We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Tour Of Top Sights In Berlin”

SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Berlin
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$13.73*
and up
Berlin Pub Crawl Including VIP Club Entry
Ranked #1 of 610 Nightlife in Berlin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: FREE TOURS of Berlin every day in English and Spanish. Pub Crawls and tours of Sachsenhausen, Potsdam, Third Reich Berlin, Red Berlin and more.Founded in 2003 by Yale University graduate Chris Sandeman, SANDEMANs NEW Europe thrives on a simple concept: Everyone, no matter their budget, should be able to discover Europe through the eyes of an expert. Connecting great guides with smart travelers, we believe in supporting our local communities and are commited to giving a voice to self-employed guides who have chosen Berlin as their home.By ensuring that every native English or Spanish speaking guide represents our unique style of mixing history and story-telling while maintaining their own personality and flair, we've become one of the most popular tour companies in the world. Helping superb independent guides connect with thousands of travelers a day, we provide these local freelancers the possibility to inform and entertain you, and they employ us to spread the news about this great concept.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour Of Top Sights In Berlin”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our guide was terrific. She showed us the sights at a good pace, with wonderful descriptions. She knew her "history facts" well. No reason to pay for a tour of Berlin.... More fun to go with this group! Of course... remember to tip the guide, as that's their only salary!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank andrefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16,104
    1,482
    219
    104
    101
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Most Informative Walking Tour and free!!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

During recent city break in Berlin took in Sandemans FREE walking tour. Met our guide just by the Brandenburg Gate. Seemed a bit chaotic at first as so many people had registered for the tour however it was soon sorted out by the organisers and the overall group was split down between a number of different guides into about a group of 30 people. Our guide was David Jefferson and he was excellent with an amazing knowledge of not only the sites of Berlin but of the German and Prussian history. The tour took about 2.5 hours and took in many of the important sites of the city.
Highly recommended tour. - Phil B

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this tour”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

One of the best tours I have been on. Our guide, Inken from Germany did a great job of engaging our imaginations as she told us fascinating stories and took us through historical pathways in Berlin

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aditya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Berlin walking tour best yet!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Lindsey Anderson was the best guide, extremely knowledgeable and presented all info in a v interesting manner! Highly recommend this tour!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank trina008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great walking tours!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have done Sandemans Tours in 3 different cities now and all have been good value. We did 2 of Sandemans Berlin walking tours in the same day (our 1st day in Berlin) and it was a great way to get our bearings, see the city and get a good brief history of various places. Our tour guide was Rob...he was informative, funny and easy to talk to. Being about 6ft 6 it was easy to see him above the umbrellas and other tour leaders as well! Our group was about 30 odd people and he managed it well, making sure he stopped in places out of the rain and where everyone could hear what he was saying. He showed us a number of different sights and attractions and we felt this was a great little tour. At the end of the tour he was also happy to give you advice on attractions and things to do and would mark them on the map for us as well. Being a 'free' tour the payment was by tipping, so we gave him 10 euro each, which we felt was a fair price.

After this we did the 'Red Berlin' tour with guide Taylor - this tour was pre-paid 11 euro and ended up being GREAT value. The tour lasted over 4 hours and there was only about 15 people in the group! This was a history tour of Berlin, so was full of information and historical stops. Taylor was a great guide and again, easy to talk to and ask questions. Probably a little less 'funny' than Rob as a guide, but you could tell he was passionate and we were never at any point bored on the tour. Taylor even showed us to the East Side Gallery (Longest remaining part of the Berlin Wall) which was not in his tour agenda. Overall both these walking tours were excellent value and we would highly recommend them to anyone coming to Berlin.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Berlin also viewed

 

Been to SANDEMANs NEW Europe - Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing