We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte
Ranked #202 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights. Although not in Mitte as other reviewers have said it is extremely easy to get to city centre as S-bahn station is only about 5-10 min walk (or 1 tram stop away if your feeling lazy ;-) ). The staff are are all very friendly and spoke excellent english. I would have no hesitation staying here if in Berlin again.

Thank wayneomac
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Frank N, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for taking the time, commenting on your stay and are very happy that we were able to meet your expectations and that our team was able to provide the great service we aim for.

I'm looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

BEST regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is good for a city trip but not a four star in my opinion.

On arrival it was possible for me to have a room immediately even if I was arriving early at around 9:30 am, which was very good. The reception staff was friendly too.
My room was located in the second part of the building. Unfortunately there was never any staff at the reception desk in this part and my telephone was not labeled so that i always had to walk over to the reception if I had any questions.
The rooms are quite big and the bathroom also, with a nice bathtub. The rooms are equiped very minimalistic, no minibar or fridge and the room looks quite empty. The room itself was clean but the bathroom had dirty towels in it and still hair on the floor. On my second day i had no warm water in the room.
The restaurant in the lobby area is good but not cheap.
Would stay here again if these issues are followed up by the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerHenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank N, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share comments about your experience in our BEST WESTERN Grand City Hotel Berlin Mitte.. We have taken all points into consideration and are glad you had a good time.

I'm looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

BEST regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The accommodation and service. Great price as well. Location-wise, the hotel close to the city and easy trains and transportation means. I had a great three nights stay.












The accommodation and service. Great price as well. Location-wise, the hotel close to the city and easy trains and transportation means. I had a great three nights stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cambelltom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank N, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for taking the time, commenting on your stay and are very happy that we were able to meet your expectations and that our team was able to provide the great service we aim for.

I'm looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

BEST regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Although the hotel says it is Best Western Grand City Hotel Berlin Mitte. It is not located in our sense of Mitte (which is the center of the city.) It is actually a bit away from the city center. About 7 metro stations and 2 tram stations away! (Well Mitte is a large area.)

Aside from the location issue, the place is well kept, clean, large, providing free wi-fi, and inexpensive. If you are on a budget, this hotel is a very good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank N, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time, commenting on your stay and are very happy that we were able to meet your expectations and that our team was able to provide the great service we aim for.

Our Hotel is centrally located in the northern part of the Berlin city centre, close to the inter-regional railway station Berlin-Gesundbrunnen. Our hotel's optimum connection to the public transport network and the city motorway is ideal for business travellers and Berlin visitors. Prenzlauer Berg, Mitte, Friedrichstrasse, Kurfuerstendamm, the Berlin Messe trade fair centre and Berlin Tegel Airport TXL can be reached swiftly and easily from our hotel in Berlin Mitte.
We are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

BEST regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just back from a two night stay in this hotel. It was easily got to from Bornholmer st. train station after a direct train ride from schonfeld airport (approx 40min). The receptionist welcomed us right away, spoke very good English and was very nice. She answered our questions about the best way to get to specific sights in city. We also received free wifi log on details. Our double room was 2 single beds together which was fine. The room was warm with heating we could control ourselves. The bedroom as well as bathroom were very clean. We couldn't believe how nice the room and hotel was for the price we had paid! Didn't eat in the hotel but the menu looked nice and reasonably priced. Enjoyed a nice cocktail at the bar with the friendly bar man. When travelling into city we walked to pankstraus metro station which was about 5 min walk. The hotel is in a quiet enough area with some takeaways/ petrol station shops/ small supermarkets close by. For anyone looking somewhere nice and excellent value for money then I would recommend it. The metro and trains are so easy to use to get around berlin with, so if u don't mind walking 5 minutes from the hotel to one of the stations the best western is a good spot for you. If visiting this time of year wrap up warm!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingTeacher25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank N, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for taking the time, commenting on your stay and are very happy that we were able to meet your expectations and that our team was able to provide the great service we aim for.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

BEST regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Despite the name the hotel is not in the middle of the city but if you look on a map you will notice that. We stayed for three nights in room 207 during the last weekend of January. We got a good rate on the hotel at 133 euro for 3 nights. Check in was smooth and I was surprised that three people were working the front desk. Our room had two twin beds pushed together to form a double, wardrobe, night stands, a chair, another chair with a desk, and a tv with an empty fridge in a cabinet underneath. The roof slanted and the windows were on the slanted part somewhat like a skylight. Once the snow melted later in the weekend we could see out of them towards other buildings. The bathroom was fairly standard in size.

Overall the room was fine but several small annoyances over the course of the weekend made my stay less positive then it should have been. The first night we were there was the coldest night of the year (about 2 degrees Fahrenheit). When we got back my wife asked for an electric kettle since we noticed that the hotel offered them and to just ask at the front desk. The lady at the front desk said that she would have one sent up shortly. It never showed and by the time we realized it wouldn't come we decided just to deal with it the next day. We asked again the next day and received one. I'm not sure why it never showed up the night before. The curtain that was to cover the window was partially ripped and let in more light then it should have. Also the curtain was fairly loose so even if it hadn't been ripped it would let in plenty of light when the days get longer. The hot water quickly goes from kind of cold to scolding and the lever for it was difficult to move in a manner that would allow one to control the temperature easily. Maybe it needed to be lubricated. I also didn't care for the soap dispenser in the bathroom. It reminded me of something you would see in a public restroom and was to be used for shampoo and body wash. House keeping arrived at 9am on Sunday and wanted to clean the room. I guess we should have had the do not disturb sign up but I didn't figure they would stop by that early. At one point I found a random blue sock under the bed which didn't inspire much faith in the cleaning staff. We didn't get breakfast because the buffet cost 18 euro and that seemed excessive. There was a sit down option for 10 but that seemed a bit steep since I imagine the waiter would just be giving you a plate of buffet food. There are to many cheap and reasonably priced cafes and bakeries around to pay that much for breakfast. We had to ask for the password for the wifi. The username and password were only good for three days and when we went to check information online about our departure on Monday we were surprised the login information had expired. That was a final annoyance that assured me the hotel was not run well.

I did like that the hotel was close to a tram that could take you to the U and S Bahns. That really helped since the hotel isn't located near anything that one would do while on vacation in Berlin. I also thought that the price for the hotel was very reasonable. I was surprised that the hotel was advertised as a four star hotel. Overall the hotel was alright but lots of small annoyances added up and detracted from the overall experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank songoftheeclipse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank N, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time, commenting on your stay and are very sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations. We have taken your points into consideration.

BEST regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights, booked 2 family rooms, most basic ones, only paid €25 per night per room, larger than a typical family room.

Bathroom with bath/shower very clean, 25m2 room with wardrobe, cupboard with empty fridge perfect for storing our breakfast and lunch! 2 comfy chairs and desk. Only hot drink facilities lacking, so got a kettle and coffee/tea from reception no problem. Didn't use restaurant as we were on a budget. Fitness room is barely advertised - ground floor, past main lift and along corridor to room called Amsterdam and it's in there, there is a treadmill, 2 exercise bikes and weights bench.

Reception staff almost all excellent - even gave our children some chocolate Santas as we stayed over Christmas.

Hotel is near 4 U-bahn and S-bahn stations : Borhnolmer Strasse, Osloer Strasse, Pankstasse and Gesundbrunnen, the former 2 are connected by trams 50 and M13 which run in front of the hotel, if you don't fancy the longer walk to the S- and U-bahn stations. Cheapest tickets for tourists are either Berlin City Tour Card or Berlin Welcome card, both available for ticket machines everywhere, the latter is particularly good for families as you can get a version for 1 adult and up to 3 children, plus you can collect a little red booklet containing details of attractions / restaurants / tours / shops where you receive discounts. You can get into the centre in less than 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stockelmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank N, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time, commenting on your stay and are very happy that we were able to meet your expectations and that our team was able to provide the great service we aim for.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

BEST regards

Frank Neumann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Ocak Apartment & Hotel
#441 of 634 in Berlin
12 reviews
mk hotel berlin
#431 of 634 in Berlin
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
#324 of 634 in Berlin
2,279 reviews
Schoneberg
Novum Hotel City B Berlin Centrum
Charlottenburg
Novum Style Hotel Berlin Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte

Address: Osloer Str. 116a, 13359 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Best Western Grand City Hotel Berlin Mitte)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $64 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Berlin
Berlin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing