We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I did not like it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte
Ranked #190 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The room was clean, but it is boring for me. I like nice hotels who smell nice. We stayed for two nights and then changed it for the rest of the stay.
The wifi did not work for most of the time.
The only nice thing about this hotel was the lemon water served in the reception.
You can find nicer hotels for the same price.
very small and low beds.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank N, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time, commenting on your stay and are very sorry that we were unable to meet all your expectations.
We have taken your points into consideration.

BEST regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

It was the most bizzare room we have stayed in. On level 6 in the building next to the main. It was massive with bathroom with tub (was a bit annoying had only a nozzle to wet self with and roof was slanted so had to sit down in tub to shower), bedroom with fan and tv and big windows, lounge room with windows opening out to rooftop, and a study that looked more like an interrogation room. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly and our 4 night stay was enjoyable and very cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank N, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your comments. We are glad you spend an enjoyable time in Berlin and are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

BEST regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in July 2013. Very positive experience. Rooms are large and very comfortable. Hotel is well situated for public transport to and around city. U8 underground is five minutes walk, trams run outside the door and S Bahn station is only 10 minutes away. Wi Fi available throughout hotel. Bar is reasonably priced though dearer than ordinary bars. One disadvantage is lack of air conditioning which would be helpful on a hot night in Berlin. Didn't eat in hotel as breakfast seemed pricey but there are several places locally to have a good and reasonably priced breakfast. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubhghaill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank N, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your comments on this page, we are glad you spend an enjoyable time in Berlin and that our team was able to provide great service .

We have taken all points into consideration and are glad you overall had a good time and looking forward to your next visit.

BEST regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The room was clean and spacious. My only complaint was that there was no Kettle in the room and I am accustomed to having this basic amenity in my previous stays in hotels. Other than that though, no complaints. I found it conveniently located near to the underground station. This was only around a 10 minute walk. It was also pretty close to the Train Station which I got from SFX Airport. It isn't the most centrally located hotel if you're looking to go to all the major tourist hot spots (which are located mostly in Mitte) but the commute into the city is easy and the Metro system is highly functional and reliable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank N, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your comments on this page, we are glad you spend an enjoyable time in Berlin and that our team was able to provide the great service we aim for.

I apologize that you did'tn had a kettle in your room. Of course you had to get one on request at reception.

I'm especially happy that you have enjoyed the clean and spacious room and looking forward to your next visit.

BEST regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Hotel was too far, staff did not explain metro , S and U ban, we thought it was one metro system and it is not.
Room was nice, but ugly view.Very difficult to find rooms and escape roots. As the lift was broken could not find the way out and a young receptionist was irritated having to show the way. This building does not look like on the picture ,it is an ugly yellow brick.
Nice breakfast.
Where do those pictures come from? My room did not look like it,

Room Tip: not the central location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank N, Leiter Front Office at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at the BEST WESTERN Grand City Hotel Berlin Mitte.

I'm very sorry that the interior and the structural conditions of this hotel not correspond to what you expect from a hotel of this category. However, we can assure that we meet all classification features a 4 star hotel.

Our team is know to be very professional, kind and always willing to help. We are sorry to hear that you have not met this attitude throughout your stay. Your comments have been taken into considerations.

I'm glad to hear that the nice room and the nice breakfast ist still in good remembrance.

We hope to have the chance to prove that we are trying our best the next time you stay with us.

BEST regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

As other travellers have pointed out - the location is not what they have expected. It can be argued that it belongs to Mitte as it is defined geographically but the name is terribly confusing for those who do not know Berlin and when they research Mitte as being something central, it is just the most logical thing to expect that a hotel bearing such a name would be located centrally. That's something I did not like. I call this misleading advertising/branding. Brought my rating from excellent to very good.

Second thing I thought was inappropriate - I know a lot of hotels do that though, was to charge roughly 20 EUR for parking the car in the hotel per day. If they were central then I would say BE IT but for a hotel so far off? There is free parking in front of the hotel but finding a spot there after spending a day of walking around the city - not the best idea. So this brought my rating down to average.

Other than that - friendly and helpful staff. Free wifi - ask for a password at the reception - I wonder why they don't mention it without being asked - this tempts me to bring it down to poor but hey - the rooms were really clean and it seems recently renovated. The beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank N, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I'm very sorry that we were unable to meet all your expectations

Our 4-star Best Western Grand City Hotel Berlin Mitte is centrally located in the northern part of the Berlin city centre, close to the inter-regional railway station Berlin-Gesundbrunnen. Our Berlin Mitte hotel's optimum connection to the public transport network and the city motorway is ideal for business travellers and Berlin visitors. Prenzlauer Berg, Mitte, Friedrichstrasse, Kurfuerstendamm, the Berlin Messe trade fair centre and Berlin Tegel Airport TXL can be reached swiftly and easily from our hotel in Berlin Mitte.

Our parking fee of 17 € per day based on comparable hotels and car parks in our immediate environment. Since these parking areas are also guarded, we also try to watch for a good price-performance . Alternatively, our guests have the opportunity to park the cars for free along the Osloer Straße or in the adjacent residential area.

We have taken all points into consideration and I'm glad to hear that the clean room and the comfortable bed is remained in good memory.

BEST regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel DOES have wi-fi, but you must ask reception for the code.
This hotel DOES have hot drinks facilities but you must ask for them at reception.
This hotel IS in Mitte, the modern MITTE! It was previously in the West Berlin division of WEDDING but when the divisions were re-organised, this area became part of MITTE.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stockelmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank N, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guests

thank you very much for your recommendation. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay and we wish you all the BEST looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

BEST regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
#313 of 635 in Berlin
2,169 reviews
mk hotel berlin
#458 of 635 in Berlin
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Berlin West
#263 of 635 in Berlin
410 reviews
Lichtenberg
City Hotel Berlin East
City Hotel Berlin East
#298 of 635 in Berlin
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte

Address: Osloer Str. 116a, 13359 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Best Western Grand City Hotel Berlin Mitte)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $67 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Berlin
Berlin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing