We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD AND VIEW”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alte Mainmuhle

Alte Mainmuhle
Ranked #5 of 344 Restaurants in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hoschton, Georgia
Level Contributor
285 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD AND VIEW”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Start off by getting a table outside. What wonderful views for enjoying a great meal. Food was tops, especially the brats and fried potatoes. They also have very yummy deserts. You must have a glass of the famous Silvaner wine. It is a wonderful white wine that even non wine drinkers can enjoy (my wife thought it was great). We even stopped at a wine shop and bought three bottles to have for the balance of our trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hiker1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    289
    84
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
246 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot if you get a terrace table”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great atmosphere to savour German speciality food on a balcony over an old water wheel. Food and wine excellent and views across the bridge and up to the fortress.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank coachIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great food, atmosphere and scenery of the bridge, river and buildings on the banks. Prices very reasonable. Check out the waterwheel on the side of the building too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pengboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Try the small plate for a variety of German meats”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We visited during the Würzburg Wine Festival on May 30th, 2013 as part of our Grand Circle River Cruise. While looking for a place to eat we discovered Alte Mainmuhle located at one end of the Alte Mainbrucke bridge, also refered to as the Saints' Bridge. What a charming place. We had terrific service and very good food and wine. I ordered the small plate of selected meats. I could only sample a little of each meat. There was just too much. It's enough for two or three! So delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaniksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat and Drink”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Alte Mainmuhle, which I assume means old mill on the Main river (because its a former mill on the Main River) is one of a number of excellent places to eat in Wurzburg. [Be sure to eat here, but also try on of the excellent wine bars, such as the Juliusspital or Burgerspital -- they both serve food.]

We made reservations for the Alte Mainmuhle on the European equivalent of OpenTable, which was good, because the place was crowded. The restaurant is located on the Main River, right off of an old stone bridge, originally built in the 1100s, it's a little like the Charles Bridge in Prague, being that it's a pedestrian only bridge, lined with statues, and on the far side, high above the bridge is the Festung Marienberg, the old residence of the Prince-Bishops who used to rule Wurzburg. Surrounding the fortress are vineyards, which should give you a hint -- try the wine. You can of course get good beer in Wurzburg (as in any German city), but Wurzburg is in the heart of the Franconian wine region with excellent Rieslings and Silvaner. Silvaner is especially good in Wurzburg -- make sure you get it Trocken (dry). In fact, if you don't want sweet or semi-sweet wine in Germany, always explicitly order TROCKEN.

So when you order Franconian wine at the Alte Mainmuhle, which comes in the stunted Franconian wine bottles (full size -- just s little strange looking), you'll be getting wine from the vineyards that you'lll see surrounding the city.

We ended up at a table by a window with great views of the barges going up and down the river (there are actually barge locks right under the bridge) and the Fortress on the far side of the river -- which is lit up at night. The weather was cold (despite the fact that it was May) so the windows stayed closed, but in warm weather it would have been even nicer.

The food was excellent. We had Franconia sauerbraten (which was excellent) with potato dumplings. Wurzburger bratwursts, and noodles with beef. Two bottles of wine -- both Silvaner grape -- one a Juliusspital (visit their wine bar) and one a Weingut am Stein. Both were local and you can actually walk through their vineyards in the hills surrounding Wurzburg. The deserts were excellent -- strudel and a rote grutze type offering. The service was very relaxed -- which was good -- we wanted to sit and enjoy the wine, views and food, and no one was trying to push us out to seat another party.

Finally, the prices at the Alte Mainmuhle are extremely reasonable -- most entrees were in the low to mid teen Euros, and while some of the wine was over 20 Euros per bottle -- it was well worth it.

To summarize, if you are in Wurzburg, and looking for good food, wine and views, all in a very convivial atmosphere, make sure you visit the Alte Mainmuhle.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DanKo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alte Mainmuhle also viewed

Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
 
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
 
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
 

Been to Alte Mainmuhle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing