We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worthy to be in the top ten”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lochner - CLOSED

Lochner
Cuisines: European, Central European, German, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not worthy to be in the top ten”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I pre booked this restaurant after reading the reviews on here. Well - we were disappointed with the whole experience. As we walked in we knew it was a mistake - we were the youngest ones there - everyone was older couple. The wine was ok, the service was ok, the food was ok. The main course was fish with turnip and not special at all - not worth the money.
The entertainment came with a couple who had an unexpected guest at their table who attempted to throw a glass of wine over the female - this made the evening fun for us but the food certainly didn't. Not worth it - we went to Rutz the next evening and it was sublime.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissGeorgeLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    24
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and good service ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our visit at Lochner. The food was great and interesting. Had a pumpkin curry and avocado soup which was delicious, an excellent monkfish as main and for dessert the cheese dumpling were simply amazing...
Service was friendly and pleasant.

Helpful?
1 Thank MassiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent service, wine & food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend each ordered the 3 course meal with accompanying wine. The waitress was very helpful and informative with her knowledge of the menu. The food was of a high standard and cooked to perfection. Having said that a couple of things could have done with a minor improvement (chocolate cake for desert being one of the them was not the most full of flavour). The wine that was chosen to go with each course was amongst the best i've had. Highly recommended if you want a romantic evening out or enjoy high quality food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by friends and luckily was only 50 metres from our hotel. Although a little pricey the food was absolutely amazing and the owner, a lovely lady who was the owner was so welcoming. We had the gourmet menu with wine and every course was delicious and the accompanying wine amazing. This restaurant is a must - amazing food, great wines, warm and courteous welcome - it's a must for any visitor looking for a gourmet treat in Berlin !

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank WilliamsFamily51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent German Wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Lochner is a modern restaurant offering you the choice of 2 different menus, on each menu you can choose for a 3-5 corse option. Cooking is very good and the presentation is modern. The highlight however is that they have paired each dish with outstanding German wines, if you place yourself in their hands you will have a wonderful trip around Germany's vineyards.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Twicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lochner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing