We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great attributes but too noisy for a good nights sleep”
Review of Hotel Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Residence
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I agree with the positive comments as to location, great breakfast buffet, large rooms, etc. The facility has one flaw that could be easily satisfied if the night desk clerk took action. Half the rooms face the plaza and the hotel has no A/C. Consequently, even in late September, one must sleep with the windows open. Unfortunately there is a cafe next door, possibly related to the hotel, with outdoor seating. Groups of youths were out there talking, laughing, etc. until 3:30. Thought it perhaps was me trying to deal with jet lag but when I inquired of the couple next door on our 4th floor, same challenge.

Good value but if the time of year requires outdoor ventilation, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ternosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 91 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2011

We turned up at this hotel without a booking and stayed for one night. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a little dated but good - very big and plenty of space. We had a corner bath which was great for bathing out toddler. There is very limited parking nearby, but we were lucky to bag one of the two 'pay and display' spaces immediately opposite the hotel. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Noise was an issue - people congregate below the windows until the early hours. But it did not detract greatly from an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Errigalclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

This is a clean, friendly value option. Location is terrific, breakfast had many options, room was small but functional, front desk was efficient and helpful. Beds were a little soft for our taste (compared to the normally firm german beds which we like) but otherwise great, adequate lighting, temperatures great. Shower was a detraction - small but made worse by wet fabric curtain. Don't bend over unless you like clammy, wet.

Unfortunately, a few other problems not under hotel control, probably. First, smokers and bar patrons hang out virtually all night outside the hotel. You'd never guess it looking at it during the day or from pictures. Think NY is the city that never sleeps? Check out Wurzburg. I clocked revelers at about 4:00 am ON A WEEKNIGHT. This is in February with the windows closed, very loud and awakened numerous times despite considerable jet lag. Won't do this again.

Secondly, non smoking room still had considerable smoke infiltration. Not sure if this is because folks were smoking on non-smoking floor or because other floors were smoking. Made worse because it was at night, waking us up (when we weren't already up due to noise) by smoke.

Sad, because otherwise, this hotel would be an budget option.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thefriendlytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Wurzburg is beautiful not to be missed.......always plenty to do and see.
The hotel was comfortable and staff were freindly...breakfast was help yourself , fresh and filling.
On the last evening I was ill in bed and staff knowing this, brought hot lemon tea and extra duvets to our room.
I would go back as it felt homely during our 8 day stay.
Centrally located in the town it is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Recently stayed here for a conference as the hotel is very close to the congress centre. I had a single room which was very roomy and clean. The bathroom was small but adequate and the staff were very friendly. The sights of Wurzburg are an easy walk, as is the train station. Plenty of places to eat in the street as well.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank January6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2007

The hotel is quite close to the Alter Kranen, also the Rathaus and the rest of the towncenter is conveniently reachable by foot.
The rooms aren't very big, but quite clean, the bathroom has only the bathtub which isn't very confortable if you just have to take a shower.
The breakfast is quite nice, nothing special but has anything you might want to eat in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceccoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.5 mi away
Top Hotel Amberger
Top Hotel Amberger
#17 of 46 in Wurzburg
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Wuerzburg City
Ibis Wuerzburg City
#5 of 46 in Wurzburg
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Schoenleber
City Hotel Schoenleber
#35 of 46 in Wurzburg
79 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Wurzburg-Sud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence

Address: Juliuspromenade 1, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range: $84 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing