We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“good beer, hearty food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Max und Moritz

Max und Moritz
Ranked #118 of 8,002 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good beer, hearty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

A nice old beer hall to stop and drink their own beer while eating a hearty German meal of sausages and potatoes. Unique decor with the old comic characters of Max and Moritz decorations everywhere. Very friendly and happy place to pass an evening.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank djteter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    432
    99
    36
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
“Excellent. Typical German food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

It was very good and very typical place with nice people. Don't forget to bring cash with you because credit card are not accepted.
It is a nice typical place that i will not forget.

Helpful?
Thank MiguelCities
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best food in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The atmosphere is comfy and traditional-style, the smoked pork with sauerkraut is an absolute must-try! This was one of the highlights of our Berlin trip!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Albenaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good german food and beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

we came here on sunday evening seated upstairs.
had a good wholesome german meal.
mixture of locals and tourists good atmosphere
service was also good.
would book ahead just incase.
recommended

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JL1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Traditional food and fantastic beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was a great plce to visit - so glad I followed the TA tips. The restaurant can be found about a 5 minute walk from Moritzplatz ubahn. On entering the bar it was like stepping back in time; old tiled walls and dark wood furniture. We arrived at approx 1730 and soon after that the place filled up fairly fast. We hadn't booked a table and were very apologetically told they were very busy, but we could have the table for drinks only - which we did. We all drank the Kreuzberg Moller which is an extremely tasty natural and unfiltered beer. After a couple of drinks we were about to leave and to our delight were told they had a table for us. The prices are pretty reasonable for the quality of food and we were all highly delighted with our selections. I had a pork fillet with a plum and red wine sauce and it was excellent. If you can still fit in a desert after the generous main dish I would recommend the apple strudel. I cannot praise this restaurant enough and would urge you to book prior to visiting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaserine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max und Moritz also viewed

 

Been to Max und Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing