We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need alot of improvement”
Review of Hotel Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Residence
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have visited Wuerzburg since 2006 and have stayed here for the past 4 years. The hotel needs a major upgrade and cleaning. The hotel has a fantastic breakfast (included in room price) and then doubles as a mexican resturant at nite. NO AIR COND. and with the windows open there is alot of traffic noise since your hotel faces 2 very busy streets. Kids drinking until 3 AM. We have paid 75 euro up to 94 euro. Negotiate withthe clerk. This is not a marriott. It needs a lot of cleaning and upgrade.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room on the 4th floor. But you will here speeding cars all nite and alot of drin...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moose1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 89 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

The hotel is about a 15 minute drive from the city, high up. Our bedroom and the hotel dining room both had spectacular views. What you mainly see is railway marshaling yards and some industrial suburbs, with the hills in the distance. But with a bit of imagination, it is quite spectacular. Dinner and breakfast were both excellent - the hotel opened up the doors from the dining room to the terrace, giving an even better view of the marshaling yards. Our room had been newly refurnished in plush velvets - all quite baronial. The bathroom was also newly refitted. A nice touch was the electrically operated window shutters which blocked out all the light - great if you are a light sleeper. The staff were efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I agree with the positive comments as to location, great breakfast buffet, large rooms, etc. The facility has one flaw that could be easily satisfied if the night desk clerk took action. Half the rooms face the plaza and the hotel has no A/C. Consequently, even in late September, one must sleep with the windows open. Unfortunately there is a cafe next door, possibly related to the hotel, with outdoor seating. Groups of youths were out there talking, laughing, etc. until 3:30. Thought it perhaps was me trying to deal with jet lag but when I inquired of the couple next door on our 4th floor, same challenge.

Good value but if the time of year requires outdoor ventilation, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ternosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We turned up at this hotel without a booking and stayed for one night. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a little dated but good - very big and plenty of space. We had a corner bath which was great for bathing out toddler. There is very limited parking nearby, but we were lucky to bag one of the two 'pay and display' spaces immediately opposite the hotel. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Noise was an issue - people congregate below the windows until the early hours. But it did not detract greatly from an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Errigalclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

This is a clean, friendly value option. Location is terrific, breakfast had many options, room was small but functional, front desk was efficient and helpful. Beds were a little soft for our taste (compared to the normally firm german beds which we like) but otherwise great, adequate lighting, temperatures great. Shower was a detraction - small but made worse by wet fabric curtain. Don't bend over unless you like clammy, wet.

Unfortunately, a few other problems not under hotel control, probably. First, smokers and bar patrons hang out virtually all night outside the hotel. You'd never guess it looking at it during the day or from pictures. Think NY is the city that never sleeps? Check out Wurzburg. I clocked revelers at about 4:00 am ON A WEEKNIGHT. This is in February with the windows closed, very loud and awakened numerous times despite considerable jet lag. Won't do this again.

Secondly, non smoking room still had considerable smoke infiltration. Not sure if this is because folks were smoking on non-smoking floor or because other floors were smoking. Made worse because it was at night, waking us up (when we weren't already up due to noise) by smoke.

Sad, because otherwise, this hotel would be an budget option.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thefriendlytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Wurzburg is beautiful not to be missed.......always plenty to do and see.
The hotel was comfortable and staff were freindly...breakfast was help yourself , fresh and filling.
On the last evening I was ill in bed and staff knowing this, brought hot lemon tea and extra duvets to our room.
I would go back as it felt homely during our 8 day stay.
Centrally located in the town it is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Recently stayed here for a conference as the hotel is very close to the congress centre. I had a single room which was very roomy and clean. The bathroom was small but adequate and the staff were very friendly. The sights of Wurzburg are an easy walk, as is the train station. Plenty of places to eat in the street as well.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank January6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#7 of 46 in Wurzburg
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Poppular City Hotel
Poppular City Hotel
#30 of 46 in Wurzburg
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Walfisch
Hotel Walfisch
#15 of 46 in Wurzburg
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#31 of 46 in Wurzburg
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence

Address: Juliuspromenade 1, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range: $86 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HRS, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing