We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best staff and a roof top patio with our room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Mrs T (The Brave) and Bruno - two of the warmest and most helpful hotel staff in our travels.

Yes, we loved our room - wine bottles and wine glasses waiting - was it because of the wine festival or their usual, I don't know. Separate commode from shower and sink - nice touch.
The roof top patio - fabulous. We sat out with our wine and felt at home in Wurzburg.

Take the steps down rather than the elevator - you'll see some beautiful furniture on each floor.

We arrived later in the afternoon than we wanted but Mrs T - such a beauty - welcomed us warmly and helped us park and get settled. We set off to explore the town and found we had arrived during a wine festival (June 9). It was such a great time - found some sophisticated Wurzburgers to visit with (they spoke English, we don't speak German).

We had to leave early in the morning before breakfast but the room it is served in looked terrific and Bruno made coffee to go - and sent us off with chocolates and hugs.

We were heading for the Ratskellar and we ended up there - delayed by the wine festival in a wonderful way. This is a one of a kind restaurant - exquisitely laid out - with the best schnitzel I'd had in Germany - that's saying a lot.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor, with a private patio and well appointed. I am unable to unmark the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TakeMeHigher5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 295 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

Most travelers to Germany don't go to Wurzburg. They visit Berlin, Cologne, Munich, the Rhine, Rothenberg, and other highly trafficked tourist areas. Yet not far out of the way is the wonderful Baroque city of Wurzburg, situated right on the Main River, an old Fortress on the far side of the river and a beautiful artistic palace (one of the best for its size) on the Wurzburg size, surrounded by vineyards from which you can sample great Franconian (Wurzburg is in the northern Bavarian region of Franconia) wine. While much of the city was destroyed in World War II, it has been nicely reconstructed and there is very little that looks out of place or jarring. There are lots of traditional Baroque style building that make this a great two-night, one day stop.

If you go here, you want to consider staying at the Hotel Wurzburger Hof which although not in the exact middle of the city, is very much in the city and from here you can walk to the main attractions, those being the Prince Bishop's Palace, the Marienburg Fortress, the old Stone Pedestrian Bridge over the Main River, and hike in the vineyards surrounding the city. Being a University town, there is also a very youthful and informal feel to the city.

The Hotel is extremely nice (one of the best in Wurzburg), but the price is reasonable. There were three of us and we booked a large room with an enormous "living area" with a cot and comfortable couches and tables, as well as a separate bedroom -- about the biggest place we stayed at in Germany, and the cost, including breakfast for all three of us was 179 Euros per night. The breakfast, although service was slow, was probably the best we had in Germany, with a great selection of bread, meat, cheese, smoked salmon, etc, and a very classy breakfast room with views overlooking the city.

The staff speaks excellent English, and were very helpful in terms of how to get to places and whether or not we needed reservations. While we had arranged for parking, their lot was full, but they directed us to a cheaper lot a short distance away. You don't need a car in the city

Also, right across from the hotel, and you should definitely try it is the Juliusspital Wine Bar (Wein Stube). Despite being located in Northern Bavaria, Wurzburg is wine country, and because the City is (or at least was) so prosperous, likely in part due to the wine, the hospital and aid associations are organized around wine estates that have wine shops, wine restaurants, and hospitals. The Juliusspital (Julius Hospital) is one such association, and their wine bar (which is tremendous) is right across the street. It makes for a great lunch or dinner (or both), and an easy walk back to the hotel

The only complaint I had was that, being a university city, the bars close late, and although the hotel is not located in an entertainment district, you can hear an occasional person who has had one too many shouting.

Unless your focus is a bare bones budget place, you will not be disappointed by this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanKo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This is our third time here and this hotel never fails to exceed our expectations. Perfect location, sparkling rooms, friendly service and an incredible breakfast. We even have a fruit tray as a welcome in our room. We love this town and this hotel is the best. A short walk from the train station, too!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank queenmarylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We took a suite on at the hotel Wurzburger Hof for the our last two nights of our two week road trip and we had an absolutely lovely time. The hotel has a very fresh feel for such a grand old place. I loved the "ghost chairs", Kartel "crystal" lamps and multiple brightly colored chandeliers...all so cheery and new. The service was impeccable. The woman at the front desk went to great lengths to secure a dinner reservation for us on a busy Saturday night. The lobby is small but has an old world feel. We enjoyed a glass of wine there right after we checked in. The breakfast was not included in the price but well worth what we paid for it; lovely service, food and setting. Oh and one little bonus we took advantage of- if you put your shoes out by eleven in the evening, they will be returned cleaned and polished early the next morning. The service is gratis and a charming step back in time to a more elegant age of travel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roadtrippingdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel is quiet, clean, traditional and very convenient. It is located right in the center of Wuerzburg, in a „semi-pedestrian“ zone, some trams have their stations nearby. The breakfast offers a rich choice of fresh fruit and also sausages, the rolls where fresh – even on Sunday ! As the hotel does not have an own parking area you should calculate with extra cost of app. EUR 8 per day for a garage – there are quite a few close to the hotel. The prices are very fair – we will certainly come again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Location is probably the best there is. Service and atmosphere is impeccable too. Rooms are very spacious and breakfast is as expected from luxury hotel. Why not perfect then? Well, I find the actual material in the room feels and look too cheap for a 4-5 star hotel. Plastic shower, closets, chairs, and other wooden furnitures a looks like they were bought in china. When you first walk in the room there is wow factor, its really beautiful and well decorated. But when start touching stuff you realize it more like a replica of the real thing. Parking is hard to maneuver too, so if you're driving skills are bad, you better park on the street. But overall I would stay here again, just for all the rest that's good, very good!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahirschb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location and it was a very good choice. An easy (5 mins) walk from the train station, even dragging heavy suitcases, it is also another 5-7 mins walk to The Residence (which is a MUST to visit) and the town centre. The hotel itself is like a museum with a calm atmosphere. The lady at reception was very kind and helpful to us. Everyone here seemed to speak excellent English. Our room was beautiful, large and with a separate living room area. We asked for a quiet room, so got one on the side with a poor view, but that meant that the room was totally silent at night, so good for us. The bathroom was very. very clean. Breakfast was excellent with an extensive spread of meats, cheeses, fruit, bread, eggs, cereals, yogurts, juices etc, with the added bonus of soft opera music playing to enhance the utterly Georgian feel of the whole hotel. It was like stepping back in time, in an oasis of elegant history!

Room Tip: Rooms with no view seem to be very quiet. If you want to view the street then it seems these rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank discovery204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#4 of 46 in Wurzburg
1,006 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.6 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gruener Baum
Hotel Gruener Baum
#2 of 46 in Wurzburg
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Rebstock
0.2 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wurzburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wurzburger Hof

Address: Barbarossaplatz 2, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wurzburg
Price Range: $134 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wurzburger Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Wurzburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wurzburger Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing