which Wombat's did. Staff was helpful and accommodating. Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaggageClaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed in a room for 4 people and we had the view of the television tower. The room was really clean and big enough. There are lockers for every person. The breakfast was really good! You were able to eat as much as you wanted and noone was checking.
The location of the hostel is really great since it is 2 min away from metro station and the area around has night life!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagicaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Staff is always available to help, well located, good prices. Most of the guest, as common in hostels, are young people, very polited.
The bar on the roof is a good place to meet people from other countries and speak/hear different languages/accents.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisbenseler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This place is very average and it's not cheap either. If you were coming here as a group of people to spend your time getting drunk or just not particularly bothered about amenities then maybe it would be okay. I paid €50 a night for a private room in which the wifi didn't work (they only promise wifi in the lobby which seems ridiculous). The breakfast is cheap but not good - just cold cuts, cereal and bread rolls (and never mind it being cheap, for €50 a night I ought to get a cold cut and some cereal for free!). Some of the staff were okay but a lot of them seemed permanently dazed and not particularly responsive (although poor service seems to be the norm in Berlin).

The location isn't great either. It's relatively close to all of the "sights" in Mitte but not actually that close - it's a walk of about 3/4km to hit the Tiertgarten and the Brandenburg Gate etc. Not near any particularly cool or good places to eat or drink that I was able to see. Contains its own bar which seemed alright.

On the whole overrated, as is Berlin itself!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 268AndrewG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Wombats is nicely located, near the metro and shops. The restaurant offers good breakfast which we certainly availed during our 3 days stay. Only problem was the wifi in the rooms during early evening, i had to go the lobby to connect and check in online for my flight the next day. The staff were cool and helpful. Will definitely stay here again and will recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

You want to wake up with the perfect view on Alex or spent the evening sitting on a roof terrace with a amazing view over Berlin? - do not miss Wombats then!!!
The hostel has super friendly stuff, is clean and tidy and the breakfast is more then what you can assume in a hostel.
Perfect place to stay in Berlin!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StudentenkussHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#9 of 635 in Berlin
2,611 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 356 in Berlin
1,272 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 356 in Berlin
925 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#10 of 356 in Berlin
2,262 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wombat's Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombat's Berlin

Address: Alte Schoenhauserstr.2, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 356 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: $14 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wombat's Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing