We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay - but strange reception..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barbarossa Garni Hotel
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Let us start with the pecculiar thing: The hotel is on the 4th floor with a lift leading up to an un-manned reception. You can then through an intercom contact the owner/manager who can guide you to your key and give instructions regarding the parking of the car. It is hard to call that personal service, but in fact it worked out very well and the lady was very gentle. The room was quite small but with an excellent bed (maybe the best hotel bed I ever slept in?) and with a cozy interiour decoration. The air conditioning worked fine (luckily since it was 36 degrees day temperatur and 28 degrees at 22:30...). The breakfast was "personal" in a pitoresque little room with three tables; most of the food was home made and tasted well. The location is super fine right in the town centre. Parking can be made for 7€ in a park house (with an elevator for the car...funny going into such one with your car!). Despite the strange elements mentioned, it is actually a highly recommendable place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DK_Lars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 83 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Great location, reasonably priced, and a friendly staff. The only negative is that the attic room is extremely got in the summer. We did find a fan in the hallway that we snagged, so it wasn't as bad as it could've been.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Zinga35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We feel we must counter the extremely negative review posted earlier labelled "dreadful"as, in our opinion, much of it is factually incorrect. Our experience has been mostly positive. I can see the difficulty in driving here (we came by train and it couldn't have been easier to find), but would expect that to be the case in many German cities. Yes there is noise in the alley but blocked completely when windows and metal shutters are closed. Hotels provides fans if needed. We're here in June and the room is not too hot for us. Not sure what information the reviewer was looking at but it was clear to us beforehand that the hotel is on the fourth floor. The lift is easily found as is the sign for the hotel.

Breakfast was better than average with lovely home cooked to order scrambled eggs. Christine is a gracious and down to earth host and our check in couldn't have been easier. The room is, in our experience, an average sized one by lower end European standards. We thought the price was high but that's the market here in wurzburg and it was about the best we could find. Location is perfect and the beds are extremely comfortable. Nice little touches. Slippers. Wine and beer glasses. Lots of pillows. Kettle.

We always try to read between the lines on reviews but the "dreadful" one was simply offside. I'm sure the individual had a bad experience but we just wanted to counter it as, if we had gone by their review, we would never have stayed here and that would have been a shame.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank rufusVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Finding the hotel by car can be a bit of a hassle, but that's not the hotel's fault. Make sure to find a parking garage close by beforehand! (Ours was just a ten minute walk away.) The entrance is not easily spotted, as the hotel shares the building with a few small medical practices, so prepare for a 4-floor journey by lift or stairs.

The rooms are small but practical, and clean with quite comfortable beds. Wifi reception is a bit spotty, but that's why we always take travel books with us anyway - updating loved ones at home can wait.

Breakfast, however is great with lots of choice, but since the manager/owner does everything by herself, the quality/hardness of your cooked egg may vary. Good fresh coffee, but slightly too irony/tangy.

There is a small fridge in the corridor that can be shared among guests, to store your fine German beer. It's all based on trust between the guests which makes the hotel quite homey.

From our room (11) we could hear people chatting and walking in the corridor, and the walls are thin enough to hear someone snore. There is nightlife in the street outside, but if you let that influence your experience then maybe you should have done a bit more research: Würzburg is a student town after all.

Overall, no real complaints. It's not bad or great, but it's perfect as a base for day trips into the city or the countryside.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bokkenrijder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a small 17 room hotel located on the 4th floor. Rooms are very small but are well furnished with modern items. The web site said the room has chocolate, fruit, kettle and mineral water - not true, all it had was a bottle of tap water. There was free Wi-Fi available and reception was strong in our room (number 18) but the information provided indicated that it was not available in all areas of the hotel. The hotel is a ten minute walk from the train station and the location is very good. Breakfast was very basic with not very much to choose from. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The front desk is not staffed during the evening.

Room Tip: Room 18 seemed to be one of the larger rooms although it was quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelahti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Definitely underwhelmed by this hotel.  Room was small, with barely a metre between the end of the bed and the wall. The Booking.com website advertises that 'fruit, mineral water, electric kettle and chocolate are included in this room.'  Nothing could be further from
 the truth. There was no fruit, electric kettle or mineral water, merely tap water in a bottle and two small wafer chocolate biscuits. Not sure how it works in Germany but false advertising carries stiff penalties in Australia, or was it just a case of 'couldn't care less' by hotel staff?

 Nowhere on any website does it state that the hotel is situated on the 4th floor above shops.  Had I realised this, I would not have booked this hotel.  

If coming by car it is nothing short of a nightmare getting inside.  One must park on the footpath in a very busy street (much to the ire of pedestrians and bus drivers whose busses stop right outside the hotel), until the entrance can be found. It is a Magical Mystery Tour trying to locate the correct door to the lift which leads to the front of the hotel. There is a sign, way above eye level on the left, at the very top of the list of other tenants of the building, but nothing specific even remotely at eye level on the door at street level leading to the lift. My husband went to search for the hotel and eventually found the lift to the 4th floor where the hotel is situated.  The door to the hotel was locked but he eventually located someone called Christine who let him in.  After transporting the suitcases from street level to the front door of the hotel on the 4th floor (which had again been locked) via the very small lift, we then waited 10 min for Christine to appear to show us to our room.  Apparently we were expected to buzz her via the intercom at the door of the hotel which connects to her mobile phone.  Since she was well aware we were waiting room allocation I would have thought she would have arrived immediately after us to let us into our room, but no, apparently shopping/errands/chores were were prioritised while we waited our turn.  And Booking.com states that Barbarossa Garni has "express check in/check out!!

The entrance to the hotel is hardly salubrious.  Grubby and dark would be a better description.  There is hotel washing left on airers in the corridor, something I have never seen previously in any hotel.

Since the hotel does not provide even so much as a driveway, supplying parking sites is clearly beyond them.  The parking garage in the next street my husband was directed to is an equally mystifying experience which necessitated my husband driving the car into a lift which took him to a vacant park.  Just make sure you get the correct lift, and don't cross the blue line otherwise Security will arrive.  Oh and try not to panic if the lift stops halfway between floors and you become stuck.

Our room was at the back of the hotel but the noise coming from the bar across the street and in the alley below prevented sleep until the early hours.  And it is wise to beware of the very low sloping attic ceiling in both the bedroom and the bathroom or else a painful bump will result.  Definitely a rude awakening at 2am.  We were here in mid December and the room we were allocated was hot, even with the heaters off.  Opening the windows only allowed in the raucous noise from the nightclub, and there is no air conditioning so it was quite stuffy.  It must be like an oven in summer.

Breakfast was average, (tea was lukewarm) and the eggs mentioned in the hotel blurb in our room were not offered, nor did I see any other guest with them.

I have stayed in very many hotels on four continents, in more than a dozen countries, but this hotel would rank among the 5 worst.  Clearly no regard is shown to guests and the management is sloppy and unprofessional.  Never have I experienced such a convoluted shemozzle in trying to register at any hotel.  This is normally a relatively fast and painless procedure, but not at Barbarossa Garni where it verged on the farcical.  Reception seems to be rarely manned, and the reason given by the hotel is that this is because there are only 17 rooms.  This is an excuse, and is most definitely not a reason.  

The only good thing I could say about this hotel is that it is clean, bed was comfortable and it is handy to the centre of the city, but if you are coming by car - look elsewhere, because it is just too inconvenient and not worth the hassle.  It is also overpriced (99 euro + 7 for parking) given the incovenience, standard of facilities, failure to deliver on what is advertised, and the room size.  We travelled from Munich to Frankfurt staying in a number of hotels which were way better, in quality and price. Barbarossa Garni was the most expensive by far.

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine1790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Barbarossa Garni Hotel offered a welcome respite for a short stay in Wurzburg. Located a few short blocks from the train station, opposite a central hub for trams and buses, the hotel is easily accessible. An elevator was available to take our luggage up to the top floor. Our room was nicely decorated, clean and reasonably spacious, though the bathroom was small. Christine and her staff were very friendly and accommodating - they ensured that they knew our arrival time (as the front desk is not manned 24/7), made dinner reservations for us, and stored our luggage following check-out. The breakfast selection was small (but adequate) in comparison to other hotels we stayed at but the breakfast room was cosy, quaint and cheerful. Wifi was limited to the reception area. We felt very welcome

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Poppular City Hotel
Poppular City Hotel
#30 of 46 in Wurzburg
49 reviews
0 mi away
Altstadt Hotel-Restaurant
Altstadt Hotel-Restaurant
#38 of 46 in Wurzburg
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#24 of 46 in Wurzburg
61 reviews
3 mi away
Ibis Budget Wurzburg Ost
Ibis Budget Wurzburg Ost
#26 of 46 in Wurzburg
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence
Hotel Residence
#34 of 46 in Wurzburg
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbarossa Garni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbarossa Garni Hotel

Address: Theaterstr. 2, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range: $84 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barbarossa Garni Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barbarossa Garni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing